Howard University Employee Reviews

Found 306 reviews matching the search See all 308 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
PROGRAM COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 12, 2019
Keep the office running and support the programs at the Hospital and the University for the Physicians and Scientist. Maintaining reports, spreadsheets, documents record, etc.
Pros
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, family oriented, employee oriented and task driven
Compliance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 4, 2019
Management was great to work with. Had great exposure for the brief period of my contract. I was proud to be a member of the team. Friendly, warm and inviting work atmosphere; at the same time, very focused on task completion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Measurable outcomes!
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 14, 2019
A typical day at work was quite enjoyable because of the projects that I worked on to support enhancing the learning environments of pre-school and elementary school children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Student Loan Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 2, 2019
I wouldn't recommend working here is your working in a low position. There was no room for growth. The employees are not paid well. I did enjoy working with the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at Howard.
Information Systems and Services Coordinator II (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 20, 2018
I graduated from Howard and worked there in the ILAB for almost a decade. Help Desk and tech support across the university. Management was laid back. Workplace culture was fast-paced and customer-service focused. Co-workers were very nice. Hardest part of the job was the volume. The best part was the people and customers.
Pros
Great workplace.
Cons
Volume at certain times good get hectic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a decent place to work
Special Projects Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 12, 2018
A typical day at work was always fast paced. I loved my boss because she took me under her wing- which is the most enjoyable part of my job. However, because she has a low budget, she couldn't give me a raise.
Pros
Working with brilliant motivating people
Cons
No money in budget for raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 28, 2018
Would recommend. If you want to find out apply for a position of your qualification and let the chips fall where they may. This survey is irrelevant and not sure what purpose.
Pros
Unlimited access
Cons
Large environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but inspiring
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 28, 2018
No organization is without it's cons. Howard University does come with some institutional challenges, but the students and leadership manage to inspire and motivate employees to provide excellence in leadership and service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place to Work
IT Director (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 19, 2018
A typical work day can range from a steady pace to quite chaotic.
A platform for varies applications.
management can be challenging.
Not enough finance.

The employees are the enjoyable part of the job
Pros
daily IT challenges
Cons
finance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teammates
Desktop Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 16, 2018
This group is one of the best I have worked with. There is no cut throat mentality. We all share information and work well together. The technological information is shred openly and encouraged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Institutional failure
Management (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 15, 2018
University has failed to pay subcontractor and vendors in a timely fashion. This creates a very difficult position to get quality workmanship for needed university capital projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very professional work place.
Senior Collections Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 13, 2018
The University has made this office productive, with few employees. The job required several other functions during enrollment, and registration. Accounting,and debt management for the student accounts office.
Pros
Professional Leadership, at the time of my employment.
Cons
Low pay, small department.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 12, 2018
Unprofessional and doesn't pay well at all. Be prepared to be paid the lowest in your state. You will most likely not get promoted unless a friend promotes you.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement
Cons
Everything else!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution of higher education.
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 11, 2018
Great institution of higher education. I received optimal classroom and laboratory training as well as professional development. Thank you for your question.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work still needs to be done to improve impact on employees
Cash Accountant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 10, 2018
Not so much of a good work/life balance. Management still needs a lot of work because of the many changes that have happened within the organization. I think management also needs to give their employees a voice; so they know what they need to do to maintain successful and loyal employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To optain a position in your organization that will utilize my experience and work ethics to your operation.
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 4, 2018
While working at Howard University and by not attending the school I learned a lot just by working their. My grandfather and my mother also work at Howard and have been their for years this tells me and also let me know that Howard is a great place to work.
Pros
Job incentive
Cons
Verbal abuse
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job duties, such as typing reading speaking to staff visitors and students
Access Control Operator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 24, 2018
Always busy typing police reports. Learning new HiPAA Law
customer service. Management is great, culture mixed. Driving to work.
Parties award cermonies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate School
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 20, 2018
It was a good work environment supporting research collaboration. As a Graduate Assistant, I worked full time on research projects and aso taught several courses in Biology.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the best job to learn and build opportunity
Clinical Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 19, 2018
Real good day reviewing emails making phone follow up on paper documents.
Research is very important for the science of human care.
Making sure all document are sent in a timely manner and returned.
Pros
Go to research conferences
Cons
Making unknown time lines
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Emergency Department Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 13, 2018
I liked my time at Howard University Hospital, Its a friendly environment, I learnt a lot, The people and staff were friendly , the pay was competitive,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Howard University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 308 reviews
598
4105
377
213
115

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

1.4InHerSight Score

1.0Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Howard University Reviews by Location