Holland America Line Employee Reviews

Found 348 reviews matching the search See all 436 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Beware
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Skagway, AKNovember 12, 2018
This is a company that would rather hire non Americans because of the cheap labor while at the same time paying American employees very cheap wages and forced to pay rent for employee housing
Pros
Alaska is beautiful
Cons
Death on Cruise Ships
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, rewarding, exciting place to work
Beverage Manager (Current Employee) –  variousNovember 8, 2018
Holland America Line is a growing company with opportunity. On board lifestyle is challenging and rewarding, ever-changing and exciting.

If ensuring your guests are delighted, cherished and entertained and you love to travel Holland America would be a great place for you to venture into the world of working at sea.

Days are challenging and can be long but the rewards outweigh any difficulties. Every day is a learning opportunity and, for those willing, you will be challenged and rewarded on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
showband musician
musician for show band (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 4, 2018
Typically, a day consisted of either rehearsal during the day and two shows at night or doing 3 sets of cover band music at night. It was a great way to travel and meet people from different parts of the world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work environment
Chef de Partie (Former Employee) –  united statesOctober 27, 2018
-a lot of pressure but challenging
-learned to smart always
-supportive
-lack of manpower and lack of equipment to use specially when the guest are coming in and have a different order from the menu
- shore leave and was able to go to different places around the world
-
Pros
free meal and accommodation
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced a lot of incoming calls
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 23, 2018
I worked for Holland America Line for 4 years. Its was great when I first started for 3 years then they became more of a sales company than listing to our guests needs.
Pros
Fun bunch of people to work with
Cons
very much micro managed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am done now
Supervisor, Ship Services (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 19, 2018
I have nothing to say, but can't move from this screen without typing something here. Seriously? You wanted 150 characheters to move forward. ta daa!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Denali National Park, AKOctober 7, 2018
Clock in at 8 am everyday to 4:30 or later everyday 6 to 7 days a week. I learned alot about housekeeping interact with different people .The over all Experience i had was phenomenal it was great best time of my life.
Pros
Food and housing transportation to work discounts
Cons
If we wanted to eat on property we had to wait tell late that night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever Evolving Environment
EXC Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cruise ShipSeptember 21, 2018
Working on a cruise ship is not for everyone. You have to be on top of everything all the time and be ready for a change in plans anytime. Fun people from around the world working together. You get a lot of experience with custom service and become innovative in your daily routine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere
Assistant Steward Lido (Former Employee) –  alaskaSeptember 18, 2018
many Indonesian people make me comfortable. feel like home for indonesian people. company provides many events for crew whic is very enjoyable. So, good enough for refreshing on board.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company Bad Wages
Ship Services Agent (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 31, 2018
Loved working for them but they only hire at minimum wage. Never implemented the cost of living increase, instead gave excuses. Shareholders before employees
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report

Want to know more about Holland America Line?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deplorable.
Reservations (Former Employee) –  Washington StateAugust 27, 2018
One of the worst work experiences of my life. Very humiliating. Mean spirited management. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. The job is not secure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company benifits
Accounts Receivable Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 10, 2018
vacation is started at 2 weeks and after 3 years you get 3 weeks vacation. you also get a greatly discounted cruise benefit every year and after 4 years you get 2 cruise benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Environment
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Santa Clarita, CAAugust 8, 2018
They try to make work as fun as possible. Just wish the pay was more. There is very little overtime unless it's during close. Overall the executives are pretty considerate and the cruise perks are good.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work and people
Deisel Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Juneau, AKJuly 30, 2018
I enjoy working with Holland America princess
Good hours
And always something to do
Would love to have full time position here
Will try and make that happen
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress Mill
Accounts Receivable Representative (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 26, 2018
this was not a positive environment, it was very much like a working mill, not comfortable or pleasant... Employees seem afraid all of the time and said very little around the office
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sailing away onboard!
Party Planner (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 20, 2018
It was blessed with the opportunity to start working onboard days after my college graduation. Working onboard is where my knowledge of hospitality started to unravel itself. I had a handful of mentors from Hotel Managers, Executive Chefs and Operations Manager to assist with my growth.

From running events, entertaining guests, food and beverage knowledge, housekeeping and flowering arranging classes; I will forever remember my years onboard Holland America Line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working from home is nice but not worth the big brother effect
Reservations lead (Former Employee) –  SeattleJuly 20, 2018
This company use to be really good to work for but ever since they switched to working from home it has become terrible. Not only are they big brother by watching everything you do but they also lack the communication and just try to find ways to get rid of people. The benefits were okay but not the greatest and they just don’t treat you with respect or care about you as a person. What ever you do, Do not go on the lead line!! They treat you even worse there and they never let you go to any other department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable and Fun
Bar Attendant/Server (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 13, 2018
I was fortunate enough to have experienced working in a well known cruiseline. wherein I was able to learned many things about the cruiseline industry specially giving quality service to the guest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to wrk
Coffee house supervisor (Former Employee) –  Trapper Creek, AKJuly 10, 2018
I love all the seasonal people but the management never knows whats going on.
Lack of communication from top to bottom
everyone points the finger at someone else
can't really complain seeing as how most of the time, every single season there are new people, so no one really knows how to do their jobs until the end of the season
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and fun travel
Production cast dancer (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 10, 2018
During my time at Holland America, I got to travel to several different countries. It was the best travel experience I had ever experienced. The staff was friendly and engaging and I had loved working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holland America Line. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 436 reviews
5161
4154
389
219
113

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss