Hayward Industries Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 80 reviews
Ratings breakdown
527
420
320
28
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 73 reviews matching the search See all 80 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was let go because supervisor saw me eating
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCJune 27, 2018
Hayward isn't a terrible job it's actually pretty laid back and you can learn a few things. However coming in as a temp you get treated as a peasant and no matter how hard you work and come in every day on time they still will let you go for something as petty as eating a few French fries. It was very hot and the machine I was running was on pause because we were too backed up so I sat down for a sec ate some of my food to get a lil energy because I was tired and the supervisor had a problem with that I guess cuz I didn't jump up and act like a slave when he walked by
Pros
None just a job
Cons
Management short breaks not much afvancement for minorities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hayward, an honest opionion
Technical Service Contact Center Team Leader (Current Employee) –  North Kingstown, RIApril 20, 2018
In the past, Hayward has been a good place of employment, though there isn't room for advancement unless you are a friend of a friend, or a relative to management. New corporate owners, with strong indications that they will be laying off anyone close to retirement to make room for a younger body of employees as per the letter by CEO this week. Certain departments are very gender specific. In an unfortunate chain of events over the last 2 years, it is sad to say that a very cohesive work environment, has now turned for the worse. Inadequate training's further the stress level on the customer service/technical service departments. product and product development has regressed, even with all the newer products being prematurely pushed out. The products have become substandard and difficult to operate for may consumers. This has led to a constant influx and turn over of engineers. The enjoyable part is that Hayward, at this time still has company BBQ and a Christmas dinner for most employees yearly. And the location is beautiful on the water. They also do provide decent wage compensation and benefits. But their strongest assets would be the people working for Hayward, there are many truly decent, dedicated people here. I wish only the best for this company, and hopefully, it can become a company that produces a better, working product line, and a more advocate based company for it's employees again.
Pros
Lunches, Summer BBQ, Christmas dinner, and ocean view
Cons
Poor product quality, constant staff turn overs all departments, inadequate training, management isnumber friendly, and not team friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good potential for growth - if process improves
Team Lead /Senior Software Engineer/Architect (Current Employee) –  North Kingstown, RIApril 18, 2018
Hayward is a good place to work. People are generally nice, pay is decent and benefits are not bad at all. Overtime is rare, managers are not pushing people around and relations between people in the company are friendly.

As long as you do your job responsibly and on time, you will most likely be happy at Hayward.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Projects take longer to complete than they should
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast pace work place
Cherry picker operator (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCMarch 13, 2018
its a good work place just not enough working hours but the work enviornment is great ..i got to do what i really love to do and thats forklifting and my co-workers were great
Pros
forklift
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good quality products
Chief Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCFebruary 28, 2018
Good camaraderie, product line is complete and well known in the market. Strong name in the industry.
Product development need more accountability to deliver to industry standard.
Pros
Good salary and benefits
Cons
Lack of accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, good community
Design Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCJanuary 30, 2018
Hayward is a vertically integrated company that works together very well. It is a good work environment that encourages hard work and provides opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting and making new people n friends
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Denny, CAJanuary 24, 2018
Good environment good people to work but always short of employees. We always work hard but no appreciate to employees. Managers not even staying for year
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Have to take 30 mins break even working for 5 hours there we lose 1/2 hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCJanuary 22, 2018
Management and Human Resources do not have the employer best interests . If you need a job apply don’t let how I feel stop you. Hopefully you’ll get the job
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Racist
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  forkDecember 27, 2017
Moved merchandise to different locations throughout the warehouse. Inspected product to ensure it was correct. Lifting 50lbs often and sorted items by hand in different departments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team with collaborative culture
Robotics Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  North Kingstown, RIDecember 23, 2017
I worked with an extremely nice and collaborative team. People were always willing to help. The team go out to lunch together on Fridays to bond.

Company's technology is a bit outdated but working really hard to bring automation into manufacturing. Manager is always open to new ideas to improve the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty easy job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCDecember 22, 2017
Its good if you like a steady past job, no one hovering over your back constantly throughout the shift. The warehouse does reach high temperatures but they provide you with fans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business was good but was not paid good
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CADecember 17, 2017
I like serving customers was a fun ,learned management skills
I enjoyed working for this company because my work experience.
Though it wasn't a better paid job however it was a self managing
job.
Pros
I had provide my on lunch
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Line Mechanic (Former Employee) –  E Stroudsburg, PADecember 11, 2017
one of the best place to work for people there are very nice to work with very understanding bosses excellent work enviorment great pay and there is plenty of room for advancement
Pros
great co workers
Cons
theres none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing work place
California Accessories Temp (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CADecember 5, 2017
Was there for only temperarly. Had to pick from the warehouse as well as pack and wrap up my pallet. Had to do with glasses so also had to get merchandise ready for it to be able to get picked and packed meaning if it was waters had to add labels then set in boxes and placed in a an open area.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced and relaxed
Forklift Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCNovember 28, 2017
Ensure shipping requirements adhere to OSHA regulations. Ensure assembly line receives the appropriate shipments.Operate forklift safely.Adhere to rules and guidelines for proper product management.Keep finalizing area clean and clear for pickers to drop off product.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sufficient
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ventura County, CAOctober 27, 2017
When positioning to replace a higher tenure person, I felt my knowledge was invalid. Managers would say (thinking they wouldn't be heard)..... She's OKAY.... but she's not... so or so..
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
District Technical Manager (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CAOctober 18, 2017
This has been an amazing company to work for. They have taught me so much and the management is amazing. This is truly like working for family and they really value the input from their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team oriented workers,not so great management.
Material Handler, Hi/lo (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCSeptember 5, 2017
Management is out of touch and not very knowledgeable about what we actually do. The people were great to work with, team players. The supervision was somewhat erratic and temperamental.
Pros
Eight hour shifts.
Cons
Erratic supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 28, 2017
fast pace , loading trucks, warehouse work, learned to be patient, hard part training others on RF scanner gun, finding good workers from agencies, enjoyed giving raises and Christmas party
Pros
free dinner, dance party, raise, great benefits
Cons
firing someone, improper check amount given
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had! Tru work family
senior control technician (Former Employee) –  Clemmons, NCAugust 17, 2017
I was 23yrs old when I started working for Hayward and was there for 10yrs and 5months! If I didn't move to Charlotte I would have definitely never left!
Pros
Coworkers! And management has your back
Cons
You get so good at your job! They dnt want you to move out that position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report