Howard University Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 274 reviews
Ratings breakdown
588
495
366
213
112
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 272 reviews matching the search See all 274 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great and positive work invoriment
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 15, 2018
Working with a great team just doing what was required of me on a daily basis.The management team was truly amazing I am grateful of the privilege to work for such a great team. The hardest part of the job was just pleasing everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for growth but there's more work to do
Research Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 25, 2018
The environment is great for growth, you're surrounded by people who are leading researchers / authors on minority issues. It's a very inspiring environment, but administration has to improve to truly make this place exceptional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Financial Aid Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 14, 2018
The days are usually stressful, they want you to do everything at once. I learned that they do not care about their hard working employees. Management is horrible, they need to take series of leadership training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Budget Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 6, 2018
Howard was a good experience to learn the culture and processes of Higher Ed. The people are good and definitely easy to work with. After relocating to Virginia the commute has been a challenge in addition to the lack of further growth has contributed to my decision to move on.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive place
Accountant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 4, 2018
Competitive place
High learning curve
Constant change environment
Lots of people to work with from different departments
Large educational institution, so lots of work needed to be done
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indentured Servitude.
RESEARCHER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 3, 2018
To many, a job is simply showing up and receiving the paycheck; every now and then, actually helping someone with his/her problem may get done. But do not count on it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
ASALH Founder of Black History Month (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 29, 2018
The culture of the workplace is very down to business. The supervisor was always making sure each employee was doing work. The co-worker are very helpful.
Pros
Break At Anytime
Cons
Stay late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace was always busy, sometimes overwhelming.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  District of Columbia, DCMay 28, 2018
Most of the time at work, I start at 7:30. At the time that I was working at Howard University, it was always busy. I would get reports, answer to patient needs/calls, bringing them their medication, etc. I loved what I was doing, but the amount you had to do from the minute you walked in was sometimes overwhelming.
Pros
Good environment to work in and lots of teamwork.
Cons
Not enough staff and schedule times often don't conform with your own schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-Time Employment
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 16, 2018
I have been working at Howard part-time for nearly four years now, and I can say that I still enjoy it. I have worked on special programming during the summer and on the weekends throughout the year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hu
Undergraduate Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 9, 2018
Easygoing position....was able to create my own schedule and they worked with me being that I was a student employee. It was a good experience to advance my skills in sciences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher Education was a great field to learn and progress.
Assistant Director of Enrollment Services (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 15, 2018
Greetings,

Higher Education was a great field to learn and progress. It was an unforgettable experience to see the students fulfill their dreams and accomplish their goals.

Thank you.
Pros
Tuition Reimbursement for you and family
Cons
Location was questionable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant Place to Work
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 10, 2018
Working at Howard University is very pleasant and competitive. The school officials will do their best to make sure that teachers get all necessary equipments for their classroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people that I met while working there.
Dean of Residence Life & University Housing (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 4, 2018
The people that I worked with were amazing, smart and dedicated to serving students. Enjoyed meeting the students and providing them with excellent customer service while helping them to matriculate from freshmen year to graduation.
Pros
People that you work with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Streeful
Budget Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC 20059March 21, 2018
Typical work day - stressful
I learned that not everyone is your friend
management - the overall mamangement needs to be adjusted.
workplace culture is not geered to older employees.
hardest par ot the job is dealing with periodic employment adjustments being without cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HU- Oh What a Place
Sr. Strategic Recruitment Business Partner (FTE) (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 20, 2018
HU is an amazing place to work on the merit of the nostalgia alone. The issues come in with the lack of consistency from the HR Department, the mis-management of money and sometimes a lack of resources. I think the University in it's entirety could benefit from taking a hard look at it's front line and mid management teams and remove those who no longer fit the culture or can contribute to the vision of the team.
Pros
paid winter and spring breaks, great 403B match, free tuition
Cons
Lack of Heat or Air conditioning
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
paid student (Former Employee) –  DC - District of Columbia, DCMarch 7, 2018
pretty good it was a ideal place to help grow as a person. "Howard is the place to go for the arts experience."
Great school better relations, family type setting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met a lot of good people at Howard University. Good environment but low pay
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 3, 2018
I met a lot of good people at Howard University but the pay was low. Students were very eager to learn. I enjoy working with the faculty and administration was fair.
Pros
good people good enviroment and good bene
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad Student
Graduate Student (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 2, 2018
Collaborative environment and supportive cohorts in the graduate school. With supportive cohorts in the graduate program, it forces you to become a better professional .
Pros
collaborative
Cons
slow processing times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Admissions Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington/Metro, DCFebruary 20, 2018
This is a decent place to work at. The people are fairly nice and the work is not too difficult. My role was behind the scenes of the admissions office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education
Academic Success Coach, Admissions Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 8, 2018
Howard University offers its employees a competitive benefits package which includes dental, medical, vision, 401K, and educational benefits. It is not uncommon to encounter employees that have been employed on average 20 plus years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Howard University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.4InHerSight Score

1.0Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Howard University Reviews by Location