HRA/DEPT OF SOCIAL SERVICES Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hra
Department of Homeless Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 21, 2018
Department of Homeless Service (HRA) was a great job, I gain many tools I can use in the future.I was able to help others over the phone ever morning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a caseworker.
Caseworker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 3, 2018
Meeting and greeting people was great. It made the day pass quickly.
I learned how to improve my interviewing skills. Every day brought something new. Sometimes you never know what was going to happen in a days work. My favorite part of my job was working with people with disabilities. Working with the hearing impaired was most enjoyable. I do not know how to sign but I was able to understand and help them resolve some of their issues. It was fun and it was appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was pleasure to work HRA
End user Support /Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 11, 2018
In a typical day at work, I worked in either in groups or by myself. I have learned how to communicate with other staff including management. The workplace culture is that hard work is always expected, and that if there is any difficulties that you experience, your fellow staff members can assist you in any kind of difficulties.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Service Job
Eligibility Specialist II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 20, 2017
A great experience in the Human Services field. Although at times stressful, the benefits of the job outweighed the disadvantaged/ impoverished clients. There are opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Dealing with an ecoomically disadvantaged community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Clerical Associate III (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NY 11238September 5, 2017
Great opportunity for for growth and career mobility.Good benefits, paid sick,vacation and paid holidays. Competitive salary and a clean and safe work environment with state of the art equipment.
Pros
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and sometimes fun
Eligibility Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 13, 2017
helping customers find their way around a sometimes tough life situation. while learning something about each person and myself everyday. The work place culture was very pro-customer which when staff issues arouse there was a delay in understanding and help, which sometimes made the job very stressful
Pros
having worker appreciation day
Cons
overwhelming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My life is being turned into next level
Desktop Tech Support (Intern) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 2, 2017
Typically , I do work there on business days. I have learned so many things regarding IT administration. Creating new user id and filter things that can be secured. Security procedure through desktop.

Lot of people from different cultures what I can share my things to be part of them as multicultural.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Clerical Associate III/Payment Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 26, 2017
I learned how to manage my time. Good people
Scanned and index documents, taken phone messages, make copies and filing. the Hardest part is not making mistakes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alot of paperwork.
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 2, 2017
Very productive very busy,some employees work very hard. A lot of overtime because many people apply for social services that there is a lot of backlog (many paperwork).
Cons
job is too stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work and people are very nice
Technical Support (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 5, 2017
It's paid internship and no cotract for me at this time but It's New York City job which is good plus benefits.
Good management
Pros
Promotion
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Determined the eligibility of applicants for SNAP benefits from the necessary documentation that was as by the agency
Eligibility Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 2, 2016
My day starts with my Director giving out a case load of application to process to see if all the documents were giving from a client to determine if they eligible for SNAP. There were approximately 7worker to a unit and we all had cases to complete and be signed off my our supervisor
Pros
Able to learn and help as many applicants as possible
Cons
The assignment ended to soon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Spanish Translator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 2, 2015
Translated documents into Spanish and food stamp forms as well. it was fun to work for them but the management was very poor with little knowledge about the translation field that made it hard to edit documents for them.

I learned over all to cope with this difficulty and was relieve when my contract ended.
Pros
good place to work
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow.
Job Opportunity Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 11, 2014
I worked with a very diverse population of co-workers and clients. Working at HRA/FIA taught me a lot about myself and other people, it was a great experience.
Pros
Meeting different people.
Cons
Working late.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great communications skills
Job Opportunity Specialist/ Office worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 16, 2013
the most enjoyable part of the job to see smile on your client face
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 12Report

See more HRA/DEPT OF SOCIAL SERVICES reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HRA/DEPT OF SOCIAL SERVICES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 16 reviews
55
47
32
22
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.5Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture

HRA/DEPT OF SOCIAL SERVICES Reviews by Location