Harps Food Stores Employee Reviews

Found 329 reviews matching the search See all 332 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is Amazing
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Springdale, ARJanuary 16, 2019
Learn to get along with fellow employees because the time you get to go home depends on each others cooperation. Learn to work together and get along and things will run smoothly.
Pros
Positive Atmosphere
Cons
Required WHOLE team effort for effectiveness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harps can be a bit repetitive but its so friendly and the people working there are very kind. Its a great work environment.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Doniphan, MOJanuary 14, 2019
Harps can get a little boring if you're part time because you perform the same tasks over and over but its a very flexible and comfortable environment and the pay is pretty good. The hardest part of the job would probably be memorizing how to do wic transactions and store charges or tax exempt forms but even those tasks are relatively simple.
Pros
opportunity for scholorships. pay raises yearly.
Cons
Not many benefits for part time workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every one is friendly, like family there.
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Bellafonte, ArkansasJanuary 9, 2019
I enjoyed working for Harps. I learned alot about Grogery Industry. Everyone who works there are so nice and encouraging. The Work Place is fast pace at times and can get pretty stressful but then there are slow times and things get relaxed. I enjoyed getting to know my fellow employees and the customers that came in quite frequently.
Pros
Extremely nice bunch of people to work with.
Cons
Pay is not so great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first experience with working
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Springdale, ARJanuary 7, 2019
My first experience with working the job itself wasn’t too bad, and some of the people are pretty good, but I had a death in the family at one point and I was a little bit down, one of the managers threaten to fire me and I knew from there I should just probably leave, I was still in high school so I just focused on school at the time.
Pros
The people there are very helpful, the employees tend to be nice even to each other, and the discounts didn’t hurt
Cons
Management, the environment and the music
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly run
Cashier/ Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Van Buren, ARJanuary 4, 2019
hours were very inconsistent and was very chaotic to work in the majority of the time. It seemed like everyone working there was constantly unhappy, the environment was miserable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too shabby
Stocker and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greenbrier, ARDecember 13, 2018
It's not that bad if you make it what you want it to be. You enjoy the work if you have a good manager and good co-workers. You get a decent amount of vacation days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Deli Associate (Current Employee) –  Gentry, ARDecember 11, 2018
Easy job, excellent work environment, fun people who are upbeat and happy. The job itself is rather easy to do and once you get into a routine it’s suoer easy.
Pros
Excellent benefits once you’ve been there a while
Cons
Not enough hours and the pay isn’t that great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underappreciated Overworked
Manager (Current Employee) –  ARDecember 3, 2018
Harps doesn't care about its employees. They only see success as more and more and more profits, and don't care if cutting labor budgets and forcing far too much merchandise out to stores causes mental breakdowns or even stress-induced medical issues to their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of hard workers and everybody there was super nice to me
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARDecember 1, 2018
A typical day for me was to get there at 6:00, open up everything and as the day went on I got to know the guests that came in very well. I always asked what else I could do and there would always be something else to do to make time go by faster.
Pros
I lived very close so I could go home on my breaks if i needed to.
Cons
Short staff most days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get started
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARNovember 26, 2018
Not overly great pay or benefits
Nice management that helps find a schedule that works for you
Can be fast-paced at times during the day and certain times throughout the year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good service amd stores
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Yellville, ARNovember 13, 2018
Good Service and store with nice employees. The store has everything people need with good prices and friendly people who will do anything to please the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Springdale, ARNovember 8, 2018
Culture in stores are great for the most part. Be ready to multitask. Different stores around in Northwest Arkansas. Everyone is friendly to everyone not just to the customers!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent entry level job
Closing Manager (Former Employee) –  Searcy, AROctober 22, 2018
Harps is a better company to work at than being homeless and jobless. but pay is less than almost all other grocery stores and has less room for promotion than most companies. great for high school and college students not a place to create a career and future. Management is failing from the corporate level down to store level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and generally fun work place
Full Time Closing Cashier (Current Employee) –  Bentonville, AROctober 22, 2018
I am at a cash register for 8 hours. I have 2 breaks and an hour lunch. Sometimes I get to leave my register and front face the store. My hours and days off are consistent.
Pros
Love my coworkers
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bella Vista, AROctober 16, 2018
loved the customers...managers changed to often...too many chiefs and not enough indians. Always went on breaks but had to remind them...got off work on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back atmosphere but lots of drama
Manager Trainee (Current Employee) –  Mountain Home, AROctober 16, 2018
There tended to be lots of favoritism and judgement there, and if your a trainee, you have to wait for something to open up before you can advance. Otherwise, your just treading water.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Porductive and Fun Workplace
Closing Manager , Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Fort Smith, AROctober 14, 2018
Harps is a great place to work at .
Everyone is treated like family
It is a great atmosphere to be in .
Everyone is friendly and caring
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, physical work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Gentry, AROctober 3, 2018
It was a good part time job. Hours were flexible and the work was physical with unloading the truck and stocking product. The management was pretty good very helpful and attentive managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended
Receiving Clerk / Grocery Puller (Former Employee) –  Springdale, AROctober 2, 2018
I wouldn't recommend Harps Distribution Center to anyone who is looking for a good paying job or a long career, They don't value hard work when they see it from workers. The Turn-Over rate is super high, and management will often tell you that "you can be replaced" You would have better luck with better pay working at a fast food joint!!
Pros
Cheap Vending Food
Cons
Harps Distribution Center/ They don't like it when people stand up for themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good co-workers , nice people.
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Fort Gibson, OKSeptember 27, 2018
Nice people , and fast paced work environment , leaving because I wanna follow my dream of being a mechanic and I wanna get out of the food industry. Good store manager.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Very flacky management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Harps Food Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 332 reviews
597
4114
371
231
119

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.5Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight