Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Employee Reviews

Found 242 reviews matching the search See all 249 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed and poor management
Content Specialist (Former Employee) –  Remote - HomebasedSeptember 17, 2018
I loved my job with HMH when I first started. In the end, I loved what I did, but did not appreciate being taken advantage of. Traveling 2 -3 nights a week was fine. Traveling from Sunday to late Friday was a bit extreme week after week. Not to mention, there was no compensation for my overtime or weekends. In 1 1/2 months, I worked 5 weekend days (which equals a week's work) without any compensation financially or a day given back. Manager was extremely unprofessional and an embarrassment around customers. Human Resources was involved and upper management and they chose to look the other way. PEOPLE DON'T LEAVE JOBS, THEY LEAVE PEOPLE. It is a shame, because working with teachers was something I really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be good if you have the right manager
Senior Product Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 21, 2018
HMH is generally a mess. Leadership is very detached from the every day worker. There are many silos making collaboration difficult.

Like many large corporations, the wheels move slowly.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement, healthcare, 401K matching
Cons
morale is very poor; everyone has left or wants to
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Content Author (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 20, 2018
I had a good time working for Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. I learned html, flash and hexadecimal code. I worked on two major programs: math180 and SMI. The hourly pay was not very good.
Pros
autonomy
Cons
poor salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company is on a downward spiral
Business Systems (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 16, 2018
Lack of over mission as the industry migrates from print to digital. Overall people care but the teams work at cross purpose with too many meetings. In addition, key operational leaders are unwilling to change processes which makes upgrading business systems impossible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive company with children and education at its heart.
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Geneva, IL 60134August 3, 2018
HMH provides training and personal support through involved management, with goal of inspiring learning and creativity through text and media. Great support for diversity and parents-who-are-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company headed for the right direction
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 1, 2018
New CEO has a great vision for the company's future and direction.

Birthdays and anniversaries are recognized.

Lots of recognition and feedback for contributions and stats.

VERY busy mid-summer until after the holidays. Many projects afterwards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen lugar de trabajo
Student Intervention Specialist in Mathematics (Former Employee) –  Guaynabo, PRJuly 29, 2018
Es una compañía multinacional famosa en todo el mundo. tiene ambiente de trabajo cómodo, Parte fácil de mi trabajo fue poder ayudar a la mayoría de los estudiantes bajo mi tutela. Parte difícil: lidiar con otros estudiantes con rezagos de estudio notables.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company that can't find it's way
Sr. Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2018
Too many turnovers, layoffs. Inconsistent management. Lip service given to career path but no real attention given to employee development. Most of the time managers didn't even know what my skillset was.
Pros
A company with a great legacy
Cons
Poor management, with every turnover it never got better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Round Rock, TXJuly 23, 2018
Wonderful people who respect and appreciate each member of their team. The employees truly love what they do and believe they are improving the educational process with the products they create.
Pros
Benefits are above & beyond the norm
Cons
Pay could be a little better, but it isn't bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it suck
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Troy, MOJuly 17, 2018
they work you like a dog. Do not ask to be train to moive up in this place . they will find some way to get you out of there . with out listing to your side
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Lead Coach (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRJune 29, 2018
The experience in the school is excellent,
the hardest part of the jobs in the school
a typical day at work is nice and hard same
I to get better my team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Professional Learning Consultant (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 28, 2018
Great company culture and the work is rewarding An Educational Consultant collaborating with schools across the United States for curriculum implementation, instructional coaching, digital program trainings and data-driven instruction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 27, 2018
Great place to work. Always did things for their workers. Great managers, and great vacations and sick days. Very fair to employees no matter race or religion .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work !
Clinical Administration Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Itasca, ILJune 21, 2018
A great place to work with good people who support each each-other. The office was clam and relaxing, but the things that needed to get done always did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 years of service
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Evanston, ILJune 13, 2018
The commute was about an hour which was good for me to clear my head going into and leaving work. The job was great until I lost my mom. Overall the team and I worked great together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun good people
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Batavia, ILJune 7, 2018
this place i know since i was little family worked there then i worked there as a temp fast moving environment need to learn quickly. and a lot of new people to get to know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Professional Services Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 2, 2018
There are many positions at HMH. My position allowed me to travel when necessary and to learn many different skills to present to teachers across the NY, NJ, CT tristate area and sometimes outside of that area. Travelling to various sites and using my personality along with the training I received made it easy to present to schools and feel comfortable with my job
Pros
freedom
Cons
low pay for my experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMay 30, 2018
I enjoyed my time working for Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Going through the training and learning about how it became what it is today. Great company and Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individual teams are great
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 29, 2018
The company as a whole has a lot of room to improve but individual teams can make up for what the overall company lacks. Your experience really depends on your teammates/those you work closest with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of co-workers
Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesMay 19, 2018
Enjoy working with my team and other groups in the business. I enjoy working there and appreciate the opportunities they have provided me with over the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 249 reviews
569
477
359
220
124

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

25%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss