Hearthside Food Solutions Employee Reviews

Showing all 312 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Wenona, ILNovember 8, 2018
They dont work with you on sick days or days needed off. They also want to work you as much as they possibly can. Most of the co workers are nice but the office people are very rude and not helpful at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manufacturing food
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 5, 2018
good working environment and enough hours to work.i have been to this company for 2 and half years but i wasn't get hired and i have decided to move in key plastics llc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of concern for employees
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 5, 2018
Went from 2 foreman on 1 line down to 1 then when another line was started did not get any help even though kept promising for 8 months. Kept being told maintenance issues were not in budget and machine reliability kept going down
Cons
long hours and very little time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Machine Operator/Mixer (Current Employee) –  London, KYNovember 5, 2018
Pays good, gets slow at times during the cold weather. Need time in at the place to be able to get to work in slow times. Schedule sucks because its posted daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow and learn.
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 1, 2018
HFS is fast and flexible. Lots of experience with many diffferent products. During my time at this company I have been able to launch several new products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INOctober 24, 2018
Otj, training. A lot of work. Good money for the area. Learned a good trade. Unlimited overtime. Average schedule . No reimbursement for tools . Poor management.
Pros
Local company
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced co packer
Continuous Improvement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNOctober 22, 2018
Hearthside foods is a fast paced Copacker and I enjoyed my time with them.
It's fast paced with multpile changeovers .
The production for the most part is well managed.
Pros
Pay was good
Cons
Short breaks, corporate interference at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assembly line worker
Packer (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INOctober 2, 2018
At typical day at Hearthside is I work 5:50 am to 2:00pm on assembly line packing. In the 19 years there I have learned many different packer jobs. Management could be a little shaper.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, fast paced
Hi-Lo Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 27, 2018
Was a decent place to work at first ,then managment does not do there job and sees and heaes what they want , pay is ok but not for the work that is needed amd when you do certain things out of your way it is un noticed
Pros
Paid lunch
Cons
Short lunch bad managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INSeptember 27, 2018
I package product for distribution, I feel management looks down on us, and I wanna further my horizon. I don’t feel I am able to be all that I can be at Hearthside Food Solutions. I don’t feel comfortable with some of the product they distribute
Pros
Paid weekly
Cons
Bad employee contact from upper
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and stressfull place to work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 25, 2018
It is a great place to work although feels like a slave boat. We did a lot more than what paid for. The supervisors do not care mucho for their employees. Even after injuries they are not taken care of immediately. And are careless and somewhat racist
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Maintenance Mechanic Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 15, 2018
Decent place to work. Good benefits. Usually as much overtime as you want. Production is Union but not a very strong one. Maintenance works a lot of weekends.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay not great
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Maintenance Mechanic Journeyman (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 2, 2018
Decent benefits but not great pay. The hourly workers are unionized but not with a real strong union. Typically the hourly workers work an 8 hour day but overtime is almost always an option on the weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of work and stay busy
Machine Operator/Packer (Current Employee) –  London, KYAugust 30, 2018
Like the job keeps a steady pace and gives me plenty of hours. This job is well paced but is a very hot place to work also keeps you on your feet in a very hot work area.
Pros
Good training for new positions
Cons
Hot enviroment works in very hot smothering conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
H1 Maintenance Manager is a 60yo baby.
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 27, 2018
Maintenance has great talent, over 60% looking for alternative work though. This is due to the 60yo toddler, and the 32yo teenage girl they have for leadership.
Cons
Working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of leadership
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  Gibson City, ILAugust 27, 2018
The job is filled with a lack of direction and training bad leadership and unhelpful management. The company is filled with mix culture which causes a language issue.
Pros
None
Cons
Lack of Communication, language Barrier, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  Wenona, ILAugust 21, 2018
overall normal factory position, fairly easy, and good managers. quick pace environment, nice associates, great production and sanitation is the best department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend
Mixing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Michigan City, INAugust 18, 2018
The plant is operated and planned day by day. A majority of the planning is not communicated. The turnover at the plant is very high. People who have been around awhile are quitting. New hires will not stay around because they are not trained properly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Shift Supervisor/Maintenance Technician Level 3 (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNAugust 15, 2018
This is a fun place to work. Good amount of job satisfaction. Good work life balance. Fair teamwork. Quite a bit of cattiness. Many departments working in silos.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a decent work place.
SHIPPING ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MNAugust 8, 2018
Hearthside foods is a decent job, there many different opportunities within the plants. I didn't find it to be a hard job personally.

At hearthside foods there are different levels the you can climb. in the warehouse where I work, there is level 1, level 2 and level 2 plus reach truck. everyone is paid the same amount of money for what level they are, level 2 plus reach truck being at the top pays $17.66 an hour.

My overall stand point is hearthside is a decent job but don't expect to climb the ladder while spot do become available, a forklift operator can easily make more money than a supervisor just by working overtime.
Pros
not a difficult job
Cons
the surrounding jobs pay more
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hearthside Food Solutions. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 312 reviews
541
481
385
253
152

See reviews about

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture

Ratings from women

1.6InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

1.7Career Opportunities

1.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight