HCL Technologies Employee Reviews

Found 1,008 reviews matching the search See all 7,686 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile atmosphere and poor management
Customer Service Executive (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, MNJanuary 22, 2019
This is a very uncomfortable and unorganized place to work. It is unprofessional. You are not valued for what you do. It is difficult to obtain answers. You are not treated like a human by management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staffing company
Sr. Engr. Technician (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 18, 2019
Nice environment to work
Good place for long term
People are friendly
Good program for long term
Relaxing atmosphere and flexible hours
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract position
Data Security Technician (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 17, 2019
It was a contract position. My position was moved to India. In working contract I was unable to take paid vacation for over 3 years. Also no other benefits were provided.
Pros
Downtown
Cons
Contract, Unknowing future.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They will give you opportunities to learn and expand skills.
Senior Analyst / Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Cary, NCJanuary 16, 2019
They will give you opportunities to learn and expand skills. Pay is lower than the same job elsewhere. Was paid more with state job. Great for someone just getting into IT.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Appreciated
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXJanuary 14, 2019
I was onboarded per the customer request (as was the other 100 or so employees) from a previous employer to HCL. As an employee of HCL, I was under utilized and not given projects or additional duties. I was not contacted one way or another about other positions within the company.

I was discarded like a used paper towel. No committed communication with my manager. No work performance communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive and sad state of mind work culture
Senior Financial & Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCJanuary 11, 2019
HCl America has a very unproductive and sad state of mind work conditions. The management never thought about employees and they are very low grade in paying the salary. I would never want to go back to HCL America.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It depends
Director & Industry Principal (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAJanuary 8, 2019
A lot depends on the group you work in. Sales runs the show and delivery follows. A lot of good people here. Very Indian culturally ie expect a very hierarchical organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Global Data Center Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 2, 2019
Their mantra is employee first but if the client complains about you then you are gone as soon as they can figure out a way to get rid of you. Very little chance for advancement.
Pros
average pay and benefits
Cons
only 10 days vacation with no additional days with years worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Employers
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCJanuary 2, 2019
Lies to employees and doesn't honor their commitments. Opportunities for minorities in leadership roles and management are extremely limited. High turnover and layoffs across projects.
Pros
okay pay for professional positions
Cons
long hours; excessive travel; no employee advocate;
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst jobs ever.
TECHNICAL WRITER (Former Employee) –  Morrisville, NCDecember 31, 2018
No one in management at the time of my employment was worth a darn. No support, no direction and they seemed to have no idea what they were doing on a regular basis.
Pros
I was paid every week.
Cons
No management support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking 15 minute breaks morning and afternoon, 30 minute break for lunch
Desktop Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXDecember 25, 2018
This is an Indian company based in India. There is only an Indian culture and no diversity. Poor management with no short breaks and lunch breaks allowed. Management requires working on holidays, Saturdays, or Sundays. A typical day at work starts at 6 AM and ends at 3 PM, or 11 AM to 8 PM. Overnight shift is required from 10 PM to 7 AM. We are 1st level support doing both 1st level and 2nd level technical support job. Shift supervisors and Managers was available for only one time for the 15 months I was working there. The Supervisors job is to reprimand everyone on the shift without accuracy and verification. Employees are required to accept the discipline without cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Master in Infra Delivery. Lot to offer to the ones willing to learn
Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Stockholms kommunDecember 22, 2018
Wide Spectrum organization
Lot to offer
In place academies for the professionals to opt for pointed career options
Global presence
Offers a wide variety of roles
Long term organization to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving Door
System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cary, NCDecember 20, 2018
Large org which takes contracts globally for many of orgs. The culture in this environment is competitive but also a revolving door. In HCL you are a number and not a person. Although there is a large amount of learning and growth that can be obtained and used for career growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life
Lead Engineer (Former Employee) –  Redmond, WADecember 20, 2018
I had great work life balance. Work is very organized. Management is very helpful with employees. I worked with Microsoft store team and I was very useful for my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overview
Executive Assistant/Independent Contractor (Former Employee) –  Lisle, ILDecember 16, 2018
HCL management will beat you in the ground with their 24/7 expectations of working weekends, holidays, and even on your vacation. Lots of reverse discrimination company-wide. Friends are promoted over those who have worked for the position. People are nice however culture is very isolating and race based.
Pros
remote work
Cons
no benefits whatsoever
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCL is a good company to work for
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTDecember 13, 2018
They have a good team that knows how to execute large multi-national IT Projects. They make good use of structured methodologies and make a point of scheduling meetings so the team can stay on the same page.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Company
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Harrison, ARDecember 10, 2018
This company does not allow advancement and management is terrible. They do not train you well and then get onto you for lack of knowledge. This is a bad company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place just dont count on OT
Team Lead/Mentor, IT support (Former Employee) –  Frisco, TXDecember 7, 2018
This is a good company for beginners in the IT world who do not want to work overtime.
The company policy on overtime is half your pay. not time and half.
They do a lot of training for different departments they hire for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCL quick review
Sr. IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  MDNovember 29, 2018
HCL prides itself, on diversity, yet I see cultural divide, personally.
HCL believes is has the best managers in place. I believe they hire people pusher managers, or non-technical manager, over technical people, another divide. It is tough when your manager has no clue of SOP, and other technical operations, or how to resolve any technical issues. They like to put a hot body on a situation, without any experience.
Pros
I have a great supervisor
Cons
He has not so good supervisors, non technical
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job.
Help Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cary, NCNovember 26, 2018
--SOME projects/Help Desks are different.
My project has several Help Desks with 24x7x365 coverage.
The project & Help Desk I support:
-It's all about creating the tickets.
-Training is minimal.
-They pile on more for you to support with training being non-existent.
-KnowledgeBase articles are not updated with new information, needed articles for reference are often removed while having several for the same issue with conflicting information.
-Off-hours and weekends: rather than staff the different Help Desks according to the number of calls that come in, they expect Support people to take calls and give support for all the Help Desks regardless what Help Desk you actually work on - I work on 1 Help Desk and actually try to provide support for 7 Help Desks - without any training. .Do your best using the KnowledgeBase articles and ask your coworkers for help..
Make sure you are not late coming back from breaks -And make sure you go to the bathroom during your own breaks.
All this without wanting to pay a decent salary.
Shift differentials & overtime and I'm still trying to make $40k/yr.
Pros
Free coffee/tea/hot chocolate
Cons
Low pay and the job continually gets harder due to changes & inconsistencies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HCL Technologies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 7,688 reviews
52K
43.2K
31.8K
2445
1254

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.9Personal Development

1.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight