Hamilton Sundstrand Employee Reviews

Found 158 reviews matching the search See all 175 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team, analytical work
Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTApril 3, 2019
Great internship. Taught me the complexity of engineering and of the work place. Great mentorship from the people there. Would love to reconnect with them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high pressure place to work
Development Ops Lead (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILApril 2, 2019
High tech company driven by corporate goals and stock holder needs.
Aerospace is a competitive businesses.
Very smart people.
Schedule pressure to meet customer commitments and cost goals.
Very interesting state of the art work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Control Inspector
Quality Assurance Inspector (Former Employee) –  York, NEMarch 9, 2019
My duties were to inspect a sampling of the components that were being manufactured. They had a great tuition reimbursement program. Management was very up front with all that was going on there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good place to work
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 27, 2019
I learn to do the best you can do and just have fun doing it my typical day at work is to keep clean dishes and keep them coming for the cooks and customers and to keep all the pots and pans clean my days was fun because I love doing my job
Pros
be the best you can be what ever you do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hamilton Sundstrand was an excellent employer!
Multiple Positions (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 7, 2018
This was my 1st job. After 29.9 years, 26 different job titles in all disciplines and major contributions to the success of the company, UTC took over and my job was eliminated in 2009. Soon after the plant was closed with product moved overseas.
Pros
Advancement, Educational reimbursement, benefits
Cons
Utc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large corporation, many opportunities
Supplier Liaison (Former Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTSeptember 18, 2018
Hamilton was constantly striving to be the best they could be, offering excellent benefits, career advancement, college reimbursement.
The parent company United technologies was often acquiring additional smaller businesses to expand their market share,
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
many workforce reductions with market fluctiations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
government job
Key Account Rep (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCSeptember 15, 2018
Great job. Great work. Very good for your career. Pays well and the environment is laid back and allows you to work up to your potential. Would most definitely return.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTSeptember 5, 2018
The company has good benefits, the work was always engaging and interesting but the salary was lower than other cities in the area. Plenty of opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Machine Operator II (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoAugust 19, 2018
Good Place to work.I learn to operated MY DATA, FUJI,AOI and
Contact System processes. I was Teachind and Training Employees
how to operated the machines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
NDT Inspector (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 13, 2018
I loved working at Hamilton Sundstrand. The pay and benefits are great. We had all the overtime we wanted and the work was very laid back. The only issue is that it is a union shop so layoffs do happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Control Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 12, 2018
I was part of the Systems and Controls engineering team before turning into Pratt & Whitney AeroPower. The work was good and some good engineering was done. We had the ability to fine tune turbine engines in an actual test cell.
Pros
Cool work
Cons
Individual contributors (not a team environment)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summary
Associate (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 7, 2018
Job was fun to learn very repetitious great vacation benefits and 401 K match.. pay was not good for the type of work I did. The Best part of the job was meeting some really nice people.
Pros
vacation time
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Santa Isabel Municipio, PRJuly 12, 2018
I learned how to set up electronic equipment to work in a team and with safety always taking care of the quality procedures of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Contract Administrator (Temp Assignment) (Former Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTJuly 11, 2018
The work culture is strict
No breaks other than 1/2 for lunch
Management changed position requirements too often
leaving at the end of a day was enjoyable
I learned how to induct airplane parts for repair
Pros
Cafe'
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Technical Writer for Component Maintenance Manuals (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CTJune 24, 2018
HS has a strong focus on cost-cutting, which made jobs more difficult to complete. Time was spent fixing errors made by outsourcing companies. The work was challenging and interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 15, 2018
I enjoyed this job is was rewarding. The people was nice and professional. They was thoughtful in giving good reference checks as well as good benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best!
Senior Designer/Drafter (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAMay 21, 2018
Excellent place to work. Good benefits and compensation, great team to work with, excellent team players and all employees very
helpful, sorry I can't still be there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern job
Finance Department Intern (Former Employee) –  Santa Isabel Municipio, PRApril 5, 2018
I had the opportunity to learn how is a real job environment. I could learn much about study concentration. Everyone in the building was always available to teach me, everything I needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was excited to work there because it was noted to be a lifetime secure job
Sr. Admin. Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILFebruary 27, 2018
I took care of ordering for the Maintenance crib and took inventory checks. Handled the work orders for the customers calling in and filed the information and created a work order for the Maintenance supervisors. Interacted with outside vendors for our projects and inventory.
Pros
I loved the job
Cons
down sizing hurt alot of us
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assembly & Test Technician II (Former Employee) –  Windsor Locks, CTFebruary 23, 2018
Working at Hamilton Sundstrand even though it was very busy at times it was a delightful place to work. Worked with people that were very knowledgeable
Pros
Education pay for 100%
Cons
End of the month rush
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hamilton Sundstrand. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 175 reviews
568
456
338
29
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture