HNI Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 77 reviews matching the search See all 79 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HNI Corporation will suck the life out of you and have no remorse when they are done.
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IANovember 28, 2018
If you would like to spend your entire life thinking about work and taking it home with you, HNI might be the right fit for you. HNI has no employee loyalty. If you are salary, your boss may determine that you get compensatory time or they may not. This issue is not treated the same across the company - as many other policies are not.

I had an instance where two managers granted me compensatory time. When a new manager stepped in, these hours were taken from me plus additional vacation time that I did not use.

The human resources department is NOT there for employees at all. They are completely for the corporation's benefit.
Pros
Decent health benefits
Cons
Long hours, disloyal management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hni corp.
Assembler/ warehouse forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAAugust 22, 2018
I have had a very enjyoyable time at alsteelhni corp. They were very helping with some medical issues and loss of family members they did there best to get me experince in things i have not worked in before. the pay was decent and managment as all places has its faults, but i don really have any negative comments about this job.
Pros
salary, benifits
Cons
some anagment issues causes a hold on career advancment, and making you do more work than what your pay rate is for
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on continuous improvement and employee happiness
Business Process Improvement Manager (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IANovember 26, 2018
Daily improvement is allowed at all levels of the business. Great benefits and 401K matches. Travel and advancement available and looked for. CI training is annual and available monthly to all employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work here
maintenance apprentice (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAOctober 20, 2018
It's an ok place to work. Great benefits, great co workers. Fast paced, on the line. Advancement opportunities are lacking, but they do come up. Pay is okay, for what you do, but could be better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ahead of the curve
Benefits Department (Current Employee) –  New Berlin, WIAugust 23, 2018
Overall the agency culture is very flexible, great benefits. What happens where there is not true direct leadership within the benefits segment contributes to their continual turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities for career advancement, poor vacation compensation
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IASeptember 16, 2017
Pros: HNI fully supports career advancement and has a great company culture. This is a great place to work if you want ample opportunities for lateral and vertical career moves, and everyone is supportive of members trying out a role that may not necessarily be their typical field of work.

Cons: Main con is the vacation compensation. HNI is headquartered in a very small Iowa town, so one would think they would offer a little more vacation time to keep members happy. You start with no vacation, and by the end of your first year you will have accumulated 10 days. This rate is largely non-negotiable, and it does not change until you have been there for 4 years at which point you would accumulate a total of only 12 days per year.
Pros
Career advancement
Cons
Vacation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wharehouse work. Would not recommended working here.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  United StatesJune 16, 2018
Many sisters companies. New York location. Worked between warehouse, shipping recieving, hardware makes and hardware distribution production and can honestly recommend if you work in these particular areas know that you will be taking on more responsibilities with very and i mean very low pay. At only 10 to 11 dollars an hour i have wasted an entire year of my life putting in the effort. You will note reviews of management and engeneers as positive feedback. but between all other locations you will not be paid well enough to survive on your own comfortably. You will be doing the actual work physical action of moving things. People seemed happier in upolstry but i cannot speak for them.
Cons
Little to no warning of overtime and how long you are required to stay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAMarch 14, 2018
Fast pace. Hired as a welder and told at orientation there were no openings for welder. Got put on a line. Not very well compensated for the effort. Have to get on a good line with good workers or you don't get the benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HNI Review
Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAOctober 2, 2018
Worked with lots of good people on the shop floor and in lower and mid level management. Direction from high level management was minimal and infrequent. MCR was not good to the members, more like a second management team interfering in daily operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Master Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAJuly 23, 2018
I started in Customer Support before moving to MDM. CS was very had and demanding. Really hard and frustration work but helped me to learn the company. I stuck with it and moved to HNI and felt a whole new side to the office. My manager was awesome, I worked really well with my immediate team. At times things were stressful but I knew I could count on my team and manager to have each other’s backs. I knew that if I worked hard I could continue to advance and had the support of my manager to grow and learn new skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Efficnet workplace
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IANovember 4, 2018
good culture to work in
Promote from within
Enjoyable learning experiences
manageable hours
would be nice to work remotely more often

Employee

Mixture of work dealing with external and internal cusotmers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care at all
System Analyst (Former Employee) –  DowntownDecember 11, 2018
You're a number. If you value your life don't work here, you'll just want to kill yourself when they lie and fire you. They even joke about it after people are gone. If you're not ok with lying this isn't the place for you.
Pros
It's a job
Cons
They ARE the cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assembly is hard on the body and management only cares about 1st shift
Assembly Line Worker (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAApril 12, 2018
As an assembly line worker from the day you start and every day you work on the line your body will be in some type of pain, it just depends on the job. Of course your body will adjust to it, but it will always be there. Management doesn't care about each department/line equally. Some lines get all the attention, all the new employees, and all the updates while others are stuck struggling and not getting the recognition they deserve. Management will shut down the "unimportant" lines and have those people move to the "important" lines to work or they will flat out just take people from the struggling lines so they struggle even more. 1st shift is not held to the same standard of goals or organization as second shift, 1st shift also has twice as many workers as 2nd shift but 2nd shift is still expected to hit the same numbers.
Pros
Co workers, easy jobs to learn
Cons
Short breaks, unfair standards between shifts, department/line favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAAugust 9, 2018
When you have an idea, it doesn't matter. If you have anything to add, it doesn't matter. You're doing well? You're average. Backstabbing culture is the norm. Unless you pucker up, you won't last long.
Pros
money
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and competitive environment.
Track Lead Finance (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAJune 19, 2018
Good and competitive environment. opportunity to learn new technology. work culture is little tough . location is little disadvantage.
they have various kind of work options.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Self Employed Operator (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IANovember 9, 2018
Make sure you make your goal in hour ,safety,quality and working in team ,checking every single production and nice clean , put your trash away,fill the tools for 1st sf
Pros
Lunch
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well managed company
Senior Internal Auditor (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAJuly 30, 2018
Senior management is engaged and visible for all workers to approach. Managers are hands on and aware of most challenges and are good resources to utilize in solving problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Wealth Management Analyst (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILNovember 2, 2018
This is not a real company there is an issue in the software to detect the company. HNI is the type of clients I worked with for Morgan Stanley. Hence the error
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to Drive Own Path
Product Manager (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IANovember 3, 2017
At HNI, you have the ability to work independently, make a difference, and try out several different career paths. The culture is different depending on the the different operating companies. Much attention is given to the stock price by the leadership team, and layoff/job cuts are one of the first ways the company will work to right their bottom line for the stock holders. The hours can be long but the company takes care of its employees. Work/life balance is important, and you are able to flex your hours. You are paid well for the area as Muscatine is a smaller community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering
Senior RCI/Lean Engineer (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAAugust 1, 2018
Project managent was not present. Project deadlines are unrealistic. Resources are hard to come by, and the average age of employees is only 23 years of age.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Very poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HNI Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 79 reviews
520
427
318
25
19

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture