Horace Mann Insurance Employee Reviews for Administrative Assistant

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 159 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, fun, busy environmment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 10, 2017
As the agency Administrative Assistant, I assisted as many as 10 insurance agents as well as the Agency Manager. I loved assisting with agent development from beginning to hire. I made travel arrangements, answered client calls, directed mail, assisted in the planning and development of monthly agency meetings, and participated as speaker in these meetings when assigned. I also assisted in the organization of Regional Meetings. I learned much about organizing my time effectively, developed leadership skills, and enjoyed the companionship of a team environment as well as the value of working independently.

The worst part of my job was when we lost an agent.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Losing agents due to their failure to achieve demanding criteria
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
business start up for last year
Office Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Greenwood, SCMay 15, 2017
start up insurance office. the owner was only working from home with me in the office. I didn't feel much job security or just plain wasn't needed. We just didn't have a customer base established for me to be in the office taking requests or calls.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Place of Employment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILMarch 30, 2017
Horace Mann Insurance is a good place of steady employment for Clerical and Office Workers. The environment is generally friendly, the building climate is always comfortable, and co-workers tend to be helpful. Any office job can become tedious or monotonous, and so it is not ideal for those prone to more physical positions or stimulation.
It tends to be quiet and uneventful in a pleasant way.
Pros
Calm Office Environment
Cons
Monotonous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just didnt enjoy it
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Culpeper, VADecember 13, 2016
I worked from home which everyone thinks is amazing but I'm used to working customer service jobs and I am a social butterfly so I just didn't enjoy sitting in front of a computer all day every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boss was very family oriented
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rochester, MNMay 4, 2016
Great internal people I worked with, even though I didn't see them on a daily basis. Boss was family oriented, generous in pay and time off that I may have needed.
Cons
No real benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chambersburg, PADecember 8, 2015
The management was great to work for. It was a casual, comfortable, and professional working environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with the customers.
Pros
Great employer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cartersville, GANovember 19, 2015
Love this company! Great workers and customers! Great Environment, loved communicating with the customers. Great schedule, friendly staff. Not a crowded environment. Learned new things everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome position
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfield OhioMay 15, 2015
Loved my job there. Got along great with my mgr. I traveled alot learned The administrative side of the business. Helped do a newsletter every week helped in the hiring of new agents.
Pros
Worked alone
Cons
too far from home long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reoutable company
administrative assistant, marketing (Current Employee) –  saint louis, MO.May 2, 2013
running reports, mailing marketing meterials, post cards, birthday cards, birthday cards
Pros
Part time
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

See more Horace Mann Insurance reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Horace Mann Insurance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 159 reviews
549
443
329
212
126

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Women's ratings

3.3Fairygodboss Score

33%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss