Highline Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 47 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great start
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAAugust 23, 2018
I think that library position got me off to great start in my employment experience. The people were very friendly and helpful and I felt productive. They really kept me busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun work place
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, WAMay 1, 2018
Productive Fun Work Place
A typical workday was very chill/relaxed
Hardest thing about the job would be trying to help multiple students at once
Culture is very unique
Pros
Breaks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAApril 16, 2018
Very good work environment. I learned a lot from working as an assistant for my first job it taught me more professionalism and communication with others. I developed many office environment skills such as typing, using excel documents, faxing documents, printing documents organizing documents.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to teach
Professor (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, WAMarch 15, 2018
I only got 1 year there, but it was ok. The support staff was great and the labs were well set up. The students want to learn so that is always a good thing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ASL tutor
ASL Tutor (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAJanuary 5, 2018
Assist the hearing student how to use ASL communication properly. Most of them were so well with their ASL. Most of them had a great of improving with their sign language. Most of them were doing well with their grades.
Pros
Assisting them to improve their sign language
Cons
Perhaps they sometimes misunderstand me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary positions do not pay very much
Photo Editor / Manager (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WADecember 15, 2017
This was a temporary position for me, a learning position. I didn't expect much, but I did learn a ton and it was helpful in my future goals. The professors at HCC are wonderful and the people there are such a pleasure to work with.
Pros
People, diversity
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct instructor
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAOctober 10, 2017
I enjoyed this job but there was very little training on the computer system. I had to find out how to use the computer system via YouTube videos. It was pretty stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse, fast paced and enjoyable
Program Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, WASeptember 11, 2017
Provide customers service via in-person, emails and phone, Answer questions, enroll students, provide direction. Supervise full-time, part-time and work study students.
Pros
I work with an fantastic team, I have a open minded, goal driven supervisor
Cons
Under staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grate Community
Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  WASeptember 5, 2017
Flexible working hours and good and professional colleagues
I love everything about this college even the hills, good for the health esp me. Staff and faculty are friendly and very helpful. I've learned alot and made a few friends. They made school easy and ma manageable. Join a club and expend your experience of culture and life..

Very diverse campus, many international students, bring an open mind and patience as not everyone necessarily shares the same kind of social norms. I found it enlightening but others may find it hard to converse with ESL students (especially online). Some classes are only offered online, it seems more are going this way! You have to be very self-disciplined so I'd prefer that they not be online-only, but it does offer flexibility.
Pros
Flexible sceduals
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work but I was dong work study!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAAugust 26, 2017
I worked at work force department in Highline College as an administrative assistant. I learnt a lot of stuff from this job. I recommend all brothers and sisters to work at this place. It has a great environment and a lot of good people around you which give you a lot of energy and encouragement. As well as this place is a great place to learn something.
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continuing education
Student (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAAugust 2, 2017
Remarkable campus with lots of parking. Great teaching staff and access to necessary learning tools with ease. Wide variety of course content and available very good.
Pros
Location, professional atmosphere, adequate breakroom and study rooms available.
Cons
Access from the main street somewhat awkward
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management, no stress
Utility Maintenance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAJune 16, 2017
Work-study job. Management was great and easy to work with. Gained lots of experience revolving around sports facility work. Work was stress free and lightly managed after initial training for work around the complex.
Pros
great manager, fair treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Environment
Success Center Assistant (Former Employee) –  Freeport, ILJune 1, 2017
Being a student-worker here was a wonderful experience. I was able to gain professional experience while completing my degree. I wish that I could keep this job after graduation.
Pros
Friendly co-workers and supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Monitor classroom, help assist (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAMarch 13, 2017
Loved working here but it was only for six months program though DSHS. So when the six months were up, I was just going to school and getting ready to have my daughter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment that cares about their community & mission.
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, WAFebruary 16, 2017
Typical Day - Teaching online classes and wielding Canvas (LMS) in creative ways to engage students with e-learning solutions that maximize their learning outcomes.

Areas of growth included - Time Management, Team Building, E-Learning, Instructional Design, Integrated Learning Outcomes, and Video Tutorials.

Management - Staff was always very supportive & helpful.

Culture - A wonderful group of professionals doing what they're passionate about and providing integral support all the way around.

The hardest obstacle to overcome - Designing a curriculum and online classroom that worked for a diverse body of students that have different cultural backgrounds, or come from other countries.

The most rewarding aspect to my job - Watching my students make progress. Seeing their skill-sets grow each week, and making an impact with their personal & professional lives.
Pros
Freedom to do your job
Cons
Needs more staff parking slots
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work environment
English Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Des Moines, WAFebruary 8, 2017
Excellent place to work, positive environment, cultures from all over the world. Highline college has great programs such as the ESL program that offers English classes to immigrants for free.
Pros
Work ethic
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qualifications
Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAJanuary 18, 2017
1} Honest, reliable and dependable
2} Able and willing to learn new tasks
3} Punctual and dedicated
4} Hard working and a team player
5} Extremely friendly, people/person and patient
6} Flexible, independent and trustworthy
Cons
Would like to keep, move around and sitting shortly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Learning Excellence and Affordable Event Venue
Event & Venue Manager (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WANovember 8, 2016
The college provides a place for people from all walks of life and cultures to better themselves. Their large student union building is a great venue for weddings and other social events.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time hourly job; it was worth the time for the experience.
Office Assistant II Proctor (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAJune 4, 2016
I felt I was doing well working in Testing for the Semester, I was let go at the end of the semester. I have not been called again. It was a enjoyable experience overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One year internship
Network Lab Technician, Intern (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, WAMay 9, 2016
Was a perfect fit for an internship position where I could use the skills that I learned and put them into use in the same learning environment.
Pros
Flexible, great supervisor
Cons
Only one year internship
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Highline Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 47 reviews
531
49
35
20
12

See reviews about

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

Highline Community College Reviews by Location