Houston Northwest Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 89 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital, great Dr's and staff
Radiologic Technologist / Full Time (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 22, 2019
I enjoyed working here back in the 90's. It was a great place to work, friendly staff that worked well together. This hospital also has a very good compliment of physicians. The Imaging department is very busy and the Radiologists are awesome.
Pros
Great Radiologists, thriving hospital, friendly staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you never know what to expect
Phlebotomist / Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 18, 2019
good work environment always a learning experience work is within moderations I prefer busy days the time flies by but great for productivity all in all a good place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Health Information Management Technician II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2019
I enjoyed working at HNW. We were a family outside of our on family. We did parties and showers for weddings, babies and retirement. We did holiday pot luck lunches.
Pros
discount lunch, team work, rotated holidays
Cons
insurance got expensive, needed cost of living increase
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Hospital ever
Director of Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 1, 2018
I worked for this company and loved it. The CEO knows everyone by name. That's amazing. The benefits are great and plenty of room for advancement. They care about there staff.
Pros
Insurance is great
Cons
You won't want to leave
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Patient Care Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 14, 2018
Great company to work for. They will keep you with an assignment. I have learned about many different specialty clinics throughout my floating.The hardest part of the job is when you stop learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
ER/Pre-Op/PACU Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 5, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is the friendly staff. I love that education is always available to me, but the hardest part of job is when the patients refuse care or services
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and educational place to work
Emergency Room Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 5, 2018
A typical day of work consisted of assisting with initial lab draws with special attention to blood cultures. Friendly and busy workplace environment.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
short breaks or non at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 18, 2018
Better employee medical benefits. Increase employee pay. Decrease patient care workload for RN's, RT's and PCA's so the mission statement can actually be fulfilled.
Pros
Nice Co-workers
Cons
Pay a little low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work family.
Medical Laboratory Scientist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 12, 2018
Love my work family, I felt like I had always been there. They are very willing to help train, cover for you if sick, etc.
Typical hospital, lots of good, few not so great as always. Lab underpaid & under recognized.
Hardest part - the COMMUTE !
Best part - Doing something that MATTERS to people, and - the birthday celebrations. :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the compassion we have for our patients.
Clerk-Packs (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 10, 2018
Love the people who I work with. Coworkers are so commitment to help other. We believe working as team. Love to encourage patient and listen to their complains.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How to organize my time, training for PICC placement
Infusion RN, PICC placement (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 26, 2018
Houston Northwest Medical Center was a friendly work place with caring employees. Training was provided for new technology, and support given by the physicians.
Pros
Security when leaving building after dark
Cons
Frequent turnover in mid level management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 22, 2018
Nice laid back place to work. People are really nice and really enjoy what they do. Fast pace dr.and nurses, clean and stirdy environment and they love to cater to your needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cozy office
BIRTH REGISTRAR (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 18, 2018
It was a ok the staff was great to work with the supervisor was not that great. Pay and vacation time was good... Rolling 12 month call off so if you are sick for more than 6 days a year you are going to be written up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HNW is amazing over all
Reg/Phlebotomy (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 14, 2018
Busy,
Education is always available
Most enjoyable part is helping those who want to be helped
Management is great at least the Laboratory/ side is
Hardest part of job is when the patients refuse your services
Work place culture is good
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for work experience
Imaging Technologist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 5, 2018
To start off straight out from school this place is good to learn. The culture there however feels very high school drama-ish. You are either accepted in their cliques or not. Gets old real quick when you are there to work and serve patients and not for drama in your life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice hospital to work at while it was employee owned. There have been a lot of changes over the last 20 Years.
Registrar/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 31, 2018
Loved working in pre op for surgery.
Opportunity to interact with all medical staff and patients preparing for surgery.
Great team of coworkers in a department that was very busy a few years ago.
Business downsized as more hospitals moved into the area and we were brought by HCA
Houston Northwest used to feel like one big family.
Pros
occasional free meals through out the year
Cons
good healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is easy and coworkers are great.
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 29, 2018
Overall it’s not a bad place to work at. No career advancement for me and feel like the pay for amount of work you do isn’t fair. Management is good can’t complain on that part.
Pros
Off 6 days in a row/great coworkers /good supervisor
Cons
Work 7 days for 12 hours half a day on last work week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for learning new things about a hospital.
Food and Nutrition Services (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 22, 2018
It has its up and downs, the people inside the facility are great, but the employees and employers are unprofessionally rude. Comments aren't taken serious nor cared for.
Pros
Great knowledge on physical health, and free food.
Cons
Disrespectful co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L&d
Clinical Staff Nurse, Labor and Delivery Unit (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 16, 2018
I worked in L&D, usual day consisted of coming to admit laboring patients and to support and encourage the laboring mom. We worked closely with interdisciplinary team for the well being of the patients and newborn. We discussed changes which were coming to our new facility and discussed ways to make the transition easier and help it flow well.
Pros
It was a very busy unit, lots of oppurtunity for learning.
Cons
High stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work
MICU Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2018
Great Dr's to work with, great management team and great leadership. Tuition reimbursement and career advancement opportunities. Flexible schedule and self schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Houston Northwest Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 89 reviews
533
425
319
28
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Houston Northwest Medical Center Reviews by Location