Hill Brothers Transportation Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal big business culture
Driver (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 13, 2018
After 30 years with the company management never asked what would it take to make the company better for the employees or to keep the old experienced drivers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work otr
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 16, 2018
Nice friendly environment, good equipment, good enough pay, never sat for very long. Whenever something need fixed it was done immediately if possible.
Pros
good equipment
Cons
too long away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
things change from week to week
Truck Driver (OTR) (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 8, 2018
I learned that you cant trust everything that companies tell you. The hardest part of the job was the inconsistency of the schedule, and the time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was different from other companies
Multimodal Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 17, 2017
The drivers in the department didn't know if they'd be working the next day and would have to call in several times a day to ask if there's work. And this was a full-time company position. Once I was off for 12 days because the truck I was assigned needed a new turbo, and it had to go to the dealer for it. So I kept calling in every day, but they never would give me another truck to use so I could keep working. After a few months of this weirdness, I'd just go to work when the office opened & sit by the dispatchers' desk so they wouldn't blow me off.
Pros
They have a shop. Can reach drayage manager 24/7. Independence.
Cons
Health insurance only for the employee. Communication is weird, hard to figure out if you're working. Really vague instructions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Owner Operator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 15, 2017
When I needed to get home and gave 2 weeks notice it was imperative they had me sitting for 2 days in their dirt lot. I had to pay for fuel to get from Omaha to Denver to not miss my day I needed. Then put a lot of bad things on the DAC report that never happened. after I turned my truck in with new tires and chrome and looking better than it had when I leased it ($15,000 upgrades).
Pros
employee appreciation - fed for saftey meetings etc
Cons
Too much layover time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
New Hire Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 18, 2017
At Hill Bros Transportation is a very family oriented company. What I like about the company is that you can get a person to talk to when you need assistance. Hill Bros has well maintained equipment, a very friendly atmosphere with their drivers, office personal, the shop is there to help with keeping your equipment in top notch order.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented company
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 11, 2017
This is a family owned company that makes you feel like one of the family. However, there is little room for growth with in the company and they tend to be closed minded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Run
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEAugust 17, 2017
This was my first over-the-road position and it was a good fit. I only left when the dedicated route I was on quit running through my home town.
The pay was good, the previous managers I had were good; the last one was not a great fit, but was getting better.
HLBO is a good company.
Pros
good 401-K, consistent miles
Cons
Dedicated route was dropped
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The hardest part of the job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJuly 5, 2017
While working at Hill Brothers, I felt the hardest part of my job was keeping up with drivers and their ETA's and communicating that with the consignees when it was already supposed to be done the night before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical truking company
OTR Tractor Trailer Driver (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 6, 2016
Most days were spent driving/traveling all over the country delivering any number of products.
Sometimes physical labor was involved, but I managed to do what was needed.
Adhering to DOT guidelines was the hardest part of my days.
Pros
freedom of driving/traveling
Cons
home life pretty much non-existant
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much home time
Utility Driver (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NESeptember 1, 2016
A lot of damaged and defected trailers, Poor maintenance servicing on my tractor and a lot of trailers throughout the company. Wouldn't recommend it to anybody with a family or house to take care of. No Time! Just eat, sleep and get ready for another long work day with a lot of defects, or so called company benefits. What a waste of Life! It's really a sad sight to see. Sorry! But it is what it is. Good Luck finding your dream/trucking job.
Pros
None on 2nd and 3rd shift
Cons
Work you to death 65 to 70 hrs per week with paperwork to submit
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to be
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 24, 2015
Wish I was in a position to go back.
Terry was a great dispatcher. I was forced to leave over personal issues. They tried to Accommodate my needs to keep me. Pay was always accurate
Everybody was always nice and friendly. .
Pros
Great people to work with and for.
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Family owned Business
Load Planner (Current Employee) –  omaha ,neJanuary 18, 2015
Its a ok place to work if you are not looking for advancement.
Pros
No real pressure
Cons
Does not pay bonus as promised
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety
Logistics Clerk (Former Employee) –  OMAHA, NESeptember 9, 2014
Help with logs to make sure the driver are in compliance with dot regulations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Owner Operator-Dedicated (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEFebruary 22, 2013
This is a good company. They have runs but if you want to stay close to home must live on the I-80 cord. That is where most of there customers are. Watch your paychecks. They do okay but they mess up every now and then.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Capacity Manager (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 30, 2012
low pay for long hours- not a professional environment
don't work there
if you like to work long hours for low pay then work there
Pros
free lunch 1 x a month
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 14Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hill Brothers Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 17 reviews
52
46
36
23
10

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Hill Brothers Transportation Reviews by Location