Henry Booth House Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Think twice before you work
Manager (Former Employee) –  ChixagiApril 19, 2018
The CEO is messy loves to be in the day to day operations. Always listen to one side of a store of a situation . Feels he is untouchable because the board members are his friends. Will threaten your jib on adaily basis. Does not like to give raises.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Messy bosses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Place of Service
Financial Department Temp (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60616March 12, 2018
I did not enjoy working here. The management team was awful and unorganized, the building it is located in is old and creaky. It was not an enjoyable experience.
Pros
sitting down
Cons
unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non profit organization, people are usually nice
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 11, 2018
work with clients very closely
some of the co-workers are lazy
the hardest part is to communicate with clients, reject their benefits
the most enjoyable part of the job is very relax working environment.
Pros
Free luch
Cons
Healthy insurance doesn't cover well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will be challenged to be successful, but beware of unrealistic expectations
Manager head start (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 20, 2017
Newly appointed Program Director is wonderful, honest and fair. CEO unrealistic, wants corporate perspectives in a human services.

Be careful of CEO
Pros
Seasoned leadership in the early leaning progam
Cons
CEO is way too involved in the day to day. Doesnt let his team work for thw company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improving
N/A (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 2, 2017
Great company, but needs room for improvement culturally.

Henry Booth House is a non-profit organization and helps children and families throughout the Chicago land area.
Pros
being able to work for a company who mission is to help children and save families
Cons
not enough team support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Childcare
ERSEA COPA Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 15, 2017
I really enjoyed working here because I got to help and ensure children were a part of receiving on early education. We also assisted the families with various services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Land Where time Stood Still
Family Community Engagement Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 15, 2017
OK place to work but no retirement plan and no chance of advancement. If you don't mind working for an unethical, tyrannical CEO you'll love it there.
Pros
casual workplace
Cons
No integrity at managerial level
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 3, 2015
I was a teacher assistant working with chinese children, helping with in class/outdoor activities. I was cleaning the facility as well, helping with class trips. It was a summer job for After School Matters.
Pros
Working with children
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Education Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 30, 2014
Poor Management with know real direction of how to be successful. Professionals were talked to like children. Bias and favoritism was evident for certain employee. Certain staff was not given respect.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentoring ladies/my love for children
Mentor and Youth Volunteer/Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 3, 2014
I was a joy working Henry Booth House. I was a teacher"s aide and I love children, seeing those cute little faces in the morning was adorable. I learned how to care for my daughter there. My boss loved me. The teachers were nice. The hardest part was watching the kids graduate I missed them. But overall great experience.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
getting attached to the children
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about Henry Booth House?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive workplace
Youth Development Program Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chicago ILJanuary 22, 2014
This was one of the best experiences i have had thus far. During this volunteer work i got to interact with different children from different age groups and cultures. A typically day is filled with activities to keep kids active and healthy.
Pros
field trips, free lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and rewarding place to work.
Youth Development Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 20, 2013
A typical day would start off by arriving to work and getting our plans ready for the day or reviewing plans that were already made. I learned that you can get so much more from a job rather than just a pay check. Management was very helping and my co-workers were awesome. The hardest part of the job was losing children and the most enjoyable part was knowing that what I was doing was helping someone.
Pros
Making a difference in someone's life.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible place to work at
Family and Community Involvement Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 29, 2013
Flexible place to work at
Vacation benefit is excellent
Management is not organized but good place to get experience.
Pros
great benefit
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social service agency
Health Educator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 17, 2013
Social service agency that aids women, children and families. Very diverse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Henry Booth House Programs really paid off in the end.
Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 29, 2012
I typed all correspondence for the Head Start program and had to train the person who took over my position. The people I worked with were okay and I learned a lot there. The hardest part of the job was having to be trained to punch in on a time card, but once I got the hang of it, it was easy. The most enjoyable part of the job was going to galas for the agency.
Pros
learning new techniques and making money.
Cons
being called away from the office to assist with other work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Human Resources Assistant (contractual) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 19, 2012
Henry Booth House is a detail oriented, fast paced and overall friendly working environment. As an employee of the HR Department my day-to-day duties include: monitoring credentials and qualifications of childcare employees.
Pros
challenging duties, friendly atmosphere, flexibility
Cons
no health benefits for contractual employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Henry Booth House. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 17 reviews
51
48
33
23
12

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Henry Booth House Reviews by Location