Head Start Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 206 reviews
Ratings breakdown
599
465
324
29
19
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 202 reviews matching the search See all 206 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dickinson, NDApril 30, 2018
It's a very active job, you can never get bored, it's very interesting and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It sucked!!
Assistant Cook (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MSApril 24, 2018
. Very rude staff and management. worst place I have ever worked.I would not recommend them to anyone. At the time when I was working for them I was pregnant and the staff treated me horribly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work the people are wonderful
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Umatilla, ORApril 18, 2018
the days were very event full fun it kept me on my toes, I learned to interact with the teachers and children in a classroom setting. the most enjoyable part of the job that the teachers was supportive and the kids.
Pros
the staff is very supportive
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chatty children are fun.
Student volunteer (Former Employee) –  Butte, MTApril 16, 2018
I didn't work here long enough to give a review. The kids were fun to work with. The teacher was wonderful to chat with and the grandmother of the classroom was quite nice.
Pros
Children, lunch break
Cons
Children, screaming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
TEACHER ASSISTANT- HEAD START (Former Employee) –  Teachers aideApril 16, 2018
It was good to work with kids. They were surprisingly well behaved and good to be around. It was interesting to teach kids good habits that they can use later in school
Pros
Good working conditions
Cons
sometimes in early morning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a lot of rewarding experiences
Assistant Teacher (Current Employee) –  Washington County, NYApril 15, 2018
Headstart is a very busy place to work but it is rewarding as well. There are a lot of different aspects to being a teacher ( notes, training, meetings, lesson plans, weekly flyers and of course childcare) it seems sometimes like there is never enough time to accomplish it all. The good part is if you voice your concerns then there is a lot of support from management. It is a job where you get to know the families and their home lives a lot more than any other child care facility I've worked at.
Pros
Breakfast, lunch, and snack are provided to the teachers as well as the children. Paid school vacations.
Cons
A lot of work expected and always short on time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enseñanza de preescolares de 3-5 años
Maestra Pre-escolar (Former Employee) –  Manatí Municipio, PRApril 14, 2018
Es un trabajo dinamico, lleno de energia, canciones y actividades para el desarrollo del niño. En lo administrtivo se llevaba a cabo observaciones periodicas del progreso del niño. Se realizaba informes periodicos del progreso del estudiante, y realizacion de informes para la agencia. Organizacion de actividades para niño y padres.
Pros
trabajo a tiempo completo
Cons
salario
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Teachers assistant (Former Employee) –  Jesup, GAApril 10, 2018
It was ok working at this head start. There were no benefits and the management was very poor. Also the pay was poor. My coworkers were helpful and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fulton, MOMarch 29, 2018
Good people great kids opportunity to advancement. Paid time off sick leave good health incurence. Get Christmas break off as well as all holidays and lots of training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Stressfull
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Richland, MOFebruary 24, 2018
Great place to work, nice people, fun interacting with the children, children keep you active all day so make sure you have the energy to keep up with them before applying here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelents
Maestra (Former Employee) –  Puerto RicoFebruary 14, 2018
Trabajé de maestra brindando ayuda individualizada. Trabajo muy estructurado y organizado se cumplia con normas y requisitos del gobierno federal. Se trabajaba con el assessment y planificación de diferentes áreas del desarrollo.
Pros
Seguro medico
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teaching
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carolina, PRFebruary 13, 2018
Assist Lead Teacher in planning and implementing learning experiences that advance the intellectual, emotional, social, and physical development of children within a safe, healthy learning environment.
Pros
Having fun everyday
Cons
When the day ends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and coworkers
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Maricopa, AZFebruary 6, 2018
Great place to start a career, Low levels of Stress, great manager. Friendly staff, clean environment. I learned to have more patience while dealing with children's behavior issue. The most enjoyable part of my employment was seeing the joy of a child learning something new.
Pros
A lot of different shifts available
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Divertido
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bentonville, ARFebruary 4, 2018
Estar abierto a todo tipo d personalidades tener siempre un plan b ala mano
Pros
Ganas experiencie
Cons
Mucho llenar papeles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greet job
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Galesburg, ILJanuary 24, 2018
This was my first job and I loved it. It could be stressful at times but it was worth it. I enjoyed going to work everyday and miss everything about working for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo muy familiar
Encargada de alimentos (Former Employee) –  Aguadilla, PRJanuary 20, 2018
Excelente empresa, Trabajo en equipo.
Trato con igualdad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiemte
Encargada de alimentos (Former Employee) –  Mayagüez, PRJanuary 8, 2018
Excelemte ambiente buen entrenamiento salario y beneficios .
Pros
Seguro medico bonos
Cons
Ninguno
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Teachers Assistance (Former Employee) –  Charlevoix, MIJanuary 5, 2018
Head Start was the best job I ever had. It worked with my personality, and lifestyle (single parent of three). I I was able to contribute my skills, and learned some things along the way.
Pros
Great kids, great staff, great schedule
Cons
lack of funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Take the good with the bad.
Class Aide (Former Employee) –  Piedmont, MOJanuary 2, 2018
The job itself, I loved. Working with the children, in a relaxed, fun environment. Phenomenal. The managers, though, (most of them) are genuine witches. Maybe. They treat employees like they're dogs. Or children. They would talk to us like we were stupid and punish us in the most demeaning ways. They were degrading in every way possible and jumped at every opportunity to reprimand any employee. But som of them truly do care, and it's a good job with a good mission.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head Start provided great teaching environment after graduating from college
Developmental Manager (Former Employee) –  Monmouth, ILDecember 28, 2017
I really enjoyed learning about the program and implementing lessons in the classroom. I did enjoy helping teachers implement lessons in the classroom and make sure students were receiving the help they needed in the classroom.
Pros
Great training opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport