Holmes Murphy & Associates Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting job.
Office Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAOctober 24, 2017
Reception was a very busy day with opening mail and sorting and phone calls. But it varied every week so it was balanced and not so overwhelming. The staff were always nice and we all socialized well.
Pros
Good job to learn with.
Cons
Needed more pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Immature workplace with cookie cutter services
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 22, 2017
Office is a sea of cubicles. Employees and clients are treated as numbers. The company is only interested in profit margins, not customer service. Their goal is to sign as many new clients as possible, and then do the least amount of work for them as possible.

Company culture revolves around heavy drinking. There is a bar in the office and weekly happy hours. Lots of time is spent taking clients to lunch and happy hour. Very little time is spent doing actual work. Lots of travel is required to go to meetings where you just read from a cookie cutter presentation.

Lots of immature coworkers. The enviroment feels like high school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Peoria, ILJune 30, 2017
Great company to work for with lots of perks. Management provided lots of lunches, outside the office team building, fun in office group projects and a great team to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEApril 28, 2017
I started from the bottom and worked my way up. In this field it is hard to get recognition by upper management. I did really enjoy working for my immediate supervisor at the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Member of the Business Solutions Team (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJanuary 30, 2017
The company does a great job of providing a welcoming environment in which good people rule the majority. They truly create a culture in which coworkers and their families are united.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to intern!
Corporate Marketing Intern (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAAugust 18, 2015
Their motto is work hard, play hard, and enjoy who you do it with. Great management and so many fun things to do with great coworkers! Hardly ever feels like a day of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong family culture - great place to work
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSJune 4, 2015
I enjoyed my 7 years at Holmes Murphy. Great people to work with and learn from each other. I greatly enjoyed working with the clients in my book of business. The thing I liked best was doing employee meetings and answering benefit questions/solving claim issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, fast paced, challenging and rewarding position.
Sr. Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IADecember 10, 2013
Manager client expectations by assisting health care benefits and all other ancillary benefits. Assisted in sales and implementation of new clients and assisted in retention of clients presenting renewal, negotiating with carriers and conducting employee meetings. Provided quality customer service through both written and verbal communication. Strong organization skills, problem solving and multitasking at all times. Marketing health insurance plans and all ancillary benefits.

Over the past couple of years I've learned a lot about Health Care Reform in order to assist and advise clients on the regulations and implementation of the laws.

The hardest part of the job was:
staying informed on the ever changing Health Care Reform laws
Implementation dates of each law and assuring the clients were in compliance.
Each day included a variety of challenges, tasks and learning opportunities to improve my performance and knowledge.
Pros
Flexibility, benefits, employee recognation, the company treated the employees well.
Cons
Sometimes not enough hours in the day to get all the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEMarch 28, 2013
I was able to learn the Retail Agency side of the business. Most of my insurance back ground was on the wholesale side.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 18, 2012
The culture and the principals this company are based on makes it feel like your time is a great investment here. Very professional yet friendly company, managed well. Pay is very competitive, and the benefits are even better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance company with diverse captive clients
DBA/SAP Business Objects Administrator (Current Employee) –  W Des Moines, IAMay 8, 2012
Captive and P&C insurance company. Daily customer support with regard to determing what the customer needs are centered around. Management is put into position without actually being qualified to handle the tasks assigned to them. The company does promote from within good or bad. Co-Workers have no fear of repercussions and no respect for upper management. Hardest part is determining if you are the target for the week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holmes Murphy & Associates. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 12 reviews
55
44
31
22
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Holmes Murphy & Associates Reviews by Location