HAL HAYS CONSTRUCTION, INC. Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAJanuary 9, 2018
Hal Hats was the worse experience I have ever had in construction. The office is lost with minimal experience from under paid project managers. Turn around for employees are 6 months average. They "bend the rules" with their union company (Cal Pacific) with illegal mingling of laborer and operator use. Not paying Hal Hays workers union rates when wearing the Cal Pacific hat. Son and father whom own the company have internal battles which gets drawn out into the field. Poor attitude towards employees personal lives. Over all... worse contractor I ever worked for period. 3/4 of their supsc ant even read layouts or plans which spreads out their real leadership thin.
Pros
It's work
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 36NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for
Site Safety and Health Officer (Former Employee) –  Dugway, UTDecember 9, 2017
A good company to work for, management was supportive. Compensation was adequate for the required work.
This was a short duration job on an Army Installation in Utah. Utilities upgrade project.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Experience
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAOctober 31, 2017
Was laid off with no due notice. No explanation. No lead up to and no feed back on my performance. If you work here, you are just a number until you are not needed anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant learning environment
project manager (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAAugust 7, 2017
What i like about HHCI is that I am coming to work knowing that I am going to learn something new that day. The work is varied enough that it always keeps you learning. That is a blessing and a curse. Good, diverse company.
Pros
Fun work
Cons
Learning curve
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, can be tough, but fair
grading forman (Current Employee) –  EVERYWHEREJuly 26, 2017
Had a good time working at HHCI during my time there. I would recomend it to my friends if they were looking. I was an operator/foreman at the eagle canyon canyon dam with jerry and then i moved onto the SCE account. as with any company, it wasn't perfoect and things could be run better in the field, but i liked the team i was on and i would like to come back if there was an opputunity
Pros
lots of prevailing wage work, family business, christmas party
Cons
far from home sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HHCI Career Killer
Quality Control Manager (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMarch 16, 2017
Has to be one of the worst company I worked for in over 40 yrs. Project Managers were micro managers, if a project fell behind projected schedule or budget it's was always the fault of field management staff i.e.; Superintendent or QCM, not because the project was under bid or mismanaged by PM or CEO. Was laid off for lack of work and when I questioned their management I was basically blackballed. They'll promise you world to come on staff , but not follow through on the promises. The turn over in Field Staff is unbelievable. I finished several small projects where Duoerintendents walked or got fired and never received the recognition for the job completed.......
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible scheduling and blame employees for everything that goes wrong
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CASeptember 8, 2016
Company Needs To Take Care Of Employees Better And Lay Employees Off For No Reasons And Blame Employees For Equipment For Breaking And If Job Gets Extended
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Tax Employees Alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HHCI is the most professional company
Quality Control / SUPT/ SSHO/Heavy Equipment (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CAMarch 14, 2013
HHCI was a company that help me developed my skills as Quality control, Site safety manager and continued with my training of Heavy equipment operator, Management was proactive and professional, co-workers were friendly and helpful
Pros
end of the year bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CANovember 27, 2012
Company recently promoted from a government 8A subcontractor and is struggling to survive and maintain profitability in the more competitive market.

Very high turnover and client dissatisfaction. Unless drastic changes are made 2013 will be their last year in business
Pros
great co workers
Cons
micromanagement at all levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HAL HAYS CONSTRUCTION, INC.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 10 reviews
53
41
31
21
14

Ratings by category

2.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.5Culture

HAL HAYS CONSTRUCTION, INC. Reviews by Location