Houghton College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Leadership, characterless administration.
Professor (Current Employee) –  Houghton, NYJune 8, 2018
Houghton College is a cesspool of negativity and cutthroat politics. The administration is out of touch with reality, but even worse they have very little integrity. Theupper management often makes decisions based on false information.
Pros
Close to Letchworth and some nice scenery
Cons
Overworked, under paid, out of touch president and deans.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing trajectory
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYMay 26, 2018
It used to be a good school but with years of budget deficits and poor leadership and low enrollment it no longer is. The budget problems have led to low morale, frequent cuts and layoffs and a toxic work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vriendelijke Werkomgeving
Administratief medewerkster (Former Employee) –  New York StateMay 23, 2018
Houghton College bevindt zich op een interessante locatie. Het woon-, werk-, en leefklimaat zijn fijn. Het werk was gevarieerd, maar er werd niet veel uitdaging aangeboden.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Data Science Intern (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYMay 19, 2018
It's a pretty good place to live and work. People are very loving and the work environment is keeps a balance of fun and seriousness. Our supervisors were very smart and good with us employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYApril 19, 2018
I was given the opportunity to serve as a teacher assistant for two of my professors in college. I was responsible for teaching, tutoring, and grading exams. Great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked the people, but the college didn't have enough funds to pay all of its workers.
Audio Visual Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houghton, NYMarch 29, 2018
I think that Houghton is a beautiful place with lots of opportunity, but there isn't nearly enough funding to pay the amount of workers they have. If they had more funding, then I could get more hours, then maybe I could even afford a place to sleep.
Pros
People
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Barista & Barista Trainer (Current Employee) –  Houghton, NYDecember 13, 2017
I enjoyed the atmosphere of this job and work location. The employers were fair and fun to work for. The pay was also fair and the overall experience was enjoyable.
Pros
Free beverage at the end of shift
Cons
Limited available hours to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Director of Technical Arts (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYSeptember 5, 2017
Houghton College is one of the worst places to. work in New York. The upper level management are horrific and are not good leader....at all. The president is sheltered and clueless as to what goes on at the college. Stay far away from this place.
Pros
Nice area
Cons
Horrible leadership and lack of integrity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
Groundskeeper (Current Employee) –  Houghton, NYAugust 10, 2017
Everyone at houghton college is great to work with. You are treated good. Everyone there is willing to help and show you the ropes with working there because they know how hard it is about being new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent academics
Professor of English (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYJune 17, 2017
Excellent academics
Great students
Weak administration
Administration is simply not creative.
Weak president who needs to learn to listen.
But the overall cultural environment for such and isolated place is strong.
Pros
excellent students
Cons
poor salaries
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed interacting with others
VIDEOGRAPHER ISLAMIC STUDIES (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYJune 11, 2017
I learned how to handle equipment quickly and effectively; a typical day consisted of gathering equipment needed, setting it up to film the class and spending two hours each class period filming. I liked working for Houghton College because it helped me gain experience in my field of study.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Dean of Students (Former Employee) –  Houghton NYJune 2, 2017
Wonderful people, great mission. Salary was okay for the area. But job security is tenuous. I was there for 18 years (gone 2 years now). I would go back under the right circumstances!
Pros
Wonderful work environment.
Cons
Constant budget stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace where you can listen to music while washing dishes
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYMay 25, 2017
This job was great because I could just be by myself and not talk to anybody while washing dishes. This was my first job and I really enjoyed the atmosphere there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people, administration slightly sketchy
Welcome Center Manager (Current Employee) –  Houghton, NYApril 17, 2017
The people I have met are irreplaceable. I have also been treated exceptionally by my bosses. The only thing that makes me nervous are the recent rifts in administration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple Cleaning Job
Bathroom Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYJanuary 6, 2017
Most enjoyable part of the job was it was flexible with my college schedule so I could work anytime I was available. The job wasn't difficult and only took 45 minutes to do daily. My supervisor was very understanding in certain situations where I was sick or needed a substitute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work in idyllic surroundings
Director of Print Design (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 22, 2016
If you've ever dreamed of a Swiss Family Robinsons lifestyle combined with academic rigor and rural upstate peace and quiet, this place is great. While working at Houghton College, I walked to work every day, rain or snow or shine, interacted with friends and sometimes family through work, and was always involved in a variety of projects.
Pros
Sense of community, peaceful work environment, accessibility of college campus amenities like the gym and swimming pool, concerts, lectures and student culture.
Cons
Pay is lower than a comparable job in an urban setting, not a whole lot of career mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty shabby
professor (Current Employee) –  Houghton, NYJune 19, 2016
Faculty jobs are low paying, administration has been mediocre, lots of things being swept under the rug. Not such a great situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Assumed the legal duties of a lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYFebruary 19, 2016
Houghton College was a great place to work! My employers and co-workers were very friendly and easy to get along with. Work days were most of the time good with little or no problems to deal with. Learned how to stay focused on the job and make sure everyone that was in the pool was safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Exciting Job
Outdoor Adventure Guide (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYJanuary 24, 2016
In charge of the physical, emotional, and environmental welfare of campers. Work was challenging but rewarding. Lots of time spent using outdoor recreation to facilitate campers' personal growth.
Pros
Outdoors, Outdoor Rec, Good Coworkers
Cons
Seasonal, Little Chance for Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Donation Collector (Former Employee) –  Houghton, NYJanuary 18, 2015
This was not a job, this was college. I was not paid to attend college.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Houghton College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 28 reviews
58
411
35
20
14

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Houghton College Reviews by Location