HOCON GAS Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Propane is not for the faint of heart
Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Norwalk, CTNovember 29, 2018
The propane business is cyclical. When its cold we work hard because people need heat. When the spring comes people need pool heat. In he fall we are setting tanks and installing heaters. Middle summer gets a little quite and that's when we take our vacations. They do hold people accountable for their job duties. Seems to have aggravated some of the others who post here. I never had a problem if I did my job.
Pros
Strong Compnay
Cons
Winter is never fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut Throat
Bobtail Driver (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CtNovember 16, 2018
Trucks suck” can’t keep mechanics.
Service manager gets away with harassment. He shouldn’t be in charge of the drivers. gets away with foul language.
Pros
Sucks
Cons
Sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mistreated employees lead to failure
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJuly 11, 2018
Management does not properly instill employees with motivation to thrive and advance in this company. Although personal motivation could also be intrinsically developed, poor employee treatment results in lowered moral and individual satisfaction. With low interest from employees who conduct much of all the customer relations and correlated accounts, leads to weakend relations with valued customers and stripped rapport.

In a company, open and effective communication is key for overall success and this element is NON EXISTENT within Hocon.
Pros
Working with Customers
Cons
consequences for time off for sick children, No communication, No employee appreciation, Degrading conduct between management and general employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay far away as possible, never go there
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTJune 19, 2018
Stay away from hocon gas, they will use you until you drop dead.
Everything is wrong from general manager to lazy useless employees there, stay far away!
Pros
Nothing!!!
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Worker (Current Employee) –  Norwalk, CT 06854June 14, 2018
No raises or advancement great job for a beginner getting into driving with a cdl. There's lack of communication. Great for someone learning the propane business
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom of the barrel
BOBTAIL DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, CTJune 10, 2018
Low pay and health benefits cost to much. Management operates with a medieval mentality. They overcharge the customers and underpay the help, yet cry poor mouth when you ask for a raise.
Pros
Never get terminated.
Cons
Package is below sea level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Comment – July 7, 2018

Drivers make less then $20.00 an hour with no review and or raise.

3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Commercial class B truck driver (Former Employee) –  norwalk ct.February 13, 2018
it was alright but they have too many bosses or people who call shots everybody is a manager and that creates to much say so in areas that they have no knowledge
Pros
ours
Cons
too many chiefs not enough indians
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Garage Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTJanuary 7, 2018
it was a very good family run operation that treated all employees excellent after going corporate the new management started to "lay off" most long term employees and replace them with lower paid people which has had a negative effect on the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work
Driver (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTJanuary 4, 2018
Hocon was a great job experiance for me were as i learned a lot about the industrial experiance and delivery of propane fuel and supplies would have stayed longer with the company had i not decided to relocate to another state
Pros
always busy
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with nice people
Propane Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Guilford, CTNovember 10, 2017
great co-workers, friendly atmosphere, communication was lacking in some areas from managers to employees. Upgraded software had many issues with little training on how to use it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away...
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  ConnecticutOctober 2, 2017
Horrible.. at best would be the best way to describe Hocon... Senior Management : Weak.. Branch Managers : just hanging out till retirement.. No support .. Not much customer retention... You been warned..
Pros
When your not there
Cons
Monday-Friday 8-5
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall don't work there. It's a sinking ship
Class A gas mechanic (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, CTSeptember 25, 2017
The new management that they brought in only cares about themselves. Not the employees. Upper management only care about themselves. They were losing customers very fast to competition.
Pros
Not much left with new cut throats management there
Cons
Not much left there. It's a sinking ship
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pleace to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CT and Waterbury, CTJuly 25, 2017
Icon is a good company. Many people heat they're homes with propane abd Hocon makes sure that customers have the propane they need especially in the winter.
Pros
Decent money per hour
Cons
Not working there anynore
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A gas company
Accounts Receivable/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Guilford, CTJuly 12, 2017
I learned a good deal on Gas lines and gas management.
Clients don't often have great knowledge on how much gas consumed each year, in turn they often run out of gas.
Pros
Half hour lunches are great.
Cons
Need to step away from office at lunch time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Propane Tank Bobtail Driver (Former Employee) –  Shelton, CTMay 24, 2017
A great place to work, learned a lot, gave me the chance to learn and gain experience. Employees are friendly and hard working. Benefits are great, especially the medical insurance.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No growth
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTApril 5, 2017
no growth and poor moral. Management does not seem to observe safety with much importance especially because the facility has propane gas all over it and there are unsafe practices that are cause for concern of employees.
Pros
health insurance
Cons
no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work can be hard, but you work with good folks.
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CTMarch 2, 2016
There are no typical days in the propane business. Each day is unique with special challenges. From builders wanting tanks and lines installed NOW to homeowners calling ten minutes before close to report a gas odor.

My day evolved over the years from delivering propane to helping design and install a new retail sales heath showroom. Soon after, customer service was added and finally, dispatching.

It is possible to do many things at Hocon. Along the way, I learned a great deal about hearth products. I was also exposed to what was involved in advertising the business. In the customer service and dispatcher roles, I gained a great understanding of the "back office" role in running the business.

The people I've worked with have been decent human beings.

The hardest part was being on call, nights and weekends.

The most enjoyable things were the smiles on our older customers' faces from an often small act of kindness.
Pros
Employee pricing
Cons
On call, nights and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean fun Enviornment
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Torrington CTJuly 11, 2013
Typical day of work would be working with customers one on one either in the showroom or at there residence. I manage the sales team and go out and cold call to residential or commercial accounts. I also do installs when needed with fireplaces, stoves, or inserts. We sell gas, wood, pellet, and coal products and have a complete licensed service department. The hardest part of the job is trying to please every customer in everyway to meet there expectations. The most enjoyable part of this job is getting rewarded at the end of the day knowing what you have produced for this company and what customers come out of there way to thank you for everything.
Pros
outgoing enviornment
Cons
trying to move up in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HOCON GAS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 19 reviews
53
43
34
21
18

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.5Culture