Homeboy Industries Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience at homeboys
Building Maintenance Laborer (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 15, 2018
Homeboys industries is a great place to transition into the real workfield.It has been a great experience the real work field in a relaxed work setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Chinatown, CAMay 9, 2018
it was an nice experience i had alot of decent opportunities. i worked in cleaning chinatown and others streets. i looked for a job with better pay for me and my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
homeboy review
Sanitation Technician (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 27, 2018
Homeboy industries is a good place to work to gain experince they have therapy classes parenting classes that they provide for you meanwhile working there .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For experience for graduates and interships
Internship (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 6, 2017
Its one of the last resort when needed experience as well as hands learning techniques when graduating from college or culinary graduates. Not a problem
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
For a short time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Maintenance/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 22, 2017
I love homeboy industries it is a good environment n the people there love who they work with its easy and people are very polite to work with I highly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun working environment
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 2, 2017
I enjoy my job and love the way my manager trains me to do good at what I do here at Homeboy Industries. The hardest part of my job is when working alone and have to do Tours answer phones and doing paperwork at the same time. But other than that I love my job and the people I work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Receptionist/Data Entry (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 13, 2017
I learned how to work behind an office desk. The workplace culture was a fair diversity of different backgrounds. The most enjoyable part of working at Homeboy Industries was that everyone showed a lot of love with one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome
Homegirl Café Hostess (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 19, 2017
Awesome place to work helps people change there life for the better. give people a chance to be conducting people of are community and that's a very beautiful thing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with dental benifits and 401k
Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 6, 2017
Home boy industries is a great place to work at. I worked at the farmers market where I set up the tent and tables and neatly placed them on the table to sell homeboy Industries products
Pros
free lunch and sales skills.
Cons
No break but i got off early for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Sanitation Technician (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 12, 2017
Good workplace culture. The most enjoyable thing at work is working with new people everyday.. Always learning new things at Homeboys. Management is always in a good mood very good energy .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Homeboy Industries?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone for people trying to reintegrate back in sociaety
Development Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 18, 2017
Homeboy industries was the perfect place for me to develop increased stability and acclimate back into the working world. I gained a lot of confidence in self through working at Homeboy Industries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great resources and platform for opportunity
Trainee (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 7, 2017
Homeboy Industries is a great place to work and rehabilitate yourself. It is a place of comfort and building on a solid foundation to help secure a successful future.
Pros
Great staff and resources.
Cons
7 our work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to be at
Landscaper/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 3, 2017
Best food ever, I learned a lot there and my help will always be given if they need it.by the way they open on weekends too so go visit be my guess there.
Pros
Good people
Cons
No over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work .and fun
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 3, 2017
This is a great job to work ,they give u days off on holidays .Down fall is that its minimum wage .they got the bakery in the back .they got a cafe in the frond .Food is really good .bread is awesome
Pros
holidays off with pay
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second chance at life
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 25, 2017
Loved working here they give you the chance to make these better in your life. GED Drivers licence anger management parenting AAA meetings you are able to take classes while you work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work environment
Café Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 13, 2017
-Great work experience
-Good Job Training Facility
-Great Leadership
-Culture behind Homeboy's
- Able to supervise and multitask during big projects
- able to grow with in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 11, 2017
• Operate various tools and job related equipment such as mcLeod and Pulaski tools, hoes lay and etc.
• Extensive knowledge of machinery and fire equipment tools, including their designs, uses, repair and maintenance
• Follow and ensure the company’s policy, rules and regulation, to promote others to do the same
• Other duties were assigned such as attend group meetings related to specific mandatory trainings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission, poor managemetn
N/A (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 4, 2016
The mission is great and really helpful, but the managerial support is lacking and advancement opportunities are limited. The clients and most of the staff are amazing people.
Pros
Mission, interaction with clients
Cons
Management, Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye Opener
Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 22, 2016
I enjoyed working with people who wanted to change their lives and move on from the gang culture. Management is not supportive at all. You don't really receive support from supervisors in other departments as well.
Pros
Clients
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work for
Janitorial Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 15, 2015
It's an interesting place to work for, I thought I was in a county jail or prison. The idea there is to work well with others even if the co-workers were once enemies. Gang related.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Homeboy Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 29 reviews
520
42
34
22
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.0Culture

Homeboy Industries Reviews by Location