Harmony Public Schools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone for themselves
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 7, 2018
There is a lack of leadership and little guidance from management. Expectations for performance are not clearly defined and administrators are inconsistent in their treatment of staff. The culture is somewhat toxic and it can be difficult to fit in if you are not part of the right crowd.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PLC where very informative
Spanish Teacher (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 2, 2018
Adapt teaching methods and instructional materials to meet students’ varying needs and interests.
Establish and enforce rules for behavior and procedures for maintaining order among students. Classroom management was my great opportunity that I learned, because my previous experience was with a lower grade levels.
Workplace culture it was respectful.
The hardest part of the job sometimes were duties.
The most enjoyable part of the job were my students! Preparing materials for class activities was very fun.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Duties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place!
Director of Leadership Development (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2018
I liked working at Harmony. I started there as a teacher and moved up to main office in 12 years. I hold different administrative positions as Assistant Principal, Principal and Director.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to work
Testing Coordinator and then I (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 30, 2018
Harmony provides the opportunity for teachers to grow as administrators. It offers its own program to prepare them to be part of the administration team and continue building school's mission and vision
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place
Intern in Harmony Science Academy Sugarland (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 22, 2018
I was able to learn how administrators make decisions, how they solve problems.
How to work colloboratively and in general learnt how the school system works in the USA.
I was able to observe test days, different lessons etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place of work
Student (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 26, 2018
There are numerous reasons for the poor management, but staff are usually overworked and underpaid. There are rules that seem outrageous and uncalled for.
Pros
helping the future
Cons
stressful environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
Engineering, Spanish, robotics Teacher (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 23, 2018
- small faculty staff and students (400) which makes the ambiance better and reliable. teachers get to know their students and work well together and alone.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
limited sports
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a nightmare
Teach (Former Employee) –  DallasApril 9, 2018
Working here was one of the worst experiences of my life. First of all, HPS ARE a cult. They break all the laws. Nobody knows what they're doing. It's completely unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally Disappointing
Austin - Teacher (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 3, 2018
This school won't burn you out like other charters, but leaves a lot to be desired in the way of support and student culture. Not somewhere I'd recommend a first year teacher go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close nit people
First Grade Teacher (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 20, 2018
You really get a sense of being a part of a family. You become close with the teachers that you work with. The curriculum is really easy to follow so it makes planning pretty easy.
Pros
community
Cons
not enough planning time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching at Harmony Science Academy
Teacher - Harmony Science Academy (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 18, 2018
I would not recommend teaching at Harmony. The management/administration is terrible and discipline is non-existent.. Teachers are expected to make home visits and spend a lot of extra time providing tutorials for low performing students.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very joyful
Secondary math teacher (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 17, 2018
Very helpful and supportive,very much recognizing. Students were very active and responding,which makes a teacher happy and encouraging.The school is very keen in the educational side rather than the extra-curricular activities..
Pros
All extra works were rewarding
Cons
Late hours of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would Not Suggest
Assistant Principal (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 24, 2018
Highly unorganized
Poor management
Micromanaged
Low staff morale
Low parent involvement
Very top-down driven
Poor communication
Excessive duties
Would not suggest
Pros
salary, ability to move up
Cons
lack of accountability, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teachers are great, administration is not
7th Grade Mathematics Teacher (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 14, 2017
Very stressful and poorly organized work place. Technology rarely working, something is always broken - printers, overhead projectors, Internet... simple tasks require lots of time. People are great - supportive, understanding, ready to help and share...
Pros
Great people woek there
Cons
short breaks, poorly managed work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Administrative Assistant Intern (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2017
This was a very fulfilling job, being in a position to talk to and encourage students to go for higher education always feels good. It was definitely something I looked forward to everyday.
Pros
Getting to work with students and talk to them about college.
Cons
Lack of pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everybody here wears too many hats
Rather not say (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 21, 2017
Almost every single employee at this place performs the role of several different types of employees. It's a great place for a teacher to get their start, but a horrible place to continue due to the physical and physiological burden the administration attempts to normalize and exert over every single employee.
Pros
Good place to start
Cons
Bad place to stay at
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would like to work at harmont scholls again. Feels like you are part of the family. Fun and friendly environment to work
Teacher (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 15, 2017
It was fun working at harmony science academy. the staff and principle was very friendly and was willing to help us teachers through out the year for everything we need. Got pregnant and stopped working to spend time with my baby
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Teacher Aide (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 30, 2017
Enjoyed working with students. Day started at 7:30am and ended at 4:30pm. Very challenging but rewording helping students learn. Support from other co-workers, team payers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for new teachers
ESL Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMay 17, 2017
I was an ESL pull out teacher for elementary, middle, and high
school students. The students were wonderful. I had enough time
in my day to prep for classes. The salary scale went up significantly
three years in a row. There is no job security from year to year.
Pros
Time at school to get work done
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 1, 2017
I learned so much with things I have never done before I worked with a great leader who was helpful as any manager can be I have gained a lot of confidence while working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report