HighTower Advisors Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hightower Advisor
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 13, 2018
My time at Hightower Advisors was very fulfilling. I had a opportunity to learn a lot about securities. Hightower overall, was a good work environment. The people there were extremely bright and professional. I would definitely give them a ten!
Cons
I wish I would have asked to becom a full time employe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely stressful with poor management
Private Wealth Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 9, 2018
The brokers that I worked for were my managers. They were not used to managing people and managed to turn all of their staff against them. The job had lulls, specifically on days before holidays, and yet the brokers would not accept leaving early (after market hours) even though the phone did not ring once all day. The brokers were constantly trying to manipulate the staff by making me the manager of the other staff, yet I was manager in their eyes only. It was not announced to the staff. Then a week later they would give all work to another staff member in an attempt to prove that I was not needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized firm
Former employee (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2018
Much confusion between what advisor teams want and what corporate can actually provide. Puts corporate employees in awkward position of answering to frustrated advisors looking for solutions.
Pros
Several free lunches
Cons
Firm is relentlessly recreating itself and not always for the better
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutthroat. Don't care about employees.
Mailroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 16, 2018
The summary says it all. I don't know what else to say. I had such high hopes when I first started with the organization. I left the company feeling beaten and defeated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company dosnt have the basics
RESEARCH ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 30, 2018
The resources provided at Hightower are sub standard for ultra high net worth clients. Basic portfolio correlations with alternative assets had to outsourced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not great
Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 15, 2017
management is not great and doesn't communicate with employees or each other, no one knows what they're doing, employees always scrambling to find a new job, very high turnaround
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging enviornment not made for everyone
Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2017
You work fast and move fast. That's great for career advancement but there's a huge risk to plateau and there isn't a ton of structure especially from middle management.
Pros
grow quickly
Cons
untrained management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Startup environment, no accountability
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 23, 2017
This is a good place to start if you want to get your foot in the door.

There seems to be revolving door for talent - most employees leave after 1 or 2 years at this firm.

Heavy with politics, management turns a blind eye to bad behavior.
People have been let go at this company for not agreeing with management. Career advancement is hard to come by, and work-life balance is nonexistent.
Pros
high energy
Cons
high employee turnover, no work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic
Operations Director (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 4, 2017
The people at Hightower are wonderful. I have never been short of helpful hands and colleagues with a wealth of knowledge. It is a young company but one with a bright future ahead.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative
DIRECTOR OF FIELD SUPPORT & COMPLIANCE (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 11, 2014
Firm has a creative idea
teams are open to new ideas and communication
if you have the right manager you can create your job
Pros
With the right manager you can create your job
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 10, 2013
Enjoyed working there. Friendly co-workers and great staff who is always willing to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 15Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HighTower Advisors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 12 reviews
51
43
32
21
15

Ratings by category

2.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.2Culture

HighTower Advisors Reviews by Location