HSBC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC was a great place to work
Senior Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 23, 2018
I truly enjoyed my job at HSBC. I learned invaluable skills while I worked there, had the opportunity to meet people from all over the world and got to experience many different work opportunities while I was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work
US FCC Head of Global Banking and Markets (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 23, 2018
It is a good place to work. There is opportunity for growth and managers allow you to grow . The work life balanace is good . There is career growth opportunities given the size of the bank and its international footprint.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
COLLECTOR (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAMay 23, 2018
I worked there for a year before the layoff. Nice people to work with. Monthly bonus. Teams were rewarded with prizes for being the best. Learned a lot.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Layoff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Sr. Project / Program Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2018
Was a great place to work. I enjoyed my time there and made contacts with many collegues that I'm sure I will know for quite some time. I would advise people to work there.
Pros
International Opportunities
Cons
Downsizing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Depew, NYMay 22, 2018
There is a joke in the bank; HSBC stands for How Simple Becomes Complicated. And I find that the best way to describe this company. The fear of regulators makes the bank move at a snail pace. Questionable decisions from management.
Pros
Amazing vacation policy, flexible working, work from home opportunities
Cons
Highly regulated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good while it lasted
Loan Servicing Representative IV/Lead (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 21, 2018
Company closed it's doors and I was forced to relocate. I was laid off the week of my wedding and found work with a competitor. Eventually, I went back to HSBC, but then additional lay offs occurred.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job security
Customer Service Representative/Problem Resolution (Former Employee) –  New Castle, DEMay 21, 2018
As an employee, all were on a daily basis, how long will we keep our jobs. During the time at HSBC, all employees had our own desk, no of us were not allow to have a trash disposal at our units. All employee would have to purchase our own pens and scrap paper. It was inconvenience. No matter what the circumstance, I continued with perfection to the best of my ability as a Customer Service Representative.
Pros
Was offered a share my 17 years of expertise as a Customer Service Representive
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my exp
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  INMay 21, 2018
involves good serious work.
team is very helpful specially the GCMB dept
good work life balance
involves good knowledge of coding which can be acquired frim their trainig
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonuses
Collection Representative (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 21, 2018
Fast Pace hitting your goal. How to become a good collector. Help you to have the tools to be successful. wonderful workplace. Not meeting your goal. payout.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't walk the talk
Account Activity Analyst (Current Employee) –  New Castle, DEMay 20, 2018
Management at this company has become so focused on government oversight that I feel they have lost their focus on doing what is best for the customers and employees.
Pros
Current location
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
large deposit teller (Former Employee) –  one HSBC CenterMay 17, 2018
you get to meet great people, great experience and fast paced I loved counting money and doing the deposits and doing check deposits and doing data entry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collections job
Collector (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 16, 2018
I worked there a long time ago - before all the jobs were sent off shore and the collections of their credit card accounts were done in-house. I had no problems with the job or work-culture.
Pros
good job and benfits at the time
Cons
lot of jobs were shipped off shore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place
Bank Teller (Former Employee) –  Syosset, NYMay 15, 2018
Working for HSBC was a dream come true. This job gave me many opportunities to succeed and it gave me many opportunities to learn more then I could have ever imagined.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the place to go for a career
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  New South WalesMay 15, 2018
unless you are able to get into the "inner sanctum" of this bank, or are on very good terms socially with management, you will be left to whither on the vine.
Pros
reasonable benefits like subsidised health care funds
Cons
management are empire builders. lower management are poor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hired and left before 2 years
Servicing Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 14, 2018
jobs were moved due to poor performance/lack of quality controls, our department fixed all previous mistakes/issues and then jobs were moved back to original location. terrible management, worked over 60 hrs a week, wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rapidly changing environment
SME (Subject Matter Expert) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2018
Job satisfaction highly dependent upon direct management and the ability to adjust to the very fluid work environment. You must be able to handle and thrive in a constantly changing setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Trade Support Analyst (temporary position) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2018
A great learning experience. Unfortunately this was a contract job. I learned a lot and would welcome the opportunity to return to work here. Most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large International Bank
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 12, 2018
HSBC provides opportunities for employees to experience working with an international organization, that has a strong presence across multiple continents..
Pros
International firm
Cons
International firm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Branch Relationship Banker (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, NYMay 10, 2018
Standard banking operation.
Great people and work environment. Sales goals were challenging but obtainable. HSBC left upstate NY creating mass amounts of job loss
Pros
World class origination
Cons
Left upstate NY
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILMay 10, 2018
work culture was laid back communications between upper management and employees was not consistent ...directors of the department were not people fiendly
Pros
vacation time bonuses
Cons
too much micro management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 9,679 reviews
53.7K
43.5K
31.8K
2412
1251

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.9

2.4Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight