Hilcorp Energy Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Senior Land Tech
Senior Land Tech (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 13, 2018
It was a great learning experiences as you were to treat your job as if you owned it. which I liked. But management was terrible as there was no direction on how things should be handled if you were doing something that the company did not like.
Pros
learning to think on your feet
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
production foreman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 10, 2018
Good company to work with but will big work loads. And on call 24/7 an get calls when on vacation and weekends. But they had good bonuses but not all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Production Accountant/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2018
Good place to work, good people, growing company, stable job, learned from great understanding boss, and other departments, great bonus plan and buy in plan
Pros
Good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
CONSTRUCTION FOREMAN (Current Employee) –  Zapata, TXJune 18, 2018
It is a good company to work for only that management is way to young and have different ideas. A typical day at work is a lot of running around which I liked very much. hardest part of the job trying to understand why we had ops manager changed every six to eight month. And the most enjoyable part of the job was the being out on the field doing repairs with a good crew.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Regulatory Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 30, 2018
Great company, great people
team spirit very good leadership
Wish they used a system like Oracle or SAP but Enertia works for their organization.

Great leadership - very kind, informative and patient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Mid Management
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 28, 2018
Unprofessional Communication and management.
Management are liers, Cut throats and back stabbers,
Lack of leadership within the field. Lack of communication between employees and Manager
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Unprofessional management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like making money its the place to be
Farmington (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMApril 13, 2018
If you like making money while being treated extremely poor this is the place to be. Communication, professional management, area knowledge is non existent. Nothing against a hard and honest days work but what they put you through and the disrespectful manner in which they do it is not worth the cut in pay.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Communication, Respect, Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and would like the opportunity to work there full time.
Front Desk Receptionist (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMApril 9, 2018
Very professional atmosphere. Everyone was very helpful and considerate of my being a temporary employee. Working conditions were outstanding. The most enjoyable part of the job was greeting visitors and interacting with clients waiting for appointments.
Pros
Great facility with comfort ammenities
Cons
Would have liked to be there longer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Land File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 3, 2018
I was hired as a contractor enjoyed my time and experience there would definitely go back if my supervisor was there. If contractors that work hard were actually offered full time permanent positions in a timely manner or were given better benefits that would be awesome.
Pros
Great place to work
Cons
No benefits for contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throats and back stabbers,
Roustabout (Former Employee) –  PAJanuary 24, 2018
No loyalty or safety precautions applied in the field. Work 20 plus hours some days and made to alter time cards. Lack of leadership within the field. Lack of communication between employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, but make sure team is a fit
Production Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 6, 2018
Amazing benefits, good salaries, great collaborative nature, and lots of ways to build camaraderie with coworkers. Not only organized by job titles, but grouped by location of work.
Pros
Benefits, salaries, beautiful office
Cons
Sometimes poor management, cutthroat coworkers, impersonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company that gives back to the people
Operator/ pumper (Former Employee) –  Vanderbilt,texasDecember 22, 2017
The operations were old school and you had to think about your job. the management was good and hands on . Had excellent bonuses.
Family oriented......
Pros
Good company and good benefits
Cons
I would work there again. I cant think of any cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work!
Risk Management Co-op (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 27, 2017
Absolutely wonderful company. Everyone is very nice and patient if you ask questions or need to learn anything new. The employee benefits are unmatched. Wish i could stay forever!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job lack of communication
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX 77002October 18, 2017
It was a great place to work, benefits were good and pay was good too. Just lacked a little bit of communication with supervisor. Helped fulfill lifelong dream.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working their.
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 6, 2017
This was a contract position that lasted 1.5 years. Excellent company tremendous work ethics and comradery. Could not say enough positive about this company. Work is intense but that is the nature of the oil and gas industry. My job was primarily focused on asset management and production enhancement. learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Records Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2017
I worked it little or no supervision
I learned a lot from my coworker
Management was great they were always there to listen
learning about oil wells, and how it all worked
working with the people
Pros
free breakfast, drinks
Cons
temp job only
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company to Work For
Field Intern (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 4, 2017
Hilcorp Energy Company always strives for excellence and safety. Being very results-oriented, the company may seem strict, but it's only because they want to reach their goals. Everyone is very nice and the work culture is centered around balancing work and family. Overall an awesome company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
SR. Administrative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 1, 2017
Hilcorp was a good company. For the most part, I enjoyed the time there and some of the friendships I still have. My position was dissolved but I would go back if i could
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
production operator (Current Employee) –  gulf of mexicoApril 23, 2017
overall a good place to work good people, good safety program, good bonuses, enjoyed the 7 day off work schedule, management were always available and would listen and help with any and all problems
Pros
7 on 7 off
Cons
miss hoidays birthdays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Recommend Working at Hilcorp
Geologist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 17, 2017
Hilcorp Energy is an excellent place to work. While working their it seems like a family where everybody cared about their work and other peoples work. I felt the management extremely supportive of their employees. They also rewarded ALL employees very well for success.
Pros
Culture and Compensation
Cons
Private Company
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hilcorp Energy Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 36 reviews
516
411
35
23
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.6Culture