Health Advocates Employee Reviews

Showing all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See Below
Case Manager II (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAFebruary 15, 2019
Typical day begins with my case load and work in progress, i work hands on over the phone with claimants and the Social Security Administration. I take and make calls, process paperwork and screen people for eligibility. Management is pretty strict, but smart and helpful. The hardest part of the job is the long days, almost 9 hours, but it is worth it to leave early every Friday.
Pros
Early leave on Fridays, happy environment
Cons
none so far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medi-Cal Case Manager Full Time
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAFebruary 4, 2019
Office environment, friendly staff and caring managers. Very good benefits with 15 days off per year plus vacations and personal days. The hardest part is there is little creativity or excitement, the most enjoyable part is full time employment with people i like, helping people in need.
Pros
Helping people in need get benefits to help them pay their hospital bills
Cons
These cases can be difficult to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Pleasant Experience
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAFebruary 11, 2019
It has been a wonderful experience working for this firm. Within the course of my employment here i have been able to learn a great deal from the attorneys. This is a legit firm and helps lots of people on a daily basis. On top of that everyone here is really nice.
Pros
They are very welcoming and eager to build new employees
Cons
So far the only downside is the traffic at 5PM
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medi-Cal Case Manager Full Time
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CANovember 7, 2018
Office environment, friendly staff and caring managers. Very good benefits with 15 days off per year plus vacations and personal days. The hardest part is there is little creativity or excitement, the most enjoyable part is full time employment with people i like, helping people in need.
Pros
Helping people in need get benefits to help them pay their hospital bills
Cons
These cases can be difficult to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
community outreach coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAAugust 21, 2018
Positive Culture, Amazing Administration Suite, Patient Focused, Opportunity for Occupational Growth. Staff are like family, excellent work environment, great benefits. Management is supportive and available, pay is good, very big on family values and taking time to take care of yourself.
Pros
Positive Culture, Amazing Administration Suite, Patient Focused, Opportunity for Occupational Growth.
Cons
none at this time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull and micro managed
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 1, 2018
full day with many claimants, strict for no real reasons. many hours on telephone and everything was recorded with typing into program. many meetings and rules, some were not so professional very mediocre things that could have been avoided.
Pros
strong company bad turnaround
Cons
bad turnaround micro managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at health advocates
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 22, 2018
A typical day at work was challenging and always a learning experience. Learning about healthcare compliance allowed me to utilize my education to the fullest. The workplace culture was one that would allow you to express your ideas and thoughts without criticism. I had the opportunity to be a part of a team that started and developed a compliance program with ongoing training, while setting goals for future utilization within the company as a whole.
The hardest part of the job was meeting deadlines, which was do-able. The most enjoyable part of the job was company sponsored learning/luncheons/dinners that increased the employee enthusiasm and made the company a fun place to work.
Pros
Compensation competitive for market
Cons
Lack of cross training and opportunities to change job areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
keeps you working
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Oak Lawn, ILJanuary 30, 2019
Not only this a very professional company, they keep you in as many hours as you ask them for.

They are very compassionate about their jobs, eager to fill a shift. Great clients, very nice people to work for.

A+ in my book
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all a great place to work, but not much opportunity for advancement as an onsite case manager
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Downey, CASeptember 10, 2018
Great company, very little opportunity for advancement for onsite case managers. we worked a little over 8 hours a day to be able to have Half day Fridays! That was a plus for anyone who lived far, being able to beat the rush hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center every little thing was managed
Eligibility Worker/Case Manager 1 (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CASeptember 13, 2018
I thought I was actually going to help people but this place is just a call center you’re the one calling people like telemarketers bugging them for your services and asking them 335+ questions screening them once you get someone who is interested in services provided by this company. Training was so outdated they were using outdated terminology that was changed by the US Social Security and I brought it up to trainer and management and they weren’t even aware of the law change and I even showed proof of the law change but no one even knew about it at all!!! And the program that they are using is so outdated my mom was using it when she worked at an aerospace company in the 90s. The people you end up calling will even barade you for calling them trying to offer services and training doesn’t really help you deal with this at all!!!!!! You’re making 75-150+ calls a day. Breaks and lunch feel so very short and you’re sitting in front of a computer and on the phones for the whole day. No room for growth and raise system is bull!!!!!
Pros
Early clock out Friday
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compliance Document Specialist
Compliance Document Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAMay 15, 2018
It is a great place to work if you are looking to get great benefits out of your job. The management team was more like the employees they treated you like family. Your every concern was met with expectations from the job.
Pros
great benefits, discounts, flexible hours, and great management team
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Campbell, CA 95008April 11, 2018
The workplace it self is great, most of the workers are great and great to work with but Management is another story. The raises are just terrible for the amount of work that is given. There is no way you can survive in Silicon Valley with those type of raises. The is no growth or a way to move up unless someone retires.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Management, low salary and very low raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Onsite Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAApril 27, 2018
Good place to work you have flex time on Fridays, the company promotes within. They have paid training five day a workweek. The culture is nice compensation is nice. They are a strong company, i enjoy the work i do.
Pros
Flex time on Fridays, tons of beneftis
Cons
Stiff environment, but it needs to be productive - so i get it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAMay 1, 2018
Health Advocates strongly encourages a work life balance for all its employees. They have a great benefit package. Always remain proactive. Great place for networking and building relationships.
Pros
Benefits, salary
Cons
Not enough career advancedment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Case Manager
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAFebruary 4, 2018
A typical day at work is to take and make calls to patients and basically case manage them through an SSI case. It is very fulfilling work. Very detailed and can be tedious, but ultimately rewarding. It is a call center environment. I learn alot every day. The hardest part is keeping from burning out. The most enjoyable part is the people i work with. We are a close team.
Pros
Friendly environment, free healthy snacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run, run as fast as you can elsewhere
Case Manager II (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAJanuary 21, 2018
this is a call center nothing more, warm leads and cold supervisors.
typical day - call about 75-100 people a day, ask each person 305 +/- questions and you have to do it under 20-30 min (30 min being that you're pushing it)

MICROMANAGED TO THE MAX, TRUST ME YOU'LL FIND A BETTER 14-16$ PAYING JOBS ELSEWHERE

the most enjoyable part of the job - free food and clocking out

this job will emotionally drain you its not worth it.
Pros
Coworkers are in the same boat
Cons
Micromanaged
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Benefits Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAFebruary 4, 2018
Learn so much started out as a clerk ended as an Benefits Eligibility Coordinator. I love being able to help the community. It was a great job benefits were awesome
Pros
Alternative work schedule
Cons
Starts really early in the morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  USAJanuary 21, 2018
Usually I am reception and we set up the work space. then during the day we evaluate patients and give them health advice to help them meet their yearly goals.
Pros
occasionally free food
Cons
contract work not year round
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Eligibility Case Mgr (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 22, 2018
While there was still work to do, the workflow was great, I enjoyed keeping busy. Management was great, which always makes the work atmosphere a better place.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Work flow decreased
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place to Work - 5 Stars are fake reciews!!
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chatsworth, CAOctober 7, 2017
First of all, the 5 star are all fake reviews. This place has me mentally scarred for life. Everyday I come in worrying if it will be my last. At the end of the day it is typical to check around and see of HR would be coming your way. Please unless you are truly for a paycheck, and not a career stay away! My life has changed so much, my marriage has faltered and i have been hit with depression.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Management, expectations that are outrageous, willing to put fake reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Health Advocates. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 58 reviews
522
48
312
25
111

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture