Houlihan's Restaurants Inc Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 353 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5108
4112
391
229
113
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 351 reviews matching the search See all 353 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Rogers, ARAugust 4, 2018
i wouldnt recommend, its stressful. always worrying about if your gonna run out of something or not. not knowing if your gonna be able to make it by for the rest of the week or not..
Pros
discounts
Cons
drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overwhelmed by the required tasks
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Township of Brick, NJAugust 1, 2018
The responsibilities of the job at times was overwhelming due to the high demands and fast paced environment. I was fed by the chefs delicious and hot meals. There were late hours for the position i was in.
Pros
Good Food
Cons
long hours additional responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful place to work. Loved the people. Just the management was terrible.
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Roeland Park, KSJuly 26, 2018
Management was always changing. Place has gone downhill. Was part time which means no more than 40 hours a week. I always worked more than that and didn’t get paid time and a half.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic
Server (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJuly 19, 2018
It's your everyday friendly neighborhood houlihans. you know what you are going to get out of there when you enter.wonderful food and drinks. Upscale TGI Fridays basically.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was great management
chef/prep cook (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 19, 2018
loved my kitchen manager always gave days off that i needed always worked with my daughters schedule. always there to help if im stuck or needed help. if something came up at school they worked with my schedule to go pick up my kid from school and let me bring her so i could continue working to make up hours.
Pros
free food, good hours, great management
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
When i worked there, it wasnt great
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOJuly 12, 2018
When I worked at houlihans in 2016, management wasnt great but they have made drastic changes and changed management trying to make the company better. Food is fine, restaurant is mostly clean. its a good starting place.
Pros
job movement
Cons
men
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and bad hours
Busser/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Naperville, ILJuly 11, 2018
The pay is 4.50 an hour plus tips, and the only days when you can make decemt tips is the weekend. The hours are very bad because it can get in the way of weekend activities
Pros
discounts, cool managers
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job!
Hostess (Former Employee) –  230 W huron rdJuly 9, 2018
Co-workers are very friendly. Management very understanding. Can be very fast pace during lunch hours. I enjoyed my time working at Houlihan's. Great job for college students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start serving
Server (Former Employee) –  Weehawken, NJJuly 3, 2018
Great place to gain server experience. I learned a lot on how to deal with guests at houlihans. Only thing business starts to slow a little after summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, fun atmosphere and good culture.
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MOJuly 3, 2018
Love working for Houlihan's. Great culture and flexible scheduling. Great onboarding/training program for all levels within the organization. I enjoy working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Houlihan's Restaurants Inc?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJune 28, 2018
Dishwashing at Houlihans was very easy and didn't require a lot of knowledge, the pay was very good. It was easy to get hired and stay employed. I liked working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience working for Houlihans
Server, Bartender, and Salary Bar Manager (Former Employee) –  Strongsville, OHJune 26, 2018
On paper it seems like an amazing place to work, it's been around for a long time which is impressive. The money as a server, or bartender is decent but you have to hustle for it. They often times set expectations for you to follow without following them themselves. No leading by example.
Pros
Money is decent, the guests are nice, the menu has a little of everything on it making them open for all types of diners.
Cons
Upper management is awful, they have horrible communication skills, they don't give everyone equal opportunities to shine, and never hold thank you themselves accountable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Garland, TXJune 21, 2018
as a server you will work your butt off and hopefully make good tips. No guaranteed salary, basically tips. Some of the managers were ok, others were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an okay job
Expo/Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILJune 14, 2018
cool staff nothing to make a career from that company
not enough hours no benefits
management dint really know much and you pretty much stay in the position you were hired for
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high paced hosting job
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 12, 2018
very high paced hosting job if you weren't hosting you would be used somewhere else porting food cleaning or asking guests how they were doing. difficult for a first job
Pros
discounted food
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment with lasting friendships
Head Bartender (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSJune 7, 2018
The people who work their are all friendly and a great time to be around. Most days it felt like hanging out with friends rather than working. We all worked hard together and stayed poise during the busy rushes. The biggest improvement would be on the management side. They didn't put an effort into improving the wait staff and ignored many ideas from me personally that would benefit the employees and companies bottom line.
Pros
50% discount on all food
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great envirorment
Server Trainer/Server (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PAJune 1, 2018
Outgoing, facepaced, friendly, lots of money, great atmosphere,lots of friends,great pay, understanding ownwr,great customers,fun place, always smiling
Pros
Everything
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Hostess (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 27, 2018
I worked during the lunch shift it was a great work environment and great specials and prices. employees got a great discount working and could eat for cheap
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced and positive work enviroment
Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Leawood, KSMay 26, 2018
Extremely supportive management who worked wonderfully with their staff. Adjusted to the staffs needs and created a family work environment that made coming to work everyday fun and happy. Busy restaurant with great tip averages.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Very little time for breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and fun enviorment
Line cook, Lead closing cook (Current Employee) –  Strongsville, OHMay 24, 2018
Friday and Saturday can be insane but you can get through it the team will help you get through the rush the rest of the day are more relaxed except around the holidays were every day feels like friday and saturday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Houlihan's Restaurants Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question