HMT TANK Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Leadership in IT Department
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXJanuary 19, 2018
In the IT department, the infrastructure management was poor. Non-communicative, near-abusive approaches with not a shred of leadership. The manager routinely avoided responding to questions and/or suggestions. Constantly pointed out faults and things that he disliked but would not provide any clarification or direction on how or what needed to be done better or differently. Did not communicate with his team members leaving them working in a vacuum the majority of the time. Preferred to use email to send vague messages rather than direct and open face-to-face conversation.
Pros
Flexibility. Family-oriented company.
Cons
Old-school style management lacking any iota of team-building, employee development, or leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not steady work
Helper (Former Employee) –  Gonzales, LANovember 7, 2017
Work was not stead, it might be two weeks or more between jobs. I did learn a lot about tank work while employed for HMT. Pay was very competitive. HMT
Pros
good pay
Cons
inconsistent work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work and see the country on the company dollar with little to no experience in the beginning
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Merrillville, INAugust 9, 2017
A great job to go and see the country on the companies dollar. Can start off as a labor with little to no experience and build on a skill in installing, fabricating, welding, and operating. Fun job but your always away from home. No telling when you will come back home. There were times I can home for a weekend and back out on the road sunday to make it to work Monday somewhere in the country. Money is nice but deff sucks being gone all the time when you got a family
Pros
Great money, see the country, get experience
Cons
Always gone on the road
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contracted jobs
Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Galena Park, TXJune 10, 2017
Most recent positions have been job/contract which is different as di personnel change.
All work is contracted and the companies change through each contract.
Pros
In charge of all aspects of safety & health.
Cons
Work 12 hours a day, 7 days a week at a minimum.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would not recommend to work here
Welder (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 23, 2017
Most of my Co-workers were great but there were a few "favorites" who were VERY over payed for what they did. If you are not in the upper managements inner circle you will not succeed in this job. Upper management in this company were incompetent and could not ever do anything right, always had to go back and fix things because of they're lack of skills or communication. I would not recommend this company to anyone, there are much better tank companies to work for out there.
Pros
co-workers and hours per week
Cons
pay was trash, management was incompetent, no full benefits unless you are upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Field Superintendent, New tanks (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKMay 20, 2017
Good place to working. Traveling company work all over the US. Competitive wages great room for growth. Hard work not all welding must be able to perform.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Welder (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXAugust 24, 2016
lots of hours when we had a job. Learned many things from all the knowledgeable employees and leadership alike. Hardest part of the job was traveling but it was worth it. Money was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Ware house work
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXJanuary 6, 2015
A typical day at work will have you in the weather conditions, and dealing with many different cultures. I learned nothing more from this company then how to deal with various complicated situations which were not work related. The most enjoyable part of the job is the fact that there is lots of OT
Pros
Overtime
Cons
The People
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe and productive work place
Industrial Laborer (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXDecember 31, 2014
building and repairing floating roofs in chemical tanks, mig welding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Drafter/Designer (Former Employee) –  Tomball, TXApril 2, 2014
They hired me on when they knew that they would be facing a company merge and downsize.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work Place
Level II Technician MT UT-T PT VT MFL (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 6, 2013
Great job to have pay is ok u learn alot good people get to travel all over the us u can get your api 653 or 570 with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Does not care about the health and well being of its employees
FOREMAN (Current Employee) –  beaumont, txFebruary 4, 2013
the work is hard, i learned that tank work is for people who like to be punished, management pretends to care about you, my cow workers are awesome people and tough to be able to put up with the abuse, hardest part? small paychecks, most enjoyable part? not being there
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good co-workers and supervision
Technician (Former Employee) –  Prairieville, LAOctober 16, 2012
this is the longest i've worked for a company, and also enjoyed the type of work we do
Pros
great pay, travel, and benefits
Cons
never know where i will be working from one day to the next
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Servicing oil storge tanks
On Site Tech (Former Employee) –  Prairieville, LASeptember 11, 2012
I learned alot from this company in the oil industry.
I learned how to read blue prints, weld, and repair oil tanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and easy place to work
X-Ray Welder (Current Employee) –  Beaumont TexasAugust 4, 2012
typical work day involves completing proper safety paper work and inspecting every day work tools before use. safety meetings at the start of the day. line out the crew and administrate proper precedence of any task at hand. filling out time. review blue prints and customer requests. making sure that i know all of my co workers weakness and strong parts so i am able to place them in the tasks that will be finished in the soonest , safest and also the best quality of workmanship possible
Pros
company truck and vacation
Cons
pay and to much time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HMT TANK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 16 reviews
55
42
35
23
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture