Human Rights Watch Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 22 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work as an intern
National Security Intern- US Programs (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2018
Laid back office culture, but important fast-paced work. They provide a great lecture series for interns to learn. Got to do real work and was very rewarding.
Pros
Free Coffee, Good lectures
Cons
no pay for interns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Human Rights Monitor and Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 27, 2018
Working at HRW was a privilege to me as a former human rights activist as it gave me the opportunity to contribute to the work of defending those in need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 5, 2018
Relaxed environment, friendly staff, etc. No one was too stressed and everyone seemed passionate about their jobs. Really enjoyed working there. Wish they paid interns though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2017
Human Rights Watch is a powerful cause which defines our humanity and spreads hope. It is a culture of such dedicated smart people that are interested in the world around them and beyond.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 19, 2017
Human Rights Watch is an excellent place to work at. The people that work there are all wonderful passionate people all with incredible experience and great points of view.
Pros
Employees
Cons
Not enough to do
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Inspiring
Research Assistant/Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 30, 2016
Hard work, but worth all of it because I am changes lives. Must be dedicated and ready to work long tireless hours. May have to work from home. Benefits include: meetings with prominent people in the international sphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging and Heartbreaking
Human Rights Activist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2016
I gather background information on medical and security staff in county and state jails in Louisiana. The hardest part is listening at how these inmates are being denied healthcare with such serious medical illnesses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Intern
Development and Outreach Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 1, 2015
Good guidance and great work environment to learn. People are communicative and want you to succeed. The intern program gives you the opportunity to talk about your experience with other interns and work with other HRW interns around the world.
Pros
Meetings with all departments, Check on your resume, Have the opportunity to attend talks
Cons
Sometimes hard to see the bigger picture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
United Nations Advocacy Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 25, 2015
Great Human Rights Organization dedicated to serving the rights of all categories of people, classes, cultures, and religions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Advocacy Fellow (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 16, 2014
Had the opportunity to learn high-level advocacy from the best in the business. Worked on a Refugees Division report to completion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive team fundraising and event planning team
Intern (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 30, 2014
Responsible for supporting and guiding special projects in the areas of advocacy, education, outreach and development for the Los Angeles office of Human Rights Watch
• Responsible for establishing and maintaining communication with HRW constituents - and occasionally with HRW researchers and East Coast based staff - and participate in HRW Los Angeles' special events (class/work schedule permitting)
• Assisting the LA Network with initiatives and events
• Helping to plan events in Los Angeles and Santa Barbara, including Human Rights Watch's annual Voices for Justice Dinner and LA Film Club Screenings
• Management is enthusiastic about their work and have a willingness to you accomplish your goals.
• The hardest part of the job is notifying an individual that we can not help individual human rights violation cases because we are simply a watchdog organization, but we provide them with referral information of others that may be able to assist them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great time with my co-workers
Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 1, 2014
Go to work, enter my office and use the computer. Do researches on International Justice. I have great co-workers and they are really helpful. My job is not really hard because i enjoy doing researches that are challenging. I'm always getting great result for the fight against impunity.
Pros
Free visits to the top of Empire State Building
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing experience to learn how Human Rights Watch functions
Development Outreach Intern (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 17, 2013
As a graduate student currently finishing his last month at this internship, I can say that my expectations interning at the Human Rights Watch Development and Outreach office in San Francisco have been met. The office fulfills its duties by keeping their donors informed and pleased with the work the organization's researchers perform.

As an development outreach intern, my duties were to conduct prospect research on potential donors as well as maintain the office's day-to-day operations. Tasks that are given to me by my supervisor are both challenging and fun. It is fantastic to work with such enthusiastic people who are passionate about the organization's goals by informing the public of human rights abuses around the world and their mission to defend said rights.

It is an honor to work with such a highly renowned organization committed to defending human rights worldwide.
Pros
Meet human rights defenders and researchers, attend special events
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The culture of HRW is really great
Intern in the Department of Finance Operations (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 3, 2013
During the internship, I was primarily involved a consist of focusing on ongoing projects such as helping to reconcile international bank accounts by identifying missing items; reporting to cities on the revenue booked on their behalf; confirming that Raiser’s Edge (fundraising software) reconciles; tracking revenue adjustments and confirming changes are made in both databases; reviewing account levels for disproportionate amounts; expense reporting to cities at various intervals; and audit prep work for cities like NY and London.
Pros
good location and great company culture
Cons
keeping busy all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job For Work Study Program
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 25, 2013
This company is a non-profit company that helps out people with various crisis...from domestic disputes, to deportee issues. They refer them to the best lawyers to help with their situation. I was a receptionist and covered the phone lines as well as cases that came through email. The company was a real nice and laid back atmosphere of people who truly worked well with each other...made the days smooth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report

See more Human Rights Watch reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Human Rights Watch. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 22 reviews
519
42
31
20
10

See reviews about

4.8Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.7Job Security/Advancement
4.8Management
4.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.3InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight