HHS
Happiness rating is 48 out of 100
2.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

HHS Pay & Benefits reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

Clear
2.9Work-Life Balance
2.6Pay & Benefits

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 19 reviews matching the searchSee all 64 reviews

HHS insights

Based on 214 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
Is this information useful?

Management is poor

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Management plays favorites and loves to pick the wrong people to help succeed and progress. No discipline for anyone unless your an employee that they consider a threat to themselves and you try to do the right thing. I would never recommend this company until management changes. I made many new friends here and got 2 promotions in 3 months. But none of my friends are even here anymore. They all left or got fired. And now I am in a position I’ll never get a raise in or progress to more as the years go by.

Pros

I can’t give any anymore

Cons

So much, don’t even know where to begin
Was this review helpful?

Horrible company to work for.

In the 2 years I've been an employee with hhs. I have seen unqualified people receive high end positions / promotions. Corporate take money right from peoples pay . Demand insurance through them. Highly unprofessional work ethics. Favoritism in the work place. People are not treated equally. Promised one pay but then takes money away from our hourly rate due to the manager making a mistake upon hiring and giving us the wrong information.

Pros

None

Cons

Horrible insurance rates. Favortism. Unprofessional
Was this review helpful?

Terrible place to work

You get paid nothing to be put into situations where you come in contact with every kind of sickness out there. Horrible place to earn a living. Would not recommend

Pros

No free lunches

Cons

Barely get to sit down
Was this review helpful?

I love my job but the culture is a little rough

I love my job. I love my employees. My director is helpful and definitely pushes me to be successful . My VP seems to be nice. I haven’t had a lot of experience with her yet. I relocated for this position and was really excited. A month in, I can see why there’s high turn over. There isn’t a healthy work/life balance. I miss my wife ( we just got married) and skipped our honeymoon for me to take this job. I understand this is healthcare and it never stops, but I believe work/life could be achieved with the right resources put in place. I also can see why there’s high turn over of employees. My team just got a raise which is fabulous, but I have a couple of employees who have spent 10, 20 and 30 years working at this account. I find it shameful that those people are making exactly the same amount as the new employees coming in. This place is all they know and barely making a living wage after spending a lifetime working for this hospital. The morale is very low due to the high turn over of leadership. They don’t trust anyone, and I can’t say I don’t blame them. I guess at the end of the day it boils down to the dollar over employees. If it weren’t for our housekeepers, we wouldn’t have jobs. Our hospitals would be filthy. I almost feel as if they are treated as 2nd class citizens.

Pros

Healthcare

Cons

No work/life balance, no pay scale for tenured housekeepers
Was this review helpful?

Not so great

Not paid enough for the amount of work you do. No raises worked over a year with no raise. No room for advancement and alot of favoritism shown. Was promised a raise several times never got it
Was this review helpful?

Your experience matters.

Help out others considering your employer. Rate your employer.

Productive and comfortable enviroment

Very ice place to work, the people are very helpful and everyone is willing to work together. Annual inventory is conducted once every year, you also manage surplus and audits.

Pros

flexible

Cons

not much opportunity for raises
Was this review helpful?

Very good place to work

I loved working here, people are very friendly but kept to themselves. Work is easy but doesn’t mean it doesn’t get tiring. Good pay and hours, loved working here

Pros

Able to get bigger positions

Cons

Never know when work ends
Was this review helpful?

Ok company to work for.

Ok coming to work for. Not my forever job for sure but it pays the bills for now. If someone needed a job and wanted to work with this company, I'd say honestly I wouldn't but if you need a job go, it pays ok.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

June 28, 2021
I’m sorry that you didn’t have a good experience with HHS. At this location, we’ve received positive feedback regarding our team culture, so I’m disappointed to hear that your experience didn’t match that. I encourage you to contact me at bobbyf@hhs1.com to discuss further. Thank you for your time with HHS and I wish you all the best. Thank you,Bobby Floyd, HHS CEO

Muy buen ambiente,buen trato

Necesitan pagar mejor y contratar más personal para rendir mejor en el trabajo. Tienen que escoger bien al personal hay personas que no trabajan a conciencia.

Pros

El salario es muy poco el seguro médico cobran mucho para una familia.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

June 14, 2021
¡Gracias por ser un miembro valioso de nuestra familia de HHS! Me alegra que disfrute de su entorno de trabajo y que lo traten con respeto. Hablé con el vicepresidente de su región y se compartió que hemos estado trabajando con nuestro socio para aumentar los salarios en este lugar. A partir de esta semana, pudimos aumentar los salarios de $12 a $13.25 y esperamos seguir proporcionando aumentos de manera incremental. También enviamos reclutadores al área para ayudar con la dotación de personal. Agradezco sus comentarios y lo animo a que se comunique con su gerente si tiene más sugerencias de mejora. ¡Gracias nuevamente por su dedicación a HHS! Gracias,Bobby Floyd, HHS CEO

Run, as fast as you can away from this place.

HHS (the housekeeping department) at Redmond Regional Medical Center (a HCA Hospital). It's by far one of the worst places you could every decide to work. The benefits, are almost non-existing, the insurance is expensive and does not cover much if anything. The whole department is completely messed up. Third shift has no access to equipment they need if they was to run out mid shift as they lock it up when second shift leaves, and third shift have no access to the keys. The management team is a joke, there is not a first shift assistant director, the actual director don't come in until around 9 a.m., the second shift assistant director leaves 30 minutes to an hour and a half early. So if you work third shift and you have a issue that you need management for, you're coming up here on your time off. Unless you're friends or family with someone who already works here, they're going to treat you bad until you leave. And if you are friends with the right people you get away with more stuff. I seen them promote a housekeeper to team lead that's been caught sleeping on the job three times. I myself was accused of stealing, a month later they claimed event security (G4S) was still looking into the matter. I myself had already spoke with the head of security (G4S), and they said they was done looking into it the next day. The hospital is a great place, however the housekeeping Department is horrible. Dr. Thomas Frist Sr the founder of HCA (the company that owns the hospital), once said "good people begets good people". If the man could see what's going on in the housekeeping Department - 

Pros

The only Pro about this job is it's indoors.

Cons

Everything else about this place is a con.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

August 10, 2020
I’m sorry to hear that you had a poor experience working with HHS. I spoke with the regional vice president to learn more about the issues you outlined. There was a brief period of time where the facility was short two assistant directors, which required an adjustment in our management team’s hours to best support the hospital. While we empowered supervisors to step up and help fill these roles in the interim, there were times when not all hours of the day could be covered. These positions have since been filled. Regarding matters of theft and sleeping on the job, HHS does not tolerate this behavior, and employees found doing so are immediately terminated. If these behaviors are reported to management, we investigate the issue at hand to determine if there is sufficient evidence to support the accusation. I am sorry that you felt you were treated unfairly. Fair and equal treatment of our employees is a top priority for us as we want all of our team members to feel valued and respected. If you’d like to discuss this in more detail, you can contact me directly at bobbyf@hhs1.com. Thanks,Bobby Floyd, HHS CEO

St Petersburg Location is out of control

Racism and favoritism runs rampant. Raises are rarely given. Some have worked for years and only received .10 and .20 cent raises. Can't speak for management, but many of the floor crew are being overworked while a few others seem to be allowed to do as they wish. This creates a very hostile environment. We handle solid waste and biohazard. I have caught several flus and colds while working there. Paying workers 10.00 an hour in these conditions is tantamount to cruelty. That is below the poverty level in any state. What the market median is...is irrelevant. Step up or fail HHS.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

January 9, 2020
Your accusations of racism and favoritism are concerning. We have several hospitals that we serve in your market, but if you’d email me directly at BobbyF@hhs.com it will help us in our investigation. Regarding wages and raises, our structure is set up to pass along annual increases from our facility partner to team members in accordance with tenure and performance. I am sorry you took ill while working at the hospital, but the healthcare industry employs many people around the world, and, if they follow the proper procedures for handling waste and using personal protective equipment and proper hand hygiene, they should not be getting sick at work. Our processes for handling waste have been tested and vetted, and are in accordance with CDC requirements. I’m sorry that things didn’t work out with HHS and I wish you the best of luck.Bobby Floyd, CEO, Healthcare Division

Ok

Currently working there still management is not professional schedule changes every week refuses to get help and most of the jobs require more than one person for the job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

December 20, 2019
I’m sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with HHS so far. I brought your concerns to the local and regional team and obtained some information about our situation at your facility. I can assure you, nobody is refusing to get help, but admittedly it’s still a work in progress building a solid team to stabilize the schedule and make sure there is equitable workload for all. We are working on this, and your director has our support in building this team and developing a culture of accountability and reliability in the department that best serves the patients. If you have specific concerns about your job requirements or management team, I’d like to encourage you to reach out to your VP for help or to contact the OneTeam Helpline at 800-229-2028.Thank you,Bobby Floyd, CEO, Healthcare Division

Great Place to start...

HHS is a great place to start your career. The corporate office has a great atmosphere and decent compensation and benefits package. I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

December 6, 2019
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with HHS. It’s great to hear that you enjoy working at the HHS Home Office and that you have found the compensation and benefits package to be fair. We do have many people who come to HHS early in their careers, and we’ve had many employees stay with us through the years to grow their career alongside the company. With many types of positions here at the office, there are a number of opportunities both for those starting out and for others who already have many years of experience. Thanks again for sharing your feedback and for all of your continued hard work.Brian Weed, HHS CEO

Poor management and pay

Management acted like they had never "managed" before, no authority; good employees were mistreated,over worked and over looked and unreliable/dishonest employees were not held accountable for mistakes or things they were no ot supposed to do; there was no set starting pay amount, it pretty much was whatever HR had "budgeted" for (what a crock) annual raises were based off of what the hospital account had budgeted which was never very much
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

December 20, 2019
I’m sorry that you did not have a good experience with HHS, but I greatly appreciate your insights. I asked our EVP to look into your comments, and also have a town hall meeting with all of our team members to get their feedback First, I’d like to start by saying that we have made a change in leadership at this hospital since the time of your comments. The feedback we received during the town hall is that a lot of the concerns that you had have been greatly improved since the new director came on board, and that with the support of HHS and the hospital we are making headway in staffing as well. We have corrected our hiring rates and reset to our policy, as we had gotten off-base. The team members with discrepancies have now been corrected While I believe that we have made great progress since the new leadership team has been in place, I recognize that there are still some opportunities for improvement, including improving weekend management and securing new equipment. We are working to support our leaders in this initiative, and the hospital has been a great partner in working to obtain the appropriate equipment and resourcing. Thanks again for your honest and helpful feedback. I’m sorry that things didn’t work out with HHS and I wish you all the best in the future.Thanks,Bobby Floyd, CEO, Healthcare Division

CDM, Food Service Director, Senior Living

Although I’ve only been with HHS 6 months, I find this company very decent to work for! Compensation for a job well done is great! There is also great support from my Seniors!

Pros

Pay, Pto, excellent insurance benefits (Director), Very family oriented culture

Cons

Slight apprehension if a contract is ending about a new location maybe requiring a transfer
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

November 2, 2018
I’m glad to hear that you are happy with your career with HHS, and that you’re satisfied with your compensation, benefits, and the culture that you’ve found within the company. We work very hard to make sure all of our team members feel great about our company and culture .I understand your apprehension about the possibility of needing to transfer locations as this is oftentimes a reality in our industry. Since we are a company that is spread out across the country, it sometimes means needing to relocate in order to advance within the company. The key is working hard to care and serve our residents to the best of our ability and we keep our contracts for a very long time .If you have questions or concerns I would be happy to speak with you about it. Please feel free to contact me directly at ksvagdis@hhs1.com.Thank you,Kevin Svagdis, CEO, Senior Living Division

An ok job,but its a dead end job that dosent secure your future.

HHS is an ok job,but to me its only meant as a starter job.As a 25year old male im looking to find a job that could secure my future with 401k.im looking for a job with a staff that is motivational,and is equipped with managers who notice you and your efforts to put in good work.

Pros

Kind nurses.

Cons

Bad management.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from HHS

October 4, 2018
Moving up in the company does require a lot of motivation, dedication, and overall hard work - but the majority of our promotions come from within. If you are interested in growing your career with HHS, please speak with your manager to learn what may be needed for you to advance your career, or your regional vice president (their name and number is posted on the electronic message board in the break room at your hospital). We are always looking for motivated individuals such as yourself, so I hope that you will look further into this.Thanks and best of luck!Bobby Floyd, COO

The work can be rewarding

The job can be stressful but can be rewarding. The benifits are nice and better then most other jobs. Co workers are not only nice but very helpful. You are given training and continual training as new policies and systems are developed.

Pros

Good benifits

Cons

Stress
Was this review helpful?

i just lik to work

I LIK GOING TO WORK. I enjoy workin around others.DA hardest thing about a job probably is getting started an da most enjoyable part probably at da end of da day finshin my job.
Was this review helpful?

Not a good company to work for

Not a good company to work for management is not friendly the director is a pig and d0n't even speaks to the africa american workers.. Oh we haven"t even got a raise and I been there for 3 years .. Last but not least the work for one person is just out right ridiculous during like 2 areas up and down on the elevators. The director barely comes to the morning meetings!

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HHS. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7

Based on 64 reviews
5
11
4
11
3
12
2
8
1
22

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.6Culture

Women's ratings

4.3Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by  Fairygodboss

Compare HHS with

  • Companies
  • HHS
  • Employee Reviews
  • Pay & Benefits