HSBC Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 10,128 reviews
Ratings breakdown
53.9K
43.6K
31.9K
2431
1259
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 2,599 reviews matching the search See all 10,128 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to wok
Mortgage Specialist (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILJuly 20, 2018
although we working off the portfolio it was a good place. i loved my manager and the team i was on. if you get an opportunity to work for them give it a try,
Pros
free tea, and coffee
Cons
the job was closing and moving out of the united states
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, hardworking, rewarded
Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILJuly 20, 2018
This company provided education to help their employee succeed. They also allowed fun times to reward the hard working employee. They were amazing at providing a great atmosphere for all employed which made it a very successful organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Bankruptcy Quality Assurance Representative (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILJuly 20, 2018
Received excellent training to perform the job. Management was terrible, no part time job available and on fixed schedule, the only good thing is tht you start off with 21 vacation/personal days
Pros
Good benefits, and Personal time off
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2018
HSBC is an international Bank. The culture there is very supportive. People are nice and willing to help you. I was given meaningful projects, and was supported throughout their completion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC Bank was an awesome company to work for.
Collection Manager (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILJuly 19, 2018
I worked with this company for 14 years. They had great training tools to ensure you were able to perform your duties above and beyond. The knowledge that I obtained from this company will definitely play a major role in me providing my best performance for whatever company I work for going forward.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding global platform
Global Head of Human Resources - Private Banking (Former Employee) –  LondonJuly 18, 2018
A world-leader as a global financial institution. Has framed an efficient generally uniform organizational platform throughout on the global. Has a very well defined self-image of who it is in the world.
A strong internal global culture.
Pros
Global
Cons
Managing the regional functional matrix may be a challenge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Foreclosure Default Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLJuly 18, 2018
It's a good place to work, but like any other company, you have to be aggressive and sometimes things are unfair the higher you go. Great place to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Inbound Collector (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 17, 2018
it was a good company to work for if you wanted to work in collections because they had many schedules to choose from and the pay was good.I would receommend this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  AEJuly 16, 2018
It was overall a good experience. The job taught me a lot. It made me understand my areas of strength and there i developed interest in Management field which is why I pursued Masters in Project Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect of others
BANKRUPTCY SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLJuly 16, 2018
This company has people that show a great deal of respect to each other and help each other in long term growth. There is a great chance at one time in florida to do great things thru hsbc. I see now that they have closed certain enttities here in florida. That left a lot of people back in the job markets and their families threatened with hardship regardless to the benefits package that is offered as employess.
Pros
good pay
Cons
growth potential in certain departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good corporate to work with
Premier Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJJuly 14, 2018
Very good environment. Good multiculture environment and best people and managers. One of the best banks for global investment point of view. Very professional and intensive and extensive traiinings from compliance point of view.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Productive Area
Sr. Analyst - Business Risk Control Management (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 13, 2018
Must be ready and willing to push all other things aside to dedicate the majority of your time to working. Very task driven with high volume of work. Little time for anything else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and would recommend it to friends
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mettawa, ILJuly 12, 2018
Enjoyed working at HSBC for 8 years and had great work, life, balance with the company accommodating remote workers. Executives were a joy to work for and very accommodating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
VP - District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Puyallup, WAJuly 10, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to coach and mentor employees. HSBC provided high level training which enable you to coach to drive performance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hsbc
Case Investigator (Current Employee) –  New Castle, DEJuly 10, 2018
They are flexible with working remotely, most of the time. Feedback occurs as needed. As long as your work is complete and your meeting the goal there tends not to be any issue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful collections
Level 1 Collector (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJuly 9, 2018
The collections department was stressful and I felt that I was trying to save my job every 3 months. No path to advancement and very little employee engagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture/ Climate
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJuly 9, 2018
I worked the 2nd shift and the management team made the work space environment fun so as not to experience burn out. I liked having the opportunity to do special projects and receive bonuses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and enjoyable place to work
Sr Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Depew, NYJuly 7, 2018
On a typical day I did a number of things..
My manager was excellent and a great help when needed.
The culture in my department was great.
The hardest part of the job was testing new systems
The most enjoyable part was the team work, we worked together
Pros
hour lunch
Cons
short breacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No advancement in NYC
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 6, 2018
was downsized from HSBC after 12+ years of service. Roles are being moved to low cost locations (Buffalo, Chicago). Not sure how Chicago is a low cost center. Roles are also being moved abroad.
Pros
People you work with
Cons
Lack of advancement in NYC and NJ
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work, with work life balance and the opportunity to grow within the business
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brandon, FLJuly 5, 2018
- A typical day at HSBC would knowing what controls you had to work on and any meetings that you needed to attend.
- The culture was laid back as long as you got the job done, jeans dress day.
- The hardest part at times were evidence from the business partners on time in order for you to complete your work.
- The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing and communicated with all of the known and got to know employees
Pros
Ability to move around within the organization and remote work
Cons
layoffs, missing all of the people I have grown to love and respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight