Hamilton College Employee Reviews

4.4
Overall rating
Based on 34 reviews
Ratings breakdown
520
48
34
22
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 31 reviews matching the search See all 34 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Term IT Assistant
Installation Technician (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYMay 25, 2018
IT Services needed someone to to do in person software/hardware installs and I was doing something similar on the side for another organization. First rate school w/ lots of resources. Budget authority was exhausted and i was relocating.
Pros
Tremendous academic environment
Cons
My commute was lengthy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly higher education work place
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYMay 22, 2018
Hamilton provided a unique glimpse of the highest standard of education in the U.S.The beautiful campus and the natural scenery were the highlights of the job.
Pros
Use of school facilities
Cons
work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible resources available for teaching and research
Professor of Psychology (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYMay 8, 2018
Hamilton College provided the resources I needed to be productive both as a teacher and a scholar. I taught 2 courses each semester, from introductory psychology to an advanced laboratory course on the assessment of individual differences.
Pros
Resources, colleagues
Cons
Honestly, I loved it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Custodial (Current Employee) –  New YorkApril 9, 2018
It’s the best paying worst job I’ve ever had. Very corrupt, mismanaged department. The only thing I can compare this job to is like being in high school with all the pettiness that goes on at this institution.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day work load
Custodial Foreperson (Current Employee) –  Clinton, NYJanuary 29, 2018
Working at Hamilton was a good experience. Some days the work was slow but then some days work was hectic because of so many people would either take time off or called I sick. It was those days we would call it trash and dash because you had so many places to cover
Pros
Good pay and good benefits
Cons
Some of the people are back stabbers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Class Act
Associate Dean of Admission (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYNovember 13, 2017
I felt very supported during my tenure on the hill. My colleagues were professional and I learned a lot. What was most impressive about my experience was the way in which the institution treated EVERYONE who spent time on that campus. True class act that feels like a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place...
Admissions Office Visitor Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYAugust 14, 2017
Hamilton College is an amazing college to work at. The work and life balance is great. Administration and employees have great energy and all work for the purpose and growth of the students and the college. I can not say enough about working on The Hill.
Pros
Great co workers, paid insurance, paid dental, paid vacation and personal time, Admission office staff are fantastic
Cons
there are no cons to working at Hamilton
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Climbing Wall Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYAugust 3, 2017
Hamilton College student jobs often have flexible hours, and low interaction positions which allow employees to catch up on homework and studying. Pay is higher than minimum wage, but maxes out at $10 per hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work but managed well
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYJuly 15, 2017
Hard work in this field but managed and organized fairly well. The supervisors where very understanding and worked as hard as they could to provide a healthy balance between work and life.
Pros
Good work and life balance
Cons
High turnover ratio
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top-Notch Liberal Arts College
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYJuly 14, 2017
Hamilton is my alma mater and thankfully so. Enjoyed working for the Department of Sociology on a number of contract projects. Excellent colleagues and engaging students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
College tour guide (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 26, 2017
Good people and excellent working experience .meet different people and different cultures. Gain lot of experience . Rained you coordinated with your colleagues, and showed strong team player
Pros
Flexible hours, and free lunch
Cons
Intensive physical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work with open people and open ideas.
Math/Physics Tutor (Current Employee) –  Clinton, NYMarch 16, 2017
As a student work-study employee My experience is much different from a full time staff member but i can still comment on the jobs. More responsibility is placed on the student individually and less on being told what to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school for students and employees alike
Fellow (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYMarch 23, 2016
Hamilton is a great college which attracts top students, talented staff members, and great professors. I would recommend the school to any student or potential employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job experience in order to get credit for work study
SHINE Van Driver (Current Employee) –  Utica, NYFebruary 18, 2016
Even though hours were limited, as a student, I am not necessarily looking for a lot. The job was easy and they made sure to build a schedule around each driver's needs based on their class and practice schedule.
Pros
Flexible hours for a student
Cons
Limited hours available
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Culture, Friendly Superiors, Fun Co-workers
Linear Algebra Grader (Current Employee) –  Clinton, NYOctober 10, 2015
I spent about 4 hours grading homework assignments from college-level linear algebra students. I also provided feedback to students whenever they made errors in their homework.
I reported to the professor regularly about my work. I learned how to be very detailed oriented since I had to pay close attention where students made homework errors.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Time-consuming
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The time I was at Hamilton I learned many skills,but the best were the people.
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYFebruary 6, 2015
The campus safety office was very busy most of the time with students,staff, visitors and faculty coming in for all kinds of reasons.Part of my job was to find out their need and direct them to the proper end. When the phone rang it could be a medical emergency or a question about a upcoming event or someone just looking for a number. Maintained a log that contained officers radio transmissions . The hours went by quickly with a little humor.
Pros
Meeting all kinds of people and working with some great people
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
중국어 때문에 유명한 대학
TEACHING FELLOW (Current Employee) –  Clinton, NYFebruary 4, 2015
일상 생활이 편하고 직장을 통해 많은 경험을 쌓았음.

총적으로 직장은 더할 나위 없이 좋았지만 개인적인 사정으로 인해 한국행을 선택.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Area Director (Current Employee) –  Clinton, NYJanuary 27, 2015
Good employee support. Good benefits. Decent compensation. Good culture and work/life balance. Very rural, but has most things you need nearby.
Work day is 8:30-4:30. Most holidays are off.
Pros
Culture of sensibility and support.
Cons
Rural.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite Job
Security (Current Employee) –  Clinton, NYOctober 5, 2014
Walk around the Museum and make sure everything is in order.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College environment
Dept. Secretary, Information Technology Services (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NYSeptember 29, 2014
I spent many years working at the college in different positions in the same office. My co-workers and supervisor were wonderful.
Pros
benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hamilton College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Hamilton College Reviews by Location