Horizontal Well Drillers, LLC Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allways on the go
Hot Shot Driver /Procurement Assistant / Yard Hand (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKJanuary 23, 2019
Very little rest all ways on call runs illeagley to dot spec and a surprise osha inspection they would fail in all departments and cheep tools and warn equipment
Pros
Good for a single person and good insurance benefits
Cons
No time for family, or to use the health insurance, and very little rest, sometimes no days off for weeks at a time and, low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High passed rigs
Rig manager (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKOctober 2, 2018
A smaller company that is driven to push their little rigs and crews. They have equipment designed to reduce exposure to injury. The down side is that it also requires more maintenance and down time
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Lots of work away from hom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place of employment
swamper/pilot car (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKJuly 27, 2018
horizontal well drillers was an exciting and fun place to work very safe under the rules and guidelines the management was remarkable the job security was planned every day or the job placement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Purcell, OKJuly 25, 2018
Decent place to work besides them being almost 300 million dollars in the hole, You also have atleast 5 people telling you what to do at all times of the day, so you never really get anything completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great plave to work
Motorman (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKNovember 27, 2017
it was a great place to work. It was fast paced and work was hard but well worth it. I really enjoyed my job and moved up fast. I was woeking motors and was about to go to derricks but then we ran out of work.
Pros
good work and paid well
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work for
Hotshot driver (Current Employee) –  Purcell, OKOctober 9, 2017
I have been with HWD since 2013. I thoroughly enjoy everything & everyone I work with. They are flexible if you need a day off for appts, however they let you know in advance when it’s going to be a busy period as well.
Pros
Management are great people.
Cons
Haven’t received a raise since I started.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Singles ONLY
Floorman - Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKSeptember 22, 2016
the company was okay. Pay was pretty competitive compared to other drilling companies. Lower standards of hiring so there was a lot of trash there. And subsequently there was high turnover.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
High turnover, and a lot of worms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil Rig Lease
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKFebruary 2, 2016
The oil industry is a very aggressive & fun industry to work in. However during downturns, many companies are forced to downsize. HWD is a company that I enjoy the opportunity to work and grow but the market shifted and the ability to close business and contracts became very difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Rig employee (Former Employee) –  OklahomaAugust 30, 2015
The days are long and the pay is bad. My pay was cut 3 times before being laid off. We set a few records and never received much recognition for our hard work,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
saftey oriented company
Floorhand (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKJuly 21, 2015
great benefits and great pay. good people, and good attitudes. and when oilfield layoffs happen nobody is ready for it. respectable company and safety oriented.
Pros
great people
Cons
oilfield lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Work
Corporate Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJune 26, 2015
Management is poor to respond.
Hard to get anything accomplished.
Great work environment.
A lot of moving parts
Great to start career with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good place to work
Derrickhand (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKMay 29, 2015
The pay is very good for such a small company but the equipment is a work house 24/7 all the time. There are possibilities for advancement if you work really hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Designer & Drafter (Current Employee) –  Purcell, OKFebruary 11, 2015
Very good company. Excellent at Management.
Learned lot of things from this company! it's very good balance
between job and life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviornment, more like family than employers
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaJanuary 18, 2015
Good place to work and live, supervisors are more like family benefits are adequate but not grand
Rigs always need work, are complicated and not user friendly
All in all great experience
Pros
The people you work with
Cons
The people you work with lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  Purcell, OKOctober 20, 2014
My job as a rig manager was to manage 20-30 people at a time, enforce safety, and ensure the rig ran smooth.
Pros
The knowledge and experience I gained
Cons
Being away from my family for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee
Electrician (Former Employee) –  OklahomaSeptember 2, 2014
- The management is horrible. They right you up for anything. They treat you with no respect. Their attitude towards the employers is; "if you won't do it we'll find someone who will"
- Insurance is horrible. I once had surgery and it was very expensive. The provider did not fulfill the agreement and I had to hound them to make payments. This was three years ago and the surgery is yet to be paid for.
- This was the worst company I've ever worked for. The pay is horrible. They are paying their Rig Electricians 18 dollars and hour which is a joke. I worked there for 3 years and never once seen a raise. The story about further educating is a lie. They are not competitive by no means. Management is full of jerks. Do not come work for them. You are wasting your time and will regret it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty chilled place to work at.
Hot Shot Driver (Former Employee) –  Luthersburg, PAMarch 12, 2014
My day consisted of stocking the produce and helping customers with what ever they needed. My manager was a great person to work for. Th most enjoyable part of the job to me was that I was the only person that worked in produce besides my manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee
Employee (Former Employee) –  TexasMarch 4, 2014
Very disappointing company to work for.
No stability, they fire for any reason.
every hitch had new crews or moved to a different rig.
Lots of friction on rig and company seems to like that
More interested in cleaning than the safety issues
Management acts like he is better than anyone else
Management puts down hourly employees.
Probably worst company I have ever worked for
Management wants to get three write ups on employees
right away so when they let them go they will not have to
pay unemployment.
Not many long termers most only work a few hitches
Pros
days off if you get them always trying to call employees back early
Cons
terrible insurance, not a family oriented company. Write ups for anything and pushers go and come real fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job with a nice schedule
floorhand (Former Employee) –  DuBois, PAJune 26, 2013
on a day to day basis did the typical drilling routine, cleaning, making connections and checking equipment, troubleshooting hydraulic systems, rebuilding mud pumps, strapping pipe
Pros
good job with good people for the most part
Cons
getting blamed for things not of my doing, or doing something that someone else did feel needed done at time
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  Purcell OkMay 21, 2012
They like to pay the guys that come in to help out just floorhand wages. the pay is poor and they have not bunk house for the crews
Cons
pay is low no 401k insurance is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Horizontal Well Drillers, LLC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 21 reviews
55
46
34
23
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture

Horizontal Well Drillers, LLC Reviews by Job Title

Horizontal Well Drillers, LLC Reviews by Location