Housing Authority of Baltimore City Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and grow
Program Implementation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 12, 2018
Great place to work and grow.
Learned about working with public housing residents
Learned how to operate within the various housing systems and programs
Pros
Flexible Schedule, training opportunities, etc.
Cons
Short staff; lack of resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
Trg Coordinator / HR/Trg Assist II/Admin Assist (Former Employee) –  Human ResourcesJune 21, 2018
A typical day is scheduling training for over 800 employees.
I learning the operating budget and how to train Supervisors and Managers.
busy.
Juggling several training at different locations.
See employees getting trained and then promoted.
Pros
Training
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was hands-on.
Baltimore (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 4, 2018
Management was always available and helpful. Workplace environment promoted productivity. Meetings and directives given to staff were always clear which made work projects easy to complete.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Program Specialist
Customer Relations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 23, 2018
During my time as a Program Specialist at the housing authority, i had to adapt to a fast pace work environment, where i gad to enforce federal rules.
Pros
Providing Great Customer Service
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance and Repair Worker (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MD 21202April 8, 2018
It was a fun place to work and learn most of the maintenance for beginners .Helping one another over come hard jobs and completing all the task that was put before you
Pros
learning the trades
Cons
cleaning around dumpster
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Maintenance Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 21, 2018
I'm in charge of overseeing inspections, work order repairs. My day consisted of making sure my team was working in an efficient and safe manner while providing residents with great customer service in a high crime profile area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Pay
BUILDING MONITOR (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 23, 2018
I was with this company for 10yrs and this was my first full time job with benefits, the schedule worked for me because I was a single mom of 2, The pay was not the best, the benefits were pretty good.
Pros
overtime
Cons
salary and not having a relife
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn alot from this job
Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 20, 2018
It is a fast paced environment and close attention to detail is requirement. Its a stressful job but as long as you remain focus and have patience you would do great.
Pros
You can learn alot from here and great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shop Around
Investigator (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 27, 2017
Overworked with little pay.
No sense of Structure depending on your unit.
I have a wonderful supervisor however she does NOT get the support she needs to get the unit to run at peak effectiveness
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
no sick days, Low Pay, little room for advancement, LOTS of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Engineering Associate II (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 29, 2017
A busy and hectic daily requirement in reviewing customer Building Permit Applications. On a slow day, I would see, maybe 30 applications. On a busy day, upwards of 75. Great place to work, but lacked future promotional opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This position caused me to be isolated most of the time.
Counselor III (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 14, 2017
A typical day at work involved doing home visits to inspect housekeeping skills. To do referrals for home healthcare, substance abuse treatment, child abuse and many other concerns. I dealt with any family concerns and issues either in the office or in the home as needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive and fun place towork
Employment Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 2, 2017
Great Place to work. Co workers and supervisors are the best. Everyone is passionate about servicing our clients. I get the golden opportunity to work in the community and provide of clients with a life changing experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional growth & competitive pay
Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 31, 2017
A role that offers me a competitive and challenging environment where I can serve the organization and establish an enjoyable career for myself at better pay ..
Pros
Secured government job with Health Benefits
Cons
Better Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work, hate the toxic environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 17, 2017
I love the work and benefits but each administration change bought more chaos and back biting. Change is never easy but when there are deceptive practices it instills low morale and a culture of mistrust.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Terrible bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Habc
Postal Clerk II/ Full-time (Former Employee) –  Baltimore City, MDSeptember 20, 2017
The work was easy, I really miss HABC. I didn't want to leave but my immediate supervisor was the worst and the pay didn't help. I loved my job and enjoyed working it.
Pros
loved my job
Cons
my immediate supervisor, and the pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proivde needed service to resident of Baltimore
Deputy Chief of Operations (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 18, 2017
The people here are great. working with the resident of Baltimore has been a great experience. the staff is open to new ideas and have work to achieve goal even the agency has been under funded
Pros
fullfilling
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Program Specialist (Former Employee) –  HVCPJune 14, 2017
I worked here at two different divisions both had lazy management. High school work culture mentality. Your risking your life in Public Housing and HVCP is stressful with huge case loads and not enough pay.
Pros
You learn all you need to know about affordable housing
Cons
Work environment and the management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Project Director (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 8, 2017
Busy and full of opportunities to collaborate. Opportunities to work with marginalized communities needing support from local businesses and community leaders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housing was a good place to work.
Supervisor of Operations (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 8, 2017
Housing offered a lot of programs that were needed for workers that didn't have skills to preform the jobs that were needed. A lot of employees were criminals that came from the penial institution and weren't disciplined to supervisors and there were supervisors that were commiting crimes and were supervisors that couldn't supervise. There were the criminals! .
Pros
Classes were offered for crew members that wanted to advance.
Cons
A lot of faults were negleted
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Chief (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 18, 2017
Good place to work it has its good and bad days. For the most part it is a good company to work for. It is high stress as with anything but the work is rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Housing Authority of Baltimore City. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 48 reviews
515
418
312
22
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Housing Authority of Baltimore City Reviews by Location