Hallcon Corporation Employee Reviews

2.8
Overall rating
Based on 319 reviews
Ratings breakdown
547
447
391
254
180
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 296 reviews matching the search See all 319 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat company pls do not apply beware !!!!!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Hobart, CAAugust 16, 2018
This company is a cut throat company i used to work for them and management sucks, they don't about you at all your home life the phone will be ringing all thru the night's it's an automatic machine that will call you on your day's off from work it's a pretty messy job i tell you not enough hrs given per week when you take a vehicle from the yard it want start or crank over at all and don't let a van stall on you on the road when it does and you call dispatch they want help you, you will be transferred from person to person and pushed around pls stall the HACK AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST YOU WILL REGRET IT FOR SURE!!!!!
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hallcon is a dead end job with no chance for advancement
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSAugust 8, 2018
Working for this company was a time in my life I will never get back. Upper management has never worked in operations. Because this is a nation wide company, each area of the company has different problems with hiring. Upper management does not see or chooses not to recognize this. Middle management to employees are under paid and because drivers are union, which does not know how to negotiate a contract, drivers are severely under paid for job description.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSAugust 8, 2018
I love working for this job but it's not for someone who has a family and young kids. You have to get and go rather its way 2am or 10pm. You dont have a set schedule
Pros
You get to meet different people
Cons
When they call you have to go. Rather its at 8am or 2am
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Position
Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSAugust 3, 2018
The only part I didnt like was delivering the crews to train sites in the middle of the night. it was dark and i really couldnt see where i was going.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mark my word you will regret it I swear to God The worst place you can ever get a job if you're paying the house or car off u end up losing everything
Road driver (Former Employee) –  Duluth MinnesotaAugust 3, 2018
This job is asking for way too much if the dis batch call and ask if you're available and you're available from 10 till 10 so you get up in the morning head and go get a van @10am then sit around till you get a call you might not get a call until 12pm that's when your time starts. So as your ride may end at 2: 30 and the dispatch don't call you but you're waiting for them to call you and driving around in their Company Vans till 10pm just know you're not getting paid you only will be paid or 2 hours in 30 minutes takes up all the time out of the day for nothing you spend 10 hours with their van and only get paid when you're starting trips not fair at all not only that you work amongst conductors that make 30 to $40 an hour so you don't get the respect you truly deserve on the job it's really embarrassing the out-of-towners get paid$50 a day and also hotel room and their regular salary so they make $250 every two weeks so if you're coming from out of town to work for hallcon it's a good job for you but here in town it's no way you can take care your family my check was $400 every two weeks with taxes taken out and I woke up from 10am to get a van and and return it at 10pm 4 9 days straight and my check was only 400 bucks this job take a lot of time out of your day just to be available and no your not getting paid for it good luck if you think this is for you
Pros
Out-of-town people get $50 a day
Cons
Not enough pay McDonald's make way more
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible hours and unsafe conditions
Driver (Former Employee) –  Wishram, WAAugust 1, 2018
Job is a 24 hour call notice job where you never know when you are working. You would have 9 hours of mandatory rest time which was unpredictable when you got it. Could be driving 2AM then work a 3pm then turn around and work at 6Pm. It causes sleep deprivation and seriously cut into family and friend relationships.

Not recommended for those who have busy family lives.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Can work at any time with zero notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jesse review
Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXJuly 28, 2018
I think it needs to get better that’s the truth other then that I don’t got anything to say to them. Peace out y’all from here to there good people...
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Driver (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJuly 26, 2018
Hallcon has alot of hours to be had but you must be willing to work. Also you must be willing to make alot of trips. You have to know how to balance your work and sleep as well.
Pros
Good people to work with
Cons
Long hours and alot of time on the road
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Driver (Current Employee) –  Benton, ILJuly 25, 2018
I enjoyed working for Hallcon, meeting people and seeing different places. They were very easy to work with. Never complained about my work. The train employees were excellent to work with. The hours were hard.
Pros
Reasonable pay and versatile hours
Cons
ON call all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving for this company
Lead driver (Former Employee) –  IdahoJuly 18, 2018
pass this company up. No raises for this company no matter how long you work for them, unless moved to supervisor which only pays $1.00 more then everyone else.
24/7 356 day a year job. Expect no family life. Expect to live breath this company. They are short staffed so expect 12 hour days and 7 hours rest before your back Working for another 12.
If asked to go out of area to work for two weeks don’t expect much. They had me working out of area all major holidays no extra pay for being a way from family. 30 bucks a day for food when this happens and your forced to take all trips you can not turn down. Must have a DOT card as well for company! After you pass the UA for employement don’t worry they will never test you again.
As far as your supervisor you’ll never see her but once or twice a month.
Pros
None
Cons
All
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Driver (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 18, 2018
Job is ok . Hours are great . But lack of sleep is terrible. 9 hours of rest but they seem to call you on the 8th hour. Dispatch some not all need charm school very rude . Auditors well they disrespect you and talk down to you. No morals or values
Pros
Long hours
Cons
No sleep . Lack of pay. And disrespectful dispatched and auidotrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very mismanaged company, Promises at hiring time are broken within days after being hired.
DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Ft. Worth, TXJuly 14, 2018
This company was completely mismanaged or NOT MANAGED!!! Dispatched out of Kansas, the dispatchers were unaware of local conditions and distances, Dispatching was poor and they were always in the weeds and behind. Dispatchers were rude. Locally there was no training at time of hire, they promised a company vehicle and you ended up sharing the vehicle with 2 or more people. You van swapped at any hour of the day. They hired with the promise that you would have plenty of hours and overtime and as soon as you exceeded 40 hours you were pulled from your van. LOCAL MANAGEMENT WAS TERRIBLE!!! THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO CHAIN OF COMMAND AND NO ONE YOU COULD REACH OUT TO OR TRUST WHEN OR IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM OR ISSUE...AT ALL!!!

The RAILROAD PERSONNEL were left to suffer because of the mismanagement and the Kansas dispatch and local management would place the blame on the drivers, and would never take responsibility for their own failed actions Drivers could only work with what they were given which wasn't much. The Railroad BNSF (Crewmembers and Dispatchers) were frustrated with Hallcon and their procedures every time you would picked them up, not with the drivers, but with mismanagement.

The pay was ridiculous and Hallcon was making a hefty profit off of every run they did for BNSF but HALLCON paid the drivers a fraction. Drivers were allowed to work 12hrs per day but it could take sometimes over 24 hrs. to get to your 12hrs of work, which means you would not get down time to rest, then you were dispatched exhausted and a danger to yourself or others on the road, let
  more... alone the crew. Drivers were also responsible to pay to clean the vehicles that they use out of their own pocket, but since you didn't get to keep the van, you ended up paying for another driver to only mess it up. There were No guarantees on getting the vehicle back in the condition you had it. Maintenance on the vehicles was not maintained and it was the drivers responsibility to take it to the shop if it was needed. THERE WAS NO ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE IF YOU HAD A PROBLEM. I cannot express how terrible the local management was. I cannot speak for the rest of the country and its management, but would say it was probably the same? I can say payrates very for drivers across the county, they were not equal.

As for the job, if it would have been run correctly and the pay was appropriate, it could have been a decent job. Hallcon never took into consideration that every time a driver hit the road with a crew they had more than doubled their chance of a wreck or injury and in this line of work Hallcon showed no empathy. And based on how Kansas dispatches and drag out the drivers days, the drivers end up fatigued. BUT "It's never Hallcon' s Fault"!!! Based on local area for drivers positions, the job payrate should be about $30K per year plus bonuses, but there were no bonuses, no incentives to work for this company, no "GOOD JOB"! Hallcon was making good money off the richest Railroad company in the world, but the employee was not being compensated fairly. They were also not open to suggestions at all, if so, you were a threat.


DRIVER TURN OVER was probably around 75-100 new hire drivers per year based on how many I saw hire and quit yet HALLCON REFUSED to change their procedures or culture. It's was always about the company never about the employee. Benefits were worthless and covered nothing.

BNSF could save a fortune by dumping Hallcon and Creating their own Internal Crew Transportation company and they could still afford to pay a decent wage to their employees without hurting their bottom line. That and it could make sure their crewmembers would be much safer. That or HALLCON could change their ways.


No company is perfect, but this company cared about itself, not their employees.
  less
Pros
It could be a good job
Cons
It was mismanaged so it was not a good job, Pay is absurd!
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager from my shift (Nights A) is a procrastinator and is not loyal to hard workers
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Lenexa, KSJuly 14, 2018
Management above the manager were pretty cool and actually cared about the workers but a lot of sneaking things go on there. Like a supervisor on a different shift was sexually and non sexually harassing women. And my manager took his job as to just chill or be a co-worker and not a manager. The people you work next to are great for the most part unless they're the ones that have attitudes and have no room for other's mistakes. Your expected to work 12 hour shift 3-4 days a week all year and only get 5 days of PTO available. They don't have that much space for family issues as mine was dealing with a member who had cancer systems (per the Doctor) and they felt was not excusable.
Pros
Meet some cool people
Cons
some Management are not reliable&you feel like your job is all that matters in your life here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Transportation Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSJune 12, 2018
i left there because i found another job i enjoy my time there i was i able to learn a lot of things and i was all so able to work with a great group of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Road Driver Hauser Idaho
Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Hauser IdahoJune 9, 2018
Worst job and worst management EVER. Operations are irretrievably confused because incompetence on the part of management is tolerated. Really jacked up company in terms of N Id E Wa operations.
Pros
na.da.
Cons
quitting
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Driver/Dispatch (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 9, 2018
Cool work environment, consistent work. The job wasn't hard and you knew what to expect. Not much room for growth or advancement. I was told that when I moved to AZ that I would get a promotion, just the opposite happened. I didn't appreciate being deceived. It my family and myself in a very difficult position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough pay
VAN DRIVER (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 7, 2018
not enough pay for the job required. Easy job but very dangerous, Unappreciated, under paid. Exhausting and sometimes longer hours than expected. Made to pay union dues at a below union wage job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were alright to work with.at railroad yards
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 23, 2018
I learned to drive safety more and learn new locations out of state without a GPS..
Working with other drivers were ok / and making new friends around the work place.
Pros
checking out new locations
Cons
on call- for work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job has little appeal to family people
Taxi Driver/Chauffeur (Former Employee) –  Liverpool, NSMay 22, 2018
work long hours and with little reward. lack in health benefits and no personal time. the people you work for are judgmental and the company doesn't give raises or even good training . they don't care about the people that work for them there just a number.
get called out at all hours of the day or night mostly night and given crazy places to meet up with train and train crews. they take forever to reimburse you if for some reason you have to pay out of pocket for gas or to wash the vans. they don't take care of the vans very well.
it takes forever to get hired.
Pros
its almost impossible to get fired after they hire you.
Cons
it takes forever to get hired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly stressful
DISPATCHER (Former Employee) –  Lenexa, KSMay 10, 2018
required to keep track of driver hours and drivers can refuse to work when called. then you have to find another driver that may not have enough hours to take the trip.
Cons
high stressed
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hallcon Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question