Hi-Tec Building Services Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 52 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Takes advantage of good workers no accountability of bad ones
Custodian (Current Employee) –  MIJanuary 15, 2019
It’s amazing we got a new contract lots of turnover some good workers some horrible but no corrective actions ever taken takes good workers for granted to bail out lousy ones, nice customers no supervision ever if your lazy as heck but you show up that’s all that matters. They post new jobs saying Monday trough Friday but lots of weekend after hired they lie to get people to get hired then drop the bad news. Most unprofessional manager I’ve ever seen anywhere hires family members and harasses all others, unbelievable turnover. A true joke of a company that oversees nothing and personal medical information will be shared by management to anyone.
Pros
Generally nice customers
Cons
No chance for advancement lousy pay no benefits lack of supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
TEAM LEAD (Former Employee) –  Rochester Hills, MIApril 2, 2018
This job is horrible. They lied when I interview with them and again in orientation.They told us after 90 days we will recieve our benefits but once 90 days passed it quickly went to 6 months.. once 6 months hit they refused to answer any questions about benefits. They hired newer employees in at 12 an hr but will lie and say that after 90 days they will go up 13 an hour but that never happend

The management is horrible. They never respond . I do not believe that they talk to each other because you will request a day off with their HR manager but the DM will say you did a no call no show because they never communicate with one another.

They do not care about the safety of their employee or anything to do with their employees. DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY. look up their reviews online
Pros
Pay was good
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iied to many times
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Portland, MIMarch 27, 2018
I was promised a key when i got hired in that i never recieved if the others were late i had to be also. Hours were cut when they lost a contract to part time i was hired full time to start. the two i worked with got away with anything and i was treated like dirt there. Pay was not great at all especially after cut in hours. I eventually ended up leaving after being promised my full time hours back and never getting them.Waited it out for two months.
Pros
monday through fridsy work week
Cons
pay, benefits, no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hi-Tec Building Services
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 21, 2018
Laid back work environment. Not the most satisfying work but you can make good money working the late shift hours. Management is decent and does their best to accommodate to employees life.
Pros
flexible hours, laid back
Cons
boring work
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Janitor Services (Former Employee) –  Jenison, MIJanuary 11, 2018
I did work for Hi-Tech Building long time ago. There were some poor judgement towd employees. The pay was good and the hours were good. Employee were fine to get along with.
Pros
poor
Cons
poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly under-managed, and very little pay
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Imlay City, MIDecember 31, 2017
This company treats their employees very poorly. Employees are sub-contracted and suffer the all the criticism the never present management should receive. No one was allowed full-time to avoid providing benefits. Management was never present. Many times the job supplies were also not available. Overall horrible company with little pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical of job expectation
Custodian/Janitor (Current Employee) –  Jenison, MINovember 10, 2017
no pay increases unless co gets an new contract at facility. very limited in advancement and benefits package costs are way too high. It is a fill in job until you find somthing else
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work
Custodial Building Lead (Current Employee) –  Jenison, MIOctober 8, 2017
Hi Tec carries the contracts for different schools and other places for custodial work. The work is not difficult. It is busy and physically demanding. There is a high rate of turnover in employees. There is no chance for raises because pay is based on the contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, bad pay
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 2, 2017
You're literally sweating bricks to clean the building you have for little pay .. no paid vacations, and the management is horrible! Favoritism was a huge problem
Cons
Underpaid, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy. Every major holidays and weekends off
Janitor (Current Employee) –  West Branch, MISeptember 5, 2016
You work alone except during summer. Management sucks and are constantly changing and make up rules and guidelines as they go. There is no good benefits, no 401ks, no retirements and no holiday pay unless you use your PTO days. You're lucky if you get pay raise that sticks for 2 months. Management will tell you that you can advance in the company but you don't. Pay checks are semi monthly, usually the 5th and the 21st of the month, unless one of those days are on a holiday then you would have to wait till the following day. Some mangement will try to sabotage you. (seen it happen with a coworker of mine)
The machines you would need to use for the summer breaks down a lot and you dont always have the products you will need to do your job. My coworkers and I would buy cleaning rags and gloves whenever we would run out and no, we don't get reimburse for it. Your title as a supervisor does not mean anything! Management will always cause drama and don't tell them about you're personal problems because they will tell everyone.
The hours varies depending on what position you get but you'll start at 3:30pm. In the summer you'll work in the mornings. This company is very picky about the times! Dont clock in/out a minute late or they'll get on you about it. You get one break and they are either 21 minutes or 30 minutes as long you work 7 hours or more.

The nice things about this job are the coworkers, they are the only reason why I still work for this company. You also have every weekend off and major holidays off as well which is always nice.
Pros
Coworkers, major holidays & every weekends off
Cons
No benefits, no holiday pay, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work alone
Costodian/Janitorial team member (Former Employee) –  Jenison, MIFebruary 13, 2016
Must be there or your area will not be clean.
My boss is fun and friendly but the higher management are not there to care for the employee.
No holiday treats or pay.
No one there to work with you.
Pros
can come anytime after school hours.
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a nice place to work
jantior (Former Employee) –  Jenison, MIJuly 22, 2014
get to work and start cleaning right away was on a time limit of how long you could be there
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low respect for younger employees
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Jenison, MIApril 24, 2013
Not enough on the job training, Pay was nice, work thru summer heat
Pros
good pay and hours
Cons
disrespectful towards youth
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 9Report

See more Hi-Tec Building Services reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hi-Tec Building Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 52 reviews
53
414
38
210
117

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
1.8Compensation/Benefits
2.0Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.4Culture