Heritage Behavioral Health Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJuly 7, 2018
Heritage is a fast-paced place to work!

Heritage has a warm and family-like environment where staff work hard yet care about each other.

The most enjoyable part of working at Heritage was helping people. Working at Heritage, you feel like you are making a difference and seeing the improvement in people is fulfilling.

Heritage offers training opportunities on-site several times per month for professional growth. There is such a variety of experience and expertise from staff to learn from. If you want additional responsibilities in the agency and demonstrate the skills and abilities, there are opportunities to do so.
Pros
Training opportunities, clinical staff, and the variety of programs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience there was very good. I learned a lot
Substance Abuse Counselor Intern (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJune 12, 2018
IT was a pleasure to work in the drug court area of the substance abuse department while at Heritage. The people were nice and encouraged me to learn and grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glorifed babysitter
Resident Specialist (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMay 4, 2018
I don't know where to start, expects the work load of 3 people for a single person's pay. I worked as an RSA and would work 16 hours without a break or lunch break. We worked as a glorified babysitter, counselor, and novelist in order to just get through an 8 hour shift.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substance Abuse Case Manager
Substance Abuse Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMarch 22, 2018
I held the SA Case Manager position for 6 months. This is not just Rehab clients!!!! You have 200 plus clients in outpatient. You will go between two buildings and offices! You have production goals that must be met!! They are vital and with clear knowledge and understanding of your expectations you can succeed. Your 4th floor manager is a exceptional person. Your program manager is fair and full of knowledge. Make sure you ssk, ask, ask. Rely on their info ONLY! IT'S THEY WHO ARE YOUR SUPERVISORS@. Not that seasoned staff don't have good ideas for you, just verify with supervisors before doing. It's a great compamny! I hated yo leabe, but life happens.
There are some long term employees there that are very clikish, stay clear of that. Be ready to hit the ground running, refer to your notes, and ask for guidence.
I loved the job, but didn't have sufficient training on the floor. Watch your guidelines and follow them.
Take your lunches!!
Pros
Team work and helpfulness
Cons
Some clicks . Please avoid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most stressful environment
Residential Specialist (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMarch 14, 2018
This place was fun at first. Bosses started putting more in us than we were even qualified for. There was never any help and there is always a huge turn around at this place for good reason.
Pros
Helping people
Cons
No breaks even on a 16 hour shift and low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress, low pay but progress of client's is very rewarding
Community Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJanuary 5, 2018
I worked for HBHC for around 15 years. I loved working with the client's and seeing their successes. I would definitely work at HBHC again however pay is very poor.
Pros
Co-workers work closely together as a team
Cons
High paced and paperwork is overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright work place
Casemanager (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILNovember 9, 2017
This company worked well with their clients. This company helped their staff through school by helping paying the cost. This company have many groups for their clients to attends.
Pros
Helpful
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Community Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMay 11, 2017
One of my most favorite jobs ever hated having to leave there to relocate. Cant say anything bad about this agency. I was able to take with me an amazing variety of skills to help me in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to service others
Williams Quinn Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILDecember 29, 2016
A typical day is centered around helping the severe mental illness population. There is not much room for advancement. The most difficult part of the job is the mental health system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities
Practicum Counselor (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILFebruary 2, 2014
Good opportunities to run groups, work with inpatient or outpatient clients, intensive detox clients, and drug court offenders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work and grow
Residential Specialist (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILDecember 27, 2013
Great Place, Employees are amazing. A wonderful place to grow and advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILJuly 20, 2013
typical day is good
I learned who to talk to and not
management no good
co-workers excellent
nothing
the clients
Pros
job
Cons
no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Substance Abuse Intern (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILJuly 13, 2013
I enjoyed working in this facility, although it was an internship, they really made me feel a part of the team.
Pros
Helping People recover
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Entitlement Corrdinator (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILJanuary 4, 2013
Very good place to work for,never the same thing on a daily basis.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
low pay, not state funded
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to make a difference
Case manager (Former Employee) –  IllinoisFebruary 26, 2012
HBHC was a great place to jump start my career. They have a small company family type culture.
Pros
flexible
Cons
hard to advance due to small size
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Heritage Behavioral Health Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16 reviews
57
43
33
22
11

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Heritage Behavioral Health Center Reviews by Location