Hunter Douglas Employee Reviews

Found 198 reviews matching the search See all 255 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, collaborative and fun environment
Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, CONovember 2, 2018
My tenure at Hunter Douglas was an incredible learning experience from day one. I was privileged to work for and with a very talented and diverse group of co-workers. Our days were challenging with projects that were always changing directions- however, our department worked cohesively in order to get our projects done efficiently.
Pros
great people, environment, benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only Good Pay
Puller (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDAugust 21, 2018
Most of management or supervisors suck. Team leads do nothing but complain. Long hours short breaks. Constant punishment even when doing well. Hires many new people even when work is not there for current employees. Can not keep track of their own records and will not look into hours even though they admit they could be seriously wrong. No job security. No career advancement. People there for years have less chance to jobs than people who kiss up. Overall terrible place to work for a career or person with a family. Nice employees but can be a lot of drama. Pay can be great. Can wear whatever you are comfortable in.
Pros
Other employees, good pay, and no dress code
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Warranty Repair Specialist (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAAugust 18, 2018
I worked for Hunter Douglas for 2.5 years. Unfortunately this is not a good place to be. Management is very unprofessional. They require you to complete more work then humanly possible.This is a very small office with a lot of drama.

If you would like to be babysat like a child and disrespected, this is the place for you.You have to log every second of your day. Depending on who you answer to, this could include restroom breaks.

Pay is okay but not enough for the duties required. Benefits are decent.

The job itself isn't bad. Management needs to be re-vamped and this would be a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management! Don’t work here!
Parts Puller (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTAugust 7, 2018
The management team is terrible no one was in the loop. You weren’t allowed to even speak to your coworkers because they were so demanding with numbers. My manager was ageist against me and a few other of the younger people who worked there. Telling me that I should come in when I have the flu because I’m young and I should be able to handle it. But when one of the older people were sick she would treat them like babies. I was one of the hardest workers they had and was promised a 75 cent raise but never got it because they kept putting it off. This is not a place you want to work.
Pros
Good retirement plan
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok. A bit juvenile and lots of gossiping co-workers.
Molding (Current Employee) –  Owensboro, KYJuly 19, 2018
Ok job. Not much room for improvement in moving up the job ladder. Lots of gossiping and a little bit of "In the closet racism " From a certain little click but not going to be specific. For the most part the people there are decent and nice. The resin department are rude and have bad potty mouths. The rest of the departments are not bad.
Pros
8 hour shifts. Ok people if you can ignore the gossipers.
Cons
No competitive wages. Most other Factories start off more than we top out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace but fun
Machine Operator and Maintainer (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 2, 2018
A fast pace job, easy learning if you're a fast learner. Also a fun and friendly place to work at. Employee's safety always comes first. Everyone treated equally and most of the manager there are really nice.
Pros
Give out free lunch for Amazing job done.
Cons
No call in too much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a solid job if you aren't contracted
Service Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Westminster, CONovember 29, 2018
Honestly have nothing bad to say about the company as a whole. They are in a busy period rn and there is lots of work. But they offer a wide variety of benefits and the people are pretty fantastic in the IT area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large and strong corporation to be proud to have worked for.
Customer Service Representative / Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 24, 2018
M&B/Hunter Douglas was one of the biggest companies I worked for and learn from. I would love to have the opportunity to work for them again if given the chance.
Pros
Lost of lunches and product discounts
Cons
Small office for such a powerful corporation. Horrible location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for with only a few minor drawbacks.
Assembler/Production (Former Employee) –  CumberlandDecember 5, 2018
If you want full time work with weekends off HD is the place. 10 hour shifts Monday-Thursday with occasional (or constant depending on department) overtime being on Fridays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a good paid training in the beginning.
Cutter (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDOctober 7, 2018
Was a good place to work. Steady paced an good benefits. Same scheduled hours weekly. Met a lot of people working there. Received Christmas an thanksgiving bonuses.
Pros
Benefits, bonuses, picnics
Cons
Management, humid in warehouse
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 8, 2018
Working for hunter taught me customers skills and how to defuse a complaint. Great environment with good coworkers . Advancements and pay raises. Company party and overall good morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Machine Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYOctober 29, 2018
Would not recommend to a friend, At the time when I worked there Management was horrible. May be better now IDK. Basically you had to ask permission to use the restroom
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PC/LAN System Administrator-Building (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COAugust 3, 2018
Good place to work, good people, good bosses, pay was decent, benefits were good and there were very few meetings unless it was absolutely needed. I would recommend Hunter Douglas as a good place to work.
Pros
Good Benefits and good people
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Workplace
Tech support for motorization (Current Employee) –  Cumberland, MDNovember 30, 2018
Hunter Douglas offers decent medical benefits and a competitive salary for our area.

The management does their part to make employees feel like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours with not much benefits
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Cumberland, MDJune 19, 2018
The work environment is the worst part about Hunter Douglas don't expect to keep anything private reminds me of high school but its a bunch of grown men/ women besides that the work isn't hard just repetitive
Pros
understanding management
Cons
two 20 min breaks for the 10 hours that you work and the quality of the people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Learning environment
Project Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Norcross, GAMay 13, 2018
Employer, focused on communicating key-performance and efficiency objectives and results was Top-Priority, weekly; across all production / fabrication departments.
Pros
Monthly, luncheon all employees to review current status, projects in pipeline and %Complete in-process
Cons
Cross-functional teams were not held to the same, similar standards as required to be maintained by all production personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Frostburg, MDAugust 9, 2018
i used to drive in the northeast deliver mini blinds.Long hours and long drives.it was very fun and i meet alot of nice people.the company was in frostburg maryland so i had to go there 2 or 3 times a year that was no fun there like 8 hours away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newly hired mgt team took a 'our way or the highway' approach and did not respect SMEs.
Division Packaging Engineer (Former Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAMay 3, 2018
VP of Engineering (FAB Div) came in with a hard approach toward people that turned many off. People left as a direct result and then there were layoffs. Not a pleasant working environment, everyone felt the pressure to perform or be fired.
Pros
first 3 years under a respectful mgt team that allowed you to do your job
Cons
last yr under a disrespected mgt team, questioning your every move, very constraining, limited creativity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  West Sacramento, CAMay 11, 2018
I have worked for this company for 13 years and it is not an enjoyable place to work.
The turn over is high.
The pressure for the management is high.
They are always micromanaging the employees.
There’s is a lot of drama in the office.
Everyone is looking for new jobs.
They do not care about their employees.
Pros
The people
Cons
Micro managing, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much drama.
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Bessemer City, NCOctober 25, 2018
It would be all good but then one person gets hired then they bring their friends and family and they start drama with people and then it’s just too much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hunter Douglas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 255 reviews
583
469
357
226
120

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Hunter Douglas.

Powered by Comparably