Ichiban Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 24 reviews
Ratings breakdown
511
44
34
23
12
Ratings by category
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 24 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Rocky Mount, NCMay 5, 2018
Poor management
Have to split tips with cooks
Cleaning was awful
Poor communication with management
Great customers
Standing on feet no break area
Okay work area with other employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLJanuary 27, 2018
It is a traditional Japanese work environment with an extensive sushi menu of over fifty different rolls. Its great learning about different fish and the differences between sushi, sashimi, and nigiri.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace overview
Hostess, server, busser (Former Employee) –  Poway, CANovember 29, 2017
I would work by myself with the sushi chefs,
hostess- seating people, giving them a menu

server- take peoples orders, running food, some food prep, answering phones, taking orders

bussing, cleaning tables, putting things away
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Doral, FLOctober 31, 2017
Love the teamwork environment at Ichiban. The management team and staff are great and I loved the fast pace environment. Customer Service was a priority for the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
manager (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCOctober 21, 2017
my review on ichiban is that I had a great time working for the owner and his wife. They are very understanding and kind people to work for. Pay was decent and working directly under the owner was a treat
Pros
friendship i built with the owner
Cons
having to relocate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best restaurants to work at
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Williamsport, PAJuly 21, 2017
Fun atmosphere, deeply discounted and occasionally free food. Family owned and run. The tips were very good and as we got busy many customers were understanding and considered the food very much worth the wait.
Pros
discounts on sushi
Cons
occasional rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible managment
Waitress (Former Employee) –  JAX Bch, FLJuly 12, 2017
Was an ok place to work. Manager was very mean. Hours weren't really flexible as they only needed servers after four pm. They were only busy during weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 5, 2017
i love working there. owners are great people very friendly and undaerstanding. co workers are great. very profecional.food is delicious. customers are always nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJune 6, 2017
stress managing is must here, everything is on a time restraint, however, money is great. very fast paced restaurant. wearing a kimono all night can overheat you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Server/Runner (Current Employee) –  Cumming, GAJune 13, 2015
typical day at work consists of cleaning an hour before the restaurant opens, then getting ready to serve customers as they flood in hibachi tables. learn different day to day operations, how restaurant operates, kitchen experience, and team work and how to communicate through out the day for a successful day at a busy restaurant. hardest part of job is completing tasks efficiently and accurately as it gets very busy. Most enjoyable part of the job is viewing the satisfaction of customers and the overall rating of their experience.
Pros
Understanding of personal life
Cons
lack of communication at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waitting tables at a japanesse steak house
Server (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville Beach, FLJuly 16, 2013
starting at 4pm. working hard. waiting on costumers , and then its closed down.wasn't a good place.
Pros
15%off your meal
Cons
real slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Hibachi Chef (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 7, 2013
Working at the Ichiban was a very good job, except the only downside was I was overworked, working 60 hours a week on salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unreliable rules and horrible owners
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Guntersville, ALJuly 20, 2012
A typical day at work consisted of me seating people and trying to take my time but go productively fast so no one got upset with the waitresses, and having the owner come yell at me for doing something wrong. I learned that when your boss yells at you in front of customers, it is best to just walk away. Management was horrible at Ichiban. The owner would yell at the waitresses and the hostess (me) for random reasons in front of customers. He would call the waitresses "too fat" to their face. My co-workers were a joy. Sometimes there would be unnecessary drama but thats what happens when girls get together for long periods of time. There honestly wasn't a hard part to my job. And there honestly wasn't a very enjoyable part of my job.
Pros
access to food
Cons
no breaks, no benefits, bad owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

See more Ichiban reviews

You may want to try: