Houston Community College Employee Reviews

Found 423 reviews matching the search See all 426 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Experience
College Instructor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 15, 2019
I love teaching at HCC and I learn new materials every day while teaching and working with my HCC students. I am looking for teaching more classes while I am working on my PhD.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good teaching experience
Adjunct Engineering Professor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 13, 2019
Teaching at Houston Community College was a great experience in terms of professional growth and development. I developed new skill sets in my teaching and enjoyed working with students with various capabilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work for low payment. Poor management.
Career Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 12, 2019
No consistency among campuses. Lack of training. Poor management with lack of skills.The hardest part is long meetings with long agendas with no focus or common purpose.
Unsecured job since they're laying off employees with 25+ years of experience.
Pros
Free lunches and time off
Cons
Low salary and poor benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 11, 2019
Working at Houston Community College System was interesting since I got to learn about office Jobs. I used to answer phone calls, transfer them, assist professors in dealing with the xerox machine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay.
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 7, 2019
Honestly, you do so much for the amount of work that you do. There’s no hopes of anyone moving up positions or being a full time employee. Management is horrible and they cut off your hours (since it benefits them). It’s slow paced so you can do your homework at times (college students). You get all types of attitudes from students. Other staff members are pretty nice and some will make you feel like family. It’s a good job for college students looking for a first time job. They work with your school schedule.
Pros
Get to do your homework when it’s slow, Don’t work on Sundays
Cons
They cut off your hours, poor management, a lot of rude people, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environment
EEO Investigator/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 26, 2019
The culture is toxic HR is a mess and they mistreat employees I want to leave as I have no advancement opportunities in my current position I love my department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very relaxed work place
Tutor 1 (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 24, 2019
HCC is a very relaxed workplace and it doesn't really induce stress. I worked as a tutor tutoring high school students in math. It was simple and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience has been Unforgettable
Enrollment Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 22, 2019
The position has been rewarding in multiple ways that are priceless. The staff are lovely people that collaborate on all events as a team. The synergy is one that should be duplicated for years to come and in every organization.
Pros
Job stability
Cons
Insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hcc
Enrollment Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 11, 2019
Best place to be at. Managers are understanding, they work around the schedule. Team work is always supported. Positive environment to work. No retaliations
Pros
Easy going
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job
Dean of Workforce (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2019
Stable job. can be considered a dead end position. If you want to grow you need to find another organization. This is great for an individual that would like to retire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn’t work at HCC I was a student.
Student (Former Employee) –  Stafford, TXFebruary 4, 2019
I did not work at Houston community college I was a student. I took my basics for one semester and then started back to work again. It was also a learning experience as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Instructor/Certified Commercial Examiner (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 26, 2019
Rewarding in that I was instrumental in seeing that others were able to move from one point in life to a point where they were able to prosper. I was given the ability to grow both personally and to develop my skills professionally.
Pros
see above
Cons
Institutional bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was very professional and organized
Afterschool Learning Center Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 24, 2019
This job was very structured and formal. I put in many applications and files into the computer. Also i checked in co workers and filed out time sheets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Work Environment
Veterans Affairs Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2019
Job is fine, but pay is not too great for part time employees. Have to have a degree in order to be promoted. Environment is professional and I haven't had any issues with management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 17, 2019
Houston Community College is a great place to work. I spent many good years there. Unfortunately, the position I held was eliminated and as a result, I was laid off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Student (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 12, 2019
Education is mediocre. Really wouldn't recommend. Some professors are very interested in your education but others I feel are there for a paycheck. Or to pay off student loans.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Student Aid Services (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 4, 2019
Great Learning experience to have learned teamwork, as well as caring for my fellow piers. Flexible hours and decent pay, as I was interning with SSP Engineering Firm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certain Programs have better leadership than others...
STAFF SUPPORT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 29, 2018
The Coleman building and the new building across the street are excellent facilities for the allied health programs. The operating rooms and scrub areas are hospital grade. However, the program director was unprofessional, quick tempered, verbally abusive, and extremely forgetful. I don't believe that I was properly utilized for my skill sets. I am thankful for the opportunity to have worked there, but it was stressful.
Pros
Awesome & dedicated faculty and staff
Cons
Poor leadership and management at the director level
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Support manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 24, 2018
I love working here because you get to meet different people. The environment is friend friendly. I love helping out with upcoming events and parties we put together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for Experts
Expert (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 21, 2018
It is always nice to give back your gained knowledge to the community. It is perfect place to help students to gain experience and knowledge.
I recommend to every professionals to help students to have better community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Houston Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 426 reviews
5208
4118
369
222
19

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Houston Community College Reviews by Location