Hillyard Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product and Customers, HORRIBLE leadership at location
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 17, 2018
I loved the customer they are why I stayed with the company as long as I did. There is a HUGE amount of turnover due to horrible management at the Mesa location. I saw 3 warehouse people come and go and 5 front office/customer service people come and go. Its pretty sad such a great brand has such a horrible location. Maybe corporate will make some changes to the location I know if they were to interview current staff without repercussions and actually do an exit interview with former employees they would be surprised at what they here.
Pros
GREAT products and customers
Cons
Location Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Hillyard Inc.
Account Manager & Process Consultant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 30, 2018
Family Oriented, good pay, great benefits, and good work life balance.

It is a great company to work for.

Hillyard is very strong in the rest of the country, but not very big in Texas
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Are not strong in Texas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CAJuly 22, 2018
lots of sales training, B2B sales opportunities.
lots of product development and equipment training.
residual income each month. discount on products.
Pros
work schedule
Cons
Old sales practices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10 years behind
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Warminster, PAMay 21, 2018
The entire company and industry are well behind the Times. Too many people who need to retire are in upper management. Their CRM is absolutely awful. No room for advancement unless you move to Missouri.
Pros
Freedom/ good training
Cons
Unnecessary travel. Slow pace. Behind the Times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only Family
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 2, 2018
Family ran company who only seeks to promote family to higher level positions. Have to move to St. Joesph, MO to be considered for most management positions and still they only promote family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor health insurance
Warehouse manager (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHMarch 18, 2018
Company is nation wide, and had many issues with finding dr's' locally that accepted health insurance provided.
The company itself was a pleasure to work for. Had great management, a good schedule, very little stress at all throughout the day.
Pros
great work enviroment no holidays or weekends
Cons
health insurance was poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture.
Manager (Current Employee) –  TexasFebruary 19, 2018
Great company culture with good benefits. Lots of opportunities to grow in the company, as well to relocate if desired. Strong leader in the industry with a good track record of success.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
Slow to change
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Warehouse Laborer (Current Employee) –  MNJanuary 25, 2018
Its a good company to work for. Breaks are spaced evenly/ sometimes you get free lunch. Its fast paced, but makes the time go by. Management is usually understanding.
Pros
No hassle as long as you do your job
Cons
no OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pasted and team players
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 21, 2017
you must be self motivated to learn and the ability to multi task with out notice employees are very hands on and willing to teach
you are always learning new products and meeting customers
Pros
medical benifits
Cons
short lunch time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimal guidance at the branch level
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHSeptember 5, 2017
Great company, and great products, with strong corporate initiatives. Very little direction given from management at the branch level. Corporate initiatives given out, had to ask for help penetrating individual markets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity for growth and friendly environment
Installer (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSMay 11, 2017
A typical day at work varies off of what position you are within the company. Everyone is positive and offers a helping hand when the job requires it to do so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable company who cares about its employees.
Sales Assistant and Installer (Former Employee) –  Hutchinson, MNMarch 27, 2017
Hllyard was a family focused company who employees all felt connected. Would have worked there rest of my life if I didn't have to move. Great compensation, due to success of comapny
Pros
lunch break, lots of snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Clear
Warehouse Laborer (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHJanuary 16, 2017
Management needs to be more sympathetic when it comes to employees needs. I had a death in family and asked for time off to go to funeral, and was denied and then was told to turn in my uniforms and leave. What kind of company is run like this. ? Stay clear that is all I have to say
Pros
Low amount of employees
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for none experience driver
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAOctober 8, 2016
job was very eazy light boxes to deliver to customers . start times 730 am to 530pm or later.depends on were u are going and how many stops. pay was not there.
Pros
very freindly people to work with
Cons
the pay is not all that great
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  KentuckyJune 22, 2016
very friendly helpfull staff.Pay could be better. Certain driving jobs can be boring. Overall good company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Player Company
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 24, 2016
Customer service Dept always communicates with all sales Reps
and we have always laughed and learned from each other
Data Entry of all orders from customers or Reps keeping daily orders filed for backup, Quotes and orders forms created, Phones are non stop and that's my normal , Hardest part of the job is when a co-worker passes a way and that morning we just spoke and in afternoon you get that call from the sales manager.
The most enjoyable part of my job is at the end of the day you see that goal was hit, and next day we try passing that goal.
Management has always listen to how we can improve our office and sales goals.
Working here has improved my skills from day 1 on how to manage my time between all reps and Customer Service Duties my
multi tasking has multifold ten times over at same time working with warehouse
Pros
Yearly Bonus
Cons
high medical no brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No communication between management and staff
Electo/mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Warminster Penna.July 21, 2015
"If you don't like it ! There's the door!! Nice management style.
Complete disorganization/ " This is the way we have always done it"
Micro-Managing/ Tracking your service vehicle all day long.
"Why did you stop here for 15 minutes? Answer: I had been driving for 2 hours straight! Had to use the restroom and put fuel in the van!
Pros
Co-workers were great
Cons
Management was extremely lacking inevery aspect
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local mgt. style and capabilities were challenging and prevented a long term success.
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  KC Distribution CenterJune 22, 2015
The local distribution center is lacking a leadership and over-all management. My understanding - is that this is not the norm within the organization - and this challenge at the local level is not going un-noticed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Flagstaff, AZFebruary 20, 2015
Fun fast paced job, good work environment , great coworkers. We were a smaller branch so it was all hands on deck to get the job done.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long commute for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sales Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MIJune 2, 2014
This company is a true industry leader! Management is great and the support staff is first class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hillyard. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 27 reviews
510
49
33
23
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture