ICHIRAN USA., INC Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job
Back of House Team Member (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 7, 2019
Happy the be apart of there teamwork seeing the company expand is an exciting experience though they have many locations in japan this is only the third one is USA and our goal is to be the best ramen in the world I believe we are achieving this.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers amazing , Managers sucked
FOH Server (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 2, 2019
Its a very easy job, but managers only promote due to favoritism which wasn't fair for real hard workers. co-workers were AMAZING made a lot of friends everyone was different most people would say it was like high school .. its a super easy job but managers just SUCK
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only a good place to work because of Co- Workers
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 27, 2019
I worked at Ichiran for almost a year. Became a supervisor candidate in less than 3 months. And that’s where it all began to go down hill. The new location of Times Sq is ran by basically “new” management. People who were “managers” but were never really in charge. The way they handle conflict is TERRIBLE. As a supervisor i was threatened about 3 times by an employee, once i told management i was told “why can’t you ignore it? Stay away from her” i asked if the girl could be possiblely moved to night they said “why should we punish her for you?” They’ll do NOTHING ABOUT IT. Not even separate you two. That’s when I should've realized the place is corrupted. They expect you to dedicate your whole entire life to Ichiran. ONLY one week of vacation PER YEAR as a Full Time employee & as part time you get no PTO but when asking for a week off or so they will tell you no. Many were forced to quit & come back for their family vacations or maybe just being sick for awhile. You only get 40hrs of sick leave A YEAR which you have to accumulate on your own. 40hrs (of reg work)= ONE HOUR SICK LEAVE.
The favoritism and immaturity of this place is laughable. You have MANAGERS AND SUPERVISORS talking about the employees (behind their back) that’s extremely noticeable. The micro managed rules are only applied to those who are not a favorite. Most management is from japan so they can be EXTREMELY RUDE. Yelling in people’s faces, snatching of items out of their hand, the list goes on.
It’s a sin to laugh in that kitchen. People have gotten written up for dancing/ singing in the kitchen and hours
  more... went 36hrs per week to 4hrs per week.
It’s unpredictable of how your day may go or what managers may micromanage or pick on you for next. I enjoyed my time at Ichiran solely because of the employees. Every other location in NY management is fine it is only Times Sq whose management lack respect, people skills, and just plain management.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're willing to sacrifice a lot and give ichiran priority over yourself then you will seldom have problems
BOH (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 9, 2019
Don't get me wrong I love working at ichiran. (Assuming we a decently staffed and dont have to juggle 5 different things at once.) The job is very easy for the most part and coworkers make things enjoyable. Honestly if it wasnt for the coworkers I would have jumped ship and worked somewhere where the pay was better and I actually got at least a 1% discount eating at the workplace. I feel like there is a huge HUGE disconnect with upper management and it's employees. Either that or its a disconnect with Japan HQ and NY locations in general. I understand that ichiran is not a franchise but they need to understand that New York and the U.S. in general is not like japan in terms of work culture. People will quit and they wont recommend their friends to work at locations if you constantly take back benefits and put in rules. Employee turnover rate seems to be at an all time high and it takes WEEKS for new employees to show up and they dont even last a week because they train with us while short staffed (Yes they will just toss new hires into the pan and its still short staffed. If the most enjoyable part of this job is complaining about the job then you know something is wrong. If you work BOH then you also work FOH (And vice versa) because of short staffing. Like another user mentioned the points system is out of hand. Recently ish implemented as well. There are literally people who are a minute late and get a point loss, these people can be extremely passionate about their job and excellent at what they do yet it doesnt matter, rules are rules. There are literally people that are  more... forced to quit a job they enjoy so they dont have to put that they were fired on their resume. They literally dont even have the confidence to put in their 2 week notice in fear that they will get fired before that even happens.  less
Pros
Staff meal, benefits if you qualify with hours
Cons
Points system, constant rule implementation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience... Not Great Work Place
FOH staff (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 1, 2019
If you’re looking for something new and different this job is great for that. Just be prepare for their harshness. There’s a very dramatic point system.

Start off with 8 points. Max points is 10.

Late: -1 point ( if you had to be there at 3:00 and got there at (3:01 you’re late.) No leniency !!
Call out: -2points ( If you bring a doctors note you’re good!)
No call no show: 3 points

ONCE YOU LOSE ALL 8 POINTS... you’re fired. Now granted you should always be on time. But this is NEW YORK CITY. Things happen and we can’t control half of it. A man lost his job here because he was stuck on a train that killed a man .... so imagine. Job is okay but it does get very annoying
Pros
Free lunch, overtime
Cons
Competition, Point System
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but flawed
BOH Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 3, 2019
Overall a good working experience, however some of their rules are ridiculous. I did not like firing staff because of a lateness that they could not control when they were excellent workers and went above and beyond for this place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work environment
Staff (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 13, 2019
The work is pretty easy, all you had to do was do simple tasks. The main problem would be the the management and "Talking behind your back". If you were cool with the managers, you could get away with anything. The Supervisors would usually only work seriously whenever a manager was around, and just make the regular staff do everything. Supervisors were supposed to teach the new trainees, but they were lazy and had regular staff train them. The worst part was the two-face and the gossip. They would be nice to your face, only to talk about your behind your back. It was mostly quantity and less of quality. If you ever think about working here, just be prepared for a big toll on your mental health.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Horrible management, Unorganized, Ungodly amount of gossip, Unhealthy Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You will be sure to make your hours
Supervisor Candidate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 10, 2018
This job made me very miserable because of the horrible management but I can say that I always made my hours. Management is careless towards employees.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks, don't take work related complaints seriously
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Server (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 16, 2018
I worked there for about 6 months, and honesty, it was one of the best jobs that I ever worked at. Also, Great management! The only thing that was hard was saying the phrases, but with training, it's easy to get.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict
Front Of House Server, Host (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 30, 2018
Managers trash , FOOD IS GREAT . Customers Japanese they rude , and leave mess like crazy . Co workers don’t encourage each other .. competition everyday uncomfortable environment
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, and misplaced energy.
FOH Supervisor, Server, Runner, Maitre'd (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 24, 2017
Pay at ichiran is average and you receive PTO, but management is poor. Walking in the door you're left wondering if the day was properly scheduled. Most of the time you're picking up the slack due to someone calling out, or due to manager negligence. Bias runs rapid, if you are the favorite of a manager, you no longer have to work because they will look the other way at your actions, again leaving others to pick up the slack. Mangers tend to micro manage for small details, while the restaurant falls apart around them. Very misguided and in need of a complete upper level management re-hual.
Pros
Free ramen everyday
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but stagnant
FOH staff (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 16, 2017
The coworkers were great and really made the job. However, it was very difficult to grow and the managers were a bit narrow minded. It was nice to have free ramen everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 29, 2017
Working for Ichiran was an amazing. There was so much culture and passion in this restaurant. The hardest part was the people they hired. Everything was a competition, childish. Besides that, the managers and company it self was new and fresh.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Easy Money in trade for your sanity
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 2, 2017
The work culture is solely based on Japanese techniques only. Nothing is done the American way let alone the New York City way. It's very structured. There's some room for growth but the management team absolutely sucks. It's not a good support system for a growing company. A typical day at work, it has it's peak hours but after the peaks its dead for consecutive hours and this restaurant also closes at 2AM everyday 7 days a week.
Pros
Free staff meal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place But Some people arent.
BOH Leader (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 19, 2016
a place where slackers take credit for your work. overall very cultural and modern. great place to eat . the hardest part of the job was dealing with people that do not want to work there . they talk about all of the things except for work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ICHIRAN USA., INC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 16 reviews
52
42
34
25
13

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
3.7Culture

ICHIRAN USA., INC Reviews by Location