HAYWARD UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT Culture reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 66 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay and potential benefits
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAFebruary 26, 2019
The pay and potential benefits for retirement for Calpers along with the paid days off are about the only aspects of the job I can honestly say are the highlights. However, the management is on the extreme opposite end of the spectrum. Very poor cutthroat culture and poor managers who do not seem to have an idea even about your job tasks. The hardest part of the job is looking over your shoulder to make sure a co-worker isn't there to try to bring you down so they can get a "promotion" or a permanent school site to work at. You move from site to site cleaning kitchen areas and most of the time you may get home as late as 8 or 9 pm. Lastly, If you do wind up laid off or terminated from this district you may as well consider yourself permanently banned. They have a policy of NOT ever hiring previous employees regardless of the condition which is borderline illegal.
Pros
pay and potential benefits for retirement for Calpers along with the paid days off
Cons
Paid once a month, cutthroat culture, poor management, dreadful HR
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your professional career
Coordinator of Services Team Specialist (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAOctober 24, 2018
30 hours a week. No benefits/Health insurance. Good workplace culture depending where you are placed. Good team to work with. Some space for professional growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s fun working with kids
YEP (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJune 28, 2018
It’s a fun working environment and all the staff is friendly. Although the process to work there is long, it’s so worth it! This job is the best if you love kids :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Job
Physical Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJune 28, 2018
1. First 1.25 hours prep/break/no classes-ELD instruction for GE teachers.
2. Picked up first class at 9:15am
3. School wide recess
4. Taught two classes, then lunch
5. Taught two more classes, then end of day

Management: objective, fair, even when you disagreed, so I liked that, and often times got what was requested if it was within reason.

Culture: Overall, decent, professional, I stayed away from the problems and was in a different role.

What I learned: a lot about myself and students, and communication skills, etc....

Enjoyable part of job: seeing and working with the students.

Hardest part: behavior (at times, it wasn't a school wide issue).
Pros
schedule
Cons
not very many, a few challenging students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Husd
Youth Enrichment Program Lead (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAApril 26, 2018
A lovely district with a community to back it up. I enjoyed this postion for over ten years and I have no complaints. So far, I am working with a stable salary and benifits. I would recommend this district.
Pros
Fairness
Cons
Competitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and collaborative
Paraprofessional Teacher Health care (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAJanuary 1, 2018
It's fun working with the kids and co-workers are very friendly and professional. I learned to cope with different people since I go to different schools.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CA 94544September 27, 2017
Very good experience with HUSD. I have learned a lot.
Is the mos enjoyable job in my life.
I have learned a lot working with different people with different culture.
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
NO health insurance benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great kids, nice coworkers
Paraeducator (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CASeptember 5, 2017
Great working environment. Always felt valued as an employee. Most teachers and staff are very dedicated and happy to be there. Would recommend to anyone who loves working with children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Program Leader (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAJuly 8, 2017
Great Place to work. Work culture was awesome. So many people from different walks of life. Focused on helping the community, as well as making sure that children are learning in a safe environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
C.N.A Child Nutrition Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJune 28, 2017
I loved the job, it was a place i enjoyed going to everday. I was there for 7 years and build a great relationship with my co-workers. The atmosphere was very calm and relaxing.
Pros
Being able to prepare food for everyone
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the friendly staff
Para educator Severely Handicapped (Current Employee) –  Hayward, CAAugust 3, 2015
The hourly pay was great.Competitive job opportunities for on-call staff. Fun work place with supportive empolyee staff.
Pros
lots of breaks
Cons
expensive healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAJanuary 30, 2014
Supportive and inspiring co-workers. Creativity encouraged.
Pros
Job security, compensation
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hayward School District
Administrative Assistant/Clerical (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAOctober 4, 2013
Fun working with the children. Enjoyed busy days. Hardest part of the job unruly children.
Pros
Children
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place was a mess
Field Support Technician -INTERNSHIP PROGRAM (Former Employee) –  Hayward, CAApril 4, 2013
This organization was staffed with 10 people, and 3 of them seemed to not know what they were doing. Great network guy and head of IT was great to know. This was an internship program.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport

See more HAYWARD UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HAYWARD UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 66 reviews
528
420
313
22
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

HAYWARD UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT Reviews by Location