Hanger, Inc. Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 259 reviews
Ratings breakdown
573
468
366
229
123
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 259 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can help it walk away
Office Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Oakland, CAAugust 13, 2018
Hanger is a cut throat buisness the management is no exsistant ,very cliky if you are not kissing butt both patients and staff they are against you they only care about getting products out to the point of pressuring pt. to come get items they do not believe in letting you know what should be corrected very unorganized, co workers or often time very sneaky and feel that if you can do your job better than them they will sabotage you in a way so that they do not lose their position. Office politics often hinders that development of Staff members which reflect on to the patient with the disorganization of office. If you're looking for a here today gone tomorrow positions and this would be the right one for you but if you are looking for some stability along with some structure I would have I strongly against this company
Pros
Appreciative patients
Cons
Hanger in general
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional but laid-back place where the work is fun.
Shadowing Student (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 10, 2018
When there aren't patients to be seen, technical work is done modifying casts and making various orthotics. I liked interacting with patients and seeing the good being done directly, but I also liked the hands-on tech work I got to do as a shadow.
Pros
Hands-on experience, laid-back environment
Cons
Sometimes slow if patients don't show up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Balance with Life
Sr. Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Stockbridge, GaAugust 6, 2018
This company is an awesome recommendation. It provides an opportunity to have a life outside of work. You will not be pressured with reasonable overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware of lay offs
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 4, 2018
The company started off great and was all about their employees and patients but then became greedy and gave US jobs to third party company in India. You may get 1-2 years of experience but be prepared for lay off
Pros
wages and benefits
Cons
lay offs, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never recommend
Senior Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYAugust 1, 2018
Hanger is a very clicky place. Alot of pettiness, and drama. Managers are very dishonest, and care only about the bottom line, no their employees. Big business with no heart
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work
Insurance Coordinator, Sales & Authorization (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJuly 23, 2018
It was nice working for Hanger as you had to be self motivated to complete work. If one is able to stay on schedule then DME Authorizations is a good place to go!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to Day Plugger
Accounts Receivable (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 13, 2018
If you are into punching a time clock and getting nowhere, this is the job for you. You need to be a person that kisses up to advance or you're just another number on the time clock. The employees there are nice but too many clicks. Pay is ok but they can do better.
Pros
Able to flex hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace nightmare
Orthotic Fitter (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 13, 2018
Don’t do it. I wouldn’t even consider this place a last resort job, it’s not worth it. To say management is terrible would be an understatement. They are unsupportive and often times nowhere to be found. They are uneducated and/or poorly trained rendering them unfamiliar with company policies and procedures that they expect you to implement and execute. You work closely with coworkers and become close to them because they too are being bullied by management. The entire company is disjointed and unorganized. They lack the proper leadership or attentiveness required to effectively run a company. The pay is not even up to par with the cost of living wage nor is it reasonable for the amount of work you are expected to take on. Management lies to you, to patients, to HR about anything imaginable. There is no confidentiality in HR. If a complaint is presented rather than provide a solution they just go to your boss and tell them. As a result, you’re reprimanded for calling HR. There are no checks and balances. Management is allowed to treat you any kind of way because there is no accountability. You have to watch your back there, no conversation with management is confidential and they gossip with your peers to make you look bad. They do not know how to communicate with staff, especially when others are off work for any reason. They are not proactive in any aspect of their business. Working at Hanger is like being in an abusive relationship. That is why the retention rate is in the toilet and there have been 5 people in my position in the last 4 years. You just have to grin and  more... bear it until you can find another job and escape. Otherwise, you will be fired because they love to retaliate.  less
Pros
You will become self sufficient/ resourceful, paid sick time, decent benefits, doctor office hours so no weekends
Cons
Short/no lunch break, inefficient communication, overworked / underpaid, consistently gossiped about and bullied
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  North Kansas City, MOJuly 9, 2018
Hanger is terrific to their employees. The training program is above the rest and management cares about all levels of employees. Would recommend this company,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Billing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 1, 2018
Learned a lot, opportunities to learn new things. Fast-paced, the workload was not consistent. Some departments I was in had too many people for the workload
Pros
learned a lot, oportunity to learn
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
traveling was horrible
Billing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  East Stroudsburg, PAJune 28, 2018
Management was horrible and you had to travel back and forth to Pittsburgh for training. The offices are poor condition with no updates. No room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Area Office Manager (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 18, 2018
very patient and mission driven and they want to promote their employees and grow their careers they also really care about making us happy while we work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Hanger Clinic
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVMay 26, 2018
I loved working for Hanger.
Things got done in a timely manner.
The Management was great but, they did not live in this State.
My co workers were very Pleasant to work with.
The company was located right off the freeway so the access was simple to get to.
The hardest part of our Job was watching someone leave unhappy. Patients left with a smile on their faces.
Pros
Working with the Public
Cons
The pay was not enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Unappreciated job
Office Administrator Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLMay 22, 2018
Management changed 4 times in 6 years with the most recent being the worst, not delivering orders on time, manager not calling patients back, I did the job of 3 plus people and still got bombarded with sometimes 30 plus emails a day for more IKS collections to work on when I was trying to do the work of 3 people already, after 6 years managers gave bad reviews after giving your all, and get a 26 cent raise. I left said revenue will plummet and stand by that. Did not appreciate me one bit. Now I see they are hiring. I would not refer anyone to be treated like I was. AOM most uneducated person I've ever met and she trains people, when theres an issue she gets other people from other offices to try to help because she does not know what shes doing. Waste of 6 years. Toxic office with severe allergens in the ceiling as well not taken care of unhealthy they don't want to spend money keep it hush hush.
Pros
Lunch hour
Cons
Manager and Area Office Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Database Administrator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 21, 2018
I have had an awesome experience so far. Great place to learn and grow. I have enjoyed my stay so far. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Although the job can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Senior Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  West Orange, NJMay 6, 2018
Good Management and fun place to work- Great Education and much room for growth. Good Resources and HR Department always available to discuss any concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Medical Biller and Collector (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 3, 2018
Fast pace. Good learning experience. Work with several insurances. You learn something new everyday. You enjoy seeing returning patients from time to time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Growth
Audit Associate (Current Employee) –  RemoteApril 20, 2018
Working here offers no room for growth and the Benefits cost more then any other company I have ever worked at, considering they are at the lower end of the pay scale as well makeit hard to invest in a future with this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work
Senior Administrator and Inventory Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 16, 2018
The team at Hanger is great and ever changing, everyone has a positive attitude and always strives to meet goals together as a team. No one is singled out.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot about Prosthetics and Orthotics
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Springfield, MOApril 15, 2018
Helped Customers get an appointment
Utilized attention to details, patients loved to have you listen to them and give them advice. I learned going thru the process of getting a prosthetic and all the emotions comes with it. We had to keep our patients in a positive environment and this job was VERY rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hanger, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight