Herc Rentals Employee Reviews

Found 222 reviews matching the search See all 261 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee turn-over capital
Territory Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 13, 2019
1st week of being employed, I encountered so many disgruntle employees and very little support from anyone. RUN and don't look back! WORST PLACE EVER!
Pros
Freedom and car expense
Cons
Everything else!!! Fromm management, culture and training (limited)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good with bad
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARFebruary 6, 2019
Outside sales was somewhat enjoyable but there seemed to be a tendency to give accolades to numbers with no attention to where the numbers come from, it seemed to me work ethic & effort were not necessarily traits that were worth positive attention.
With the company for 21 years, that being 18.5 years as a sales rep and 2.5 or so as a manager with my release by the company for performance issues as a manager being completed without the consideration of a severance package says a lot in my opinion.
Pros
Outside sales role is relatively easy
Cons
Disposable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start
SALES AND OPERATIONS COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Clayton, NCFebruary 1, 2019
Good start for the heavy equipment sector. Best bet is to get into outside sales. Coordinators make very little for doing many jobs. Recognition is limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good environment
Shop Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winston, GAJanuary 28, 2019
Not the best years of my life, overbearing management, unrealistic expectations. No concept of the job of their team. No team work or cooperation Micro managed to death.
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Stressful Job
Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAJanuary 21, 2019
No growth or promotions but you do get trained to operate heavy Equipment which is cool and lots of vacation hours. Doing a 3 person job does get pretty stressful
Pros
Working and operating Heavy Equipment
Cons
Long Stressful days usually
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Herc Rentals
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee) –  Bonita Springs, FLJanuary 18, 2019
Herc Rentals has a good mission statement with the ability of helping their new employees. Some of their communication methods are not proactive. The benefits the company provides are great with a more than fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intolerant management
Yard Worker (Current Employee) –  French Camp, CAJanuary 17, 2019
The manager there is too emotional. He gets aggressive very quickly and suddenly. They promise advancement, but never follow through. There are some employees here that will stab you in the back. Terrible place to work but if you need the job it's a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Heavy Equipment Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJanuary 15, 2019
They do not want a service field tech to punch on the clock when they leave their house and if you clock in minutes before pulling in the gate that is wrong too. However the branch manager has no problem calling you at 5am to come boost off his truck on your own personal time in the middle of sleeping, so he can go to the gym and lift weights.
Pros
Health Benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoidance recommended
Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaJanuary 10, 2019
Poor senior and executive management. No communication. Very high stress, toxic environment, that expects you to work every hour of every day! My takeaway from this company / position = NO LIFE outside of work. My recommendation is to avoid this place. Very high turn-over rate for employees. They will use you until your worn out and then let you go as a "At-Will" employee, meaning no just cause for release of employment. They will walk you out of the building as if you are dead to them.
Pros
Garage parking if you get to work early
Cons
No loyalty or backing by upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I ever worked
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 7, 2019
Company seems to be a good company but extremely poor management in the MD territory. You are just a number to them. Horrible training. They micro manage you.It is their way or no way when it comes to them managing you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company overall but horrible dispatcher
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 27, 2018
Good company to work for unless You work in the Portland branch, the dispatcher is a idiot and the senior driver is a backstabbing SOB. Having worked at 2 other branch locations and loved my job at both of them, working in Portland was miserable. There was a lot of backstabbing and micro managing with the dispatcher. If You were his buddy than You took your favorite driver to lunch weekly while everyone else continued to work.
Pros
Never Boring a lot of vacation
Cons
Dispatcher
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much backstabbing
Order to Cash (Former Employee) –  Bonita Springs, FLDecember 11, 2018
This company seemed like a great way to move up - at first. Then I saw individuals getting promoted just because they knew someone who was more “liked”. These people were incompetent as well, including management. Doesn’t know their own process and just throw you to out to drown. People don’t care about you here and they will for no reason just throw you under the bus. I was also verbally attacked my supervisors. Very unprofessional and do not recommend.
Pros
Paid time off
Cons
Everything else, this place is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran by incompetent people
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Pacheco, CADecember 10, 2018
This company is horrible and ran by complete idiots. They promote incompetent loosers to management positions. They look for reasons to fire or harass long time dedicated employees because they say they make to much money. At one point they were closing down branches and firing people for no reason other than to make there numbers for the investors. A manager even told me one time that "equipment is not guaranteed to work it's guaranteed to be there". I would advice no one to work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work i wouldn't want my worst enemy to work there
Yard Boss (Former Employee) –  Deer Park, TXDecember 4, 2018
No room at all for advancement, only had one manager that cared about the job while the rest had no idea what they were doing. Hard work gets you nowhere but doing other peoples job when they dont want to do it. I had high Hopes for this company when I started and it was a huge disappointment for me.
Pros
Able to learn to operate equipment for when you leave the job, and mechanics are a great group of guys willing to teach you
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Senior Lien Release Agent (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKDecember 2, 2018
The environment was friendly and professional. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with great co-worker and supervisors. The Benefits was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management and facilities, and not safe
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VANovember 27, 2018
work bay area too small for the big equipment (excavators, etc.) to maneuver safely or work on safely. welding equipment inadequate for welding heavy equipment safely. shop foreman does not restock nuts/bolts or order parts correctly or timely. Coworker injured on job do to unsafe conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excessive Hours and high Stress
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJNovember 18, 2018
As the lead coordinator the job can be extremely stressful. I worked 60 hours a week as the coordinator and it was unreal. Extremely stressful to achieve daily tasks with traffic, and trucks crashing. New York is a unique market.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a clear and defined strategy
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 14, 2018
I believe the company would like to grow at the national level however the local management is happy with the status quo. There isn't a clear and defined strategy for growth.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
No growth opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Herc is a joke - likely to go out of business after Sears!!
Branch manager. (Former Employee) –  Michigan.November 12, 2018
Poor management, lack of staffing, no training, no equipment, let’s go compete with Home Depot rental!!! Does not take care of employees or customers. Equipment is old and not maintained. Management is clueless. 60+ hour work week for branch managers. Scared to lose your job every day. They give you vacation days, but your phone rings off the hook 24/7 and you get verbally assaulted if you don’t carry it and answer all of the time. Need I say more? Crazy high turnover and ran by management that doesn’t have a clue about equipment.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job not so great place to work
Yard Jockey (Former Employee) –  Romulus, MINovember 7, 2018
overall aspect of the job is great. everyone the overall worked well with one another. the company as a whole is not heading in a good path. was promised a mechanic position and when it came time to promote they had budget issues so i was not able to be promoted
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Herc Rentals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 261 reviews
559
469
353
237
143

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture