HOK Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 45 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Corpartion
Senior Interior Designer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 4, 2018
If you enjoy your work to the point of it becoming your whole life. I would say HOK is for you. I don't think I remember ever going home on time. It was a lot of late nights.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning curve
Designer Drafter (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAApril 7, 2018
Everyday learning drives to become a good engineering technician and nice place to work with friendly engineers. Variety of of buildings shape and designs to build are very competitive.
Pros
Knowledgable Sr. Engineers
Cons
Lack of budget
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional place to work out
IT Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 15, 2018
High volume, fast paced, with the ability to advance and grow within the department. Largest office is the New York office (which is where I was located).
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with fooz ball
SENIOR IT MANAGER - ISSO (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 3, 2017
I actually don't play it, but fun to see others having fun. Company also offers community volunteer opportunities throughout the year.

Local staff sponsors bike rides events.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global company
Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 28, 2017
I worked as a consultant for a year and a half. The opportunities are available for job growth, development experience, and constant change, never mundane.
Pros
lots of learning
Cons
no care, sweat shop environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with various mediums
Architectural Draftsman (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63102September 8, 2017
I worked on various projects with various styles and materials.
i worked with computer drafting programs and 3D drafting programs
I worked with building models of buildings using foam and wood.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Senior Design Professional (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 23, 2017
HOK is a place where aspiring architects can thrive and further their career. They promote employees' career development. They provide average benefits and compensation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the greatest companies in the AE Field.
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 4, 2016
I have no negatives regarding this firm.. They have great people and the work place and the benefit and salaries are top notch.Fun place to work and they strive to make employees happy and give plenty of room for advancement.

One of the top five A/E firms in the USA.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Project Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 16, 2016
HOK is an amazing company always pushing forward with new and exciting projects and opportunities to work on different projects are very exciting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co workers
Designer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 12, 2016
Very unoragnized and the PMs are all spread too thin with too heavy of a work load to even stop and answer questions about a project. Massive lack of communication. Things are always left up until the last minute. No work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internatioanl Company
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 28, 2015
I worked at HOK briefly, I found them to be a well organized and creative company. I liked the professionalism and creativity of the design team.
Pros
international, chance to relocate
Cons
none for the time i was their
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Senior Project Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 14, 2015
HOK was a good learning experience. I learned about airports and prisons/jails..
I supervised drawing preparation in Revit.
I worked on specification preparation.
I participated in planning and design meetings with architects and owners' representatives.
I interacted with other discipline engineers.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with other engineers who appreciated my mentoring and knowledge of engineering.
The hardest part of the job was leaving when I was laid off.
Management was good but they hired too many architects and engineers and when the work slowed down, as it always does, there was a company wide layoff.
Pros
Respect and attention to my opinions and experience
Cons
They overhired too quickly laid people off when the work slowed down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere to work in
Senior Interior Designer (Current Employee) –  New YorkJanuary 9, 2015
Great firm and work ethic. Good building designs and intelligent thought processes . Always thoughrough with project delivery and expectations.
Pros
informative luncheans
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 12Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Financial Manager/Controller (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 23, 2014
Flexibility
friendly co-workers
gained a lot of experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun workplace
Junior Architect (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 11, 2014
Corporate culture. Old fashioned in many ways. Top heavy. Peers are friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and Progressive Dynamic Environment.
Qualified Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 19, 2014
A fast paced construction company that would accomplish a lot with very little resources compared to the larger companies ,but with a quality of finished product to compete with the needs of today standards in construction and architecture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well operated company
Architectural Draftsman (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 12, 2014
I got to work on a variety of projects from computer designed projects to building projects out of various materials.
I got to see many different projects from prison facilities to healthcare facilities.
Pros
got to work in workshop building projects
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Architectural Firm to work for.
Construction Admi (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2013
HOK is a leading architectural firm worldwide with tremendous people and projects. They offer exciting opportunities around the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 20Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Jr. Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 24, 2013
good days, friendly staff. overall, it was a nice place to work.
Pros
excellent parties
Cons
lighting is too dark
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of unfulfilled potential
Architect (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 31, 2012
Decent place to work for a couple years, but they tend to hold people in the position they are hired into. Instead of training existing employees the skills they need to advance, they like to hire from the outside, which obviously frustrates those working hard for a promotion. The office leadership is not in alignment either, so there are mixed messages about what the office's goals are and how projects should be executed. Despite the frustration and confusion, they produce a pretty cool project once in a while and there are good people to work with.
Pros
good people
Cons
questionable leadership and few opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HOK. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 45 reviews
513
417
36
27
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight