Howard Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 88 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can instruct even if you are not trained as a teacher
German Lab Instructor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 3, 2018
A good starter job for new teachers. Difficult to be trained as a teacher if you do not have an education degree. Other adjunct instructors are very helpful. The outcomes recording software, Canvas, is very useful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to retain former students
Tutor/Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDNovember 19, 2018
The ability of Howard Community College to maintain former students to act as tutors and adjunct faculty, allows for their academic programs to come full circle.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere, strong sense of collaboration
Cons
Sparse hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for adjunct faculty
Adjunct Faculty Instructor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDNovember 4, 2018
I loved my time at HCC. My classes were mine to run and the results were consistent with the school and more importantly the students I was responsible for. It was a part time post retirement job and a blast
Pros
Freedom to run a class as a class
Cons
Stupid faculty meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student / Instructor assistant
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 25, 2018
Answering phone calls and Emails
re-rout emails
typing recommendation letters and other requirements.

this job taught me how to be professional dealing with students and Instructors even though it is tough sometimes.

it's fun dealing with different people from different background.
but also hard because we have also to deal with people with special needs and sometimes that is frustrating.
Pros
Diversity
Cons
No advanced training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No student left behind
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 16, 2018
Excellent full-time/part-time faculty collaboration! Students always come first and are supported by all faculty and staff. Inspiring leadership and peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Facilities Staff (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 8, 2018
Pleasant working environment. Great benefits. Student success is the ultimate goal of all employees. Diversity is very much encouraged and everyone's voice is heard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Peer mentor/Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MD 21044August 13, 2018
This is a great place to work, learn, and grow the people are very willing to help. The hardest part of the job for me was leaving every day. The environment is so family like that most of the time I didn't feel like I was at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience yet as an adjunct
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 13, 2018
In the English and World Languages department of HCC, we adjuncts are appreciated and treated as equals. Schedules are steady, and the pay is competitive.
Pros
respect, flexibility in schedule, friendly coworkers
Cons
lack of full time possibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time students
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 6, 2018
I was a tutor at the Learning Assistant Center tutoring both Math and Science. The job was relaxing. Sometimes students would rather need you to help them with their homework then actually understand the material.
Overall it was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
ESL Instructor/ESL Lab instructor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 29, 2018
It was a great place to work! Good experience, great colleagues, good atmosphere. I enjoyed flexible hours. My supervisor was the best! Overall, good experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
IT Help Desk/Desktop Support (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 28, 2018
its his is one of the better community colleges! Professors are fantastic! Staff is just as amazing! Students are even great! If you don't get along with most fellow students, it must be you.
Best nursing school in the country! New science building! A new bakery added back in 2012!
I recommend this school for anyone & everyone that wants an education with class' that make sense!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place !
Associate Director, Howard P.R.I.D.E (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 21, 2018
Amazing place to work! Great environment, wonderful people to work with. Thought leaders. Looks to create pathways to success for all students. Values staff.
Pros
ALL pros.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MD 21044June 19, 2018
Typical work day consisted of tutoring other students. Looking over essays. Explaining assignments to students using PowerPoint. Interacting with students
Pros
free food
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a few hours while I attended classes
English/Writing tutor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 29, 2018
This job just paid for my gas to and from work, and class. I worked for a semester with a big break in between so it was a split shift. I got no training and there were students with learning disabilities and they expected me to help them.
Pros
Could do my homework and study
Cons
not enough hours to make it worth my while, and they just keep on the tutors that have been there for years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would have to love teaching.
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 28, 2018
Not a job you would take for the money.
Would have to have another income source to get by.
Long hours reviewing classwork and preparing lessons.
Students expect online video help, 24 hour homework assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful senior coleague
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 24, 2018
A positive working environment. Senior colleagues are very helpful and academic staff are exposed to professional development series. i will highly recommend working at HCC.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large program with a vision
Adjunct Instructor of English (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 11, 2018
The department attempts to set a continuum of services and to meet students' learning experiences.

Teams are established so that content specialists can share ideas.

Opportunities for mentorship and review of practices are available.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 9, 2018
I love working here because it is an easier relaxed work place and it is where i go to school. Also the people i work with are very nice and it is easier to ask for some time off if needed.
Pros
Close to school
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work environment
Lab Aide (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 7, 2018
A typical day at work as a lab aide included setting up the student lab benches with the appropriate experiment materials. I learned how to set up a gel electrophoresis and also the steps that go into making them. I found it a very interesting semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very nice place to work and their treat you like family
STUDENT ADMISSION ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 4, 2018
My typical day at work is me helping new and returning student with enrolling for class, I learned about the various programs we have, what students need to do in order to get in the programs we have. It is a very good place to work at. The staffs are welcoming, there is no discrimination there. I don't any difficulties on the job and I enjoy meeting new and old student, I enjoy working independently and has a team, I also enjoy working on various project and department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Howard Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 88 reviews
549
424
311
21
13

See reviews about

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Howard Community College Reviews by Location