HomeStreet Bank Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 113 reviews
Ratings breakdown
533
431
319
214
116
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 112 reviews matching the search See all 113 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Mortgage Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WASeptember 8, 2018
I was a mortgage loan officer and processed conventional, FHA, VA, USDA, and non conforming residential housing loans. I worked closely with client's and their qualification towards receiving preapproval for refinances and purchases.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Low pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding environment
SR COLLATERAL RISK MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 24, 2018
The management reinfornced our value to the company. The people in the appriasal department are focused on provideing quality service and value to the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Orange County, CAAugust 15, 2018
Good work environment. Productive and fun workplace. Opportunity to grow with the company. Management is very effective and provide a very good workplace culture.
Pros
Good Environment to work
Cons
Good Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wrong people in regional operations management
Mortgage Operations Assistant (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WAAugust 15, 2018
Once branch management was gone, then and only then did regional management become involved and take away the enjoyment of working for HomeStreet Bank.
Pros
fairly good pay
Cons
management out of touch with the day to day operations
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable work hours, great team enviornment
Loan Processor III (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAAugust 3, 2018
This company displayed great leadership and the ability to cross train other departments. Management was effective and proactive in resolving customer satisfaction.
Pros
Ability to work from home and triaining
Cons
Not any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Sr Processor-Jr Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Los AngelesAugust 2, 2018
Homestreet is a great place to work
Team work really is a thing here
everyone works really close to meet the requirements and get customers what they are looking for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company if it wasn't a bank
Loan Processor II (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 5, 2018
Homestreet was a great place to work at with a great culture. The only downside was the over abundance of banking regulations that you don't usually run into with an independent mortgage company. There was too much disorganization in the corporate structure, including management and compliance.
Pros
Great Culture and independence, lots of perks
Cons
Disorganized, failure to grasp compliance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be great
Senior Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lake Grove, ORJune 8, 2018
The company pays decent and has great benefits but seriously lacks communication, training, focus and has lost sight of core values and their mission.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
Lacking proper staffing, support and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits for a bank
Customer Service Rep II (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 7, 2018
Great team atmosphere and very relaxed quotas that are easily attainable to reach. Customers are given free water, coffee, and snacks which improves the customer experience more than any other bank I know.
Pros
15 min breaks
Cons
Little room for upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work atmosphere
MORTGAGE DISCLOSURE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Newport Beach, CAJune 2, 2018
Good place to work. Enjoyed my co workers. Always helpful. Learned alot. Helpful if you did not know. Easy to find. Always busy and if not you can always help someone else. Lots of team building
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about HomeStreet Bank?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but boring work
Data Entry Clerk (Temporary) (Current Employee) –  Federal Way, WAMay 30, 2018
i enjoyed the people but the work was boring and over drawn. the days felt like years every day at work. its an amazing job just not for the fast paced ambitious worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management. Played favorites and very bias.
Federal way (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WAMay 28, 2018
If you're not the favorite, performance was constantly scrutinized and made up errors. Poor training availability and if you're collegues that are favored made mistakes it was swept under the rug. If you're not the favorite, watch out- they will make up things to bring you down. I am so happy I don't work there anymore, it took a lot of burden and stress since I stop working there and now I am in so much better place.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layoffs and no security
Loan Officer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington StateMay 10, 2018
Lots of layoffs and no job security. Training was not intensive; maybe a good place to start your mortgage career, but not a long term option.........
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid until upper management changes.
IT Department (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 14, 2018
Homestreet was a good place to work until recently. Upper management is criminally negligent and is looking to wring as much money as they can out of the company as it crumbles.

Massive structured layoffs recently. Most of the people released from service in the last layoff were the DO'ers. Middle management, who knew what was going on, were laid off. There was no transfer of knowledge. This has left Homestreet in a hard spot as many critical projects lost all of those with knowledge of the project.

In addition Homestreet is under attack by shareholders who feel they are being defrauded by the company.
Pros
Decent benefits, The rank and file people are beyond amazing.
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Former Employee at HeadQuarter (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 13, 2018
HomeStreet offered Work Life balance. The manager I worked with was great and offered support as needed.

Workplace culture is like any other places, it depends on the department and the people you worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Finance Assistant (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAApril 9, 2018
I enjoyed working at homestreet bank and the people I worked with. Homestreet aquired Orange County Business Bank where I worked for 9 yrs. I miss some of the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closing manager
Loan Funder III (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 6, 2018
Closing manager runs team horribly and has no knowledge to be in the position in. She thrives on bringing Drama in the office and is not concerned about production
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
ECOA Reg B Specialist (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WAApril 5, 2018
Very favored work environment, poor communication, lack in consistency. Casual dress code was nice and there were times that there was flexibility in scheduling and hours you could work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
LOAN PROCESSOR III (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 4, 2018
Wonderful team above and beyond expectations always open for conversations and concerns
No complaints to address
Always available when needed and easy to talk to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am only doing this because it is required
Closing Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Lynnwood, WAMarch 22, 2018
I would like to tell you about my day because it is required so i come in and read my emails and have meetings and do a bunch of urgent things and i come in the next day and do it again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HomeStreet Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight