Howard County General Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 154 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Howard County General Hospital selected this as a representative review
Friendly and professional environment
Staff RN, PACU (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MD 21044May 11, 2018
I really enjoyed my excellent opportunity for employment at Howard County Hospital in Columbia MD. The atmosphere is very friendly and professional. I had many opportunities for education and advancing my career. The management was supportive of the nursing staff and listened to staff input.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
on call requirement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect part time job
Telecommunications and Guest Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJanuary 27, 2019
Loved my part time job work at night ,perfect extra income. Worked at not answering phone for hospital and calling emergency codes/Dr's schedules done.
Pros
Perfect part time
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Punitive enviroment
Telemetry RN (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJanuary 20, 2019
Punitive, negative atmosphere ever since they were taken over by Hopkins. Used to a great place to work. Now the managers are trying to meet quotas and aren't as focused on patient care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure employer with strong backing (Johns Hopkins)
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJanuary 18, 2019
Great place to work with the ability to learn and grow. Benefits are secure and competitive. Management is held accountable by annual employee engagement survey. People are terrific at HCGH.
Pros
Security
Cons
Commute from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small community hospital
Clinical Education Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJanuary 17, 2019
Pleasant place to work. The staff that work here are very supportive.
It is located in a quiet area that is safe. The hospital provides free parking in a garage.
Pros
supportive staff
Cons
cafeteria has very limited options and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it has nice work environment
RN (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 18, 2018
HCGH is a great place to work, very friendly environment with great benefits. However, the salary is low comparing to other hospitals around similar locations.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Low pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management Team
General Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 16, 2018
This was a job study per school program. I attended school and left at 12pm to go to work study. This enabled me to explore the job market and obtain teamwork skills and learning my social skills in the work field.
Pros
Teamwork and listening skills for the real world
Cons
I could not continue as the job was 1/2017-5/2017 when I graduated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Patient Clerical Associate (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 13, 2018
I absolutely loved working at Howard County General. I left because I was offered a job much closer to home with a pay increase. I should have stayed instead of going to Sinai.
Pros
Great People
Cons
To far
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Howard County, MDOctober 18, 2018
Stressful work environment. Culture was a hit or miss depending on team members and shift. Pay was better than most places for pharmacy tech. Learned a lot and was given opportunities to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Howard County Gen Hosp
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 9, 2018
Very tense working environment; supervisory management lacked ability to resolve employee conflict.
Techs are assigned to different rooms daily.
Work with students.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
RN case manager/Utilization Review (Former Employee) –  MarylandSeptember 3, 2018
utilization review and discharge planning in the hospital setting consistent with all staff. Organized and cohesive department with adequate supervision.
Pros
organized department
Cons
difficulties in large corporation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Benefits
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 13, 2018
Great place to work. Take advantage of your benefits and resources. They help you immensely in your work life balance. Your future depends on you taking advantage of those benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patent Care Tech
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 23, 2018
I loved working with patients and nursing them back to health.
loved talking to them when they needed someone to talk to.
I love working people and being around them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not challenging
Clinical Nurse II (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 12, 2018
I only worked here for just under a year due to feeling I was not challenged enough or learning as much as I wanted to. So much emphasis was placed on the patient experience which is important but it was so extreme at times, it interfered with patient safety and nursing requirements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 2, 2018
I love the people that I have come across at the hospital. I learned to help others. I enjoyed working with my supervisors. I hope to learn more and increase my skills in the health field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice beginner job
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MD 21044June 24, 2018
Please disregard my comment about Healthcare Strategies on the review page. I didn't understand that I would also have the oppotunity to rate Howard County General Hospital (HCGH)

HCGH is a small hospital in Columbia, MD. It is a great place to begin a career. I work as a Utilization Review RN, but prior to that as a Case Manager. I review approximately 30 patients per day using MCG or Interrqual criteria to support medical necessity for the inpatient stay. I coordinate the Peer to Peer Review process with our Medical Directors, and communicate directly with commercial payor representatives. Daily, I collaborate with a multi-disciplinary team (doctors, physical therapists, dieticians, etc) to ensure patients get timely treatments to decrease delays in care, and ensure that patients are appropriately advanced to the next level of care.
Pros
collaboration
Cons
few opportunities for career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the top community hospitals in the nation.
Cardiac Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 14, 2018
Excellent company to work for, great team of doctors and staff, I enjoyed the 29yrs I was employed there. The best part of my jobs was counter acting with the patients, seeing the smile on their faces when they arrive for their treatments. Knowing I was part of the process of their healing.

Thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Departments have been restructured since my employment
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Howard County, MDJune 10, 2018
The position of Case Manager and UR Nurse at Howard County General has been restructured since my employment. I am not able to comment on current positions in these areas due to the above.
Pros
fast paced, educational
Cons
overlaping positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 2, 2018
I worked for Howard County General Hospital &Hated it. Management is all over the place. People Are constantly In&Out. Earlier shifts dont do their job and the next shift is expected to do it all. Other employees give so much attitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mostly a friendly place
Clinical Education Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MD 21044May 30, 2018
I enjoyed my position as a CEPM. but i need a change.
In this position i reported to the director of Education.
My work entails training of staff.

i learned a lot in this position.
My director was good to me.
Pros
free parking
Cons
short breaks if any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High standards of professionalism and care.Fast paced and stressful enviornment.
Medical subacute nurse (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 18, 2018
The clinical mentors and training is the best recollection at my brief time at HCGH.
The hardest part of the job was continued pressure at taking on more work load (patients) and having enough time to administer medications...new adminssions ,medication reconcilliation and discharges.
Pros
Supportive mentorship
Cons
An intense workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Howard County General Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 154 reviews
560
448
331
28
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Howard County General Hospital Reviews by Location