IHOP Employee Reviews

Found 7,111 reviews matching the search See all 7,348 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good atmosphere,friendly coworkers team players all around!!!
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAFebruary 18, 2019
Overall Ihop has helped myself grow in various standpoints in the Business. Ive also helped open doors of opportunity for others to grow as well, I’ve trained and helped training many employees,working myself from bottom to top and also had very good individuals alongside. Far as pay its reasonable, benefits are very poor especially for loyal long term employees who’s been in same environment for 5years plus!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Envrioment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VAFebruary 18, 2019
Ihop was a good place to work for. There were various upper management positions that you could apply for. If you're looking for a face pace growing career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Place
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ILFebruary 18, 2019
Provided outstanding customer service.
● Listen to resolve customers' complaints regarding products or services.
● Take food and drink orders and receive payment from customers.
● Helped maintain sanitation, health and safety standards in work areas.
● Clean good preparation areas, cooking surfaces and utensils.
● Followed company procedures to maintain work environment in neat orderly condition.
● Assisted with bussing and restaging tables.
● Quickly recorded transactions in MICROS system to deliver prompt service.
● Assisted co-workers whenever possible.
● Maintained complete knowledge of restaurant menu, including daily specials.
Pros
Free Meal
Cons
Bad, anagement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid place
Server (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 18, 2019
as good as you could expect from such a place.Boss was ok and the schedule was hat fit my life. pay was mediocre but the customers made it worth it. would definitely go back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cooking at a Casual Dining Restaurant
Cook (Current Employee) –  Toms River NJFebruary 18, 2019
Thoroughly enjoyed the position and excelled at my job which was working nights and cooking the checks, cleaning the line and portioning for the next shift. Some of my co workers sucked and attempted to drag others down as they were incapable of doing their job, once they were gone i got a raise and was able to do the work without all the whining i had to deal with from the other cook, (who couldn't cook, clean or prep)
Pros
Payday the check cashes
Cons
Sometimes it's slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience!
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Toms River, NJFebruary 17, 2019
I was a cook for ihop and its the worst place to work for, management is horrible! They make the night time cooks prep portion clean and stock while the morning crew just cooks! They expect everything to be in tip top shape when you only have one cook at night. Poor management they have no respect for their employees treat them like their lower than dirt. No matter how much kitchen experience you have they start you off as if you have never done this job before.
Pros
For cooks free food
Cons
No breaks, poor management and leadership. Horrible pay!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employer
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Dubuque, IAFebruary 16, 2019
One of the best companies I have worked for . They take care of their people and follow thru with commitments and promises. Never any payroll issues always stood behind their managers and allowed us to do what we felt was best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Crestwood, ILFebruary 16, 2019
IHOP is a vey fast paced work place. It can be fun at times and also very stressful. You can make a good amount of tips daily if you are a great knowledgeable and characteristic waitress and even better on the weekends or around the holidays.
Pros
Make money daily and still get a paycheck bi-weekly
Cons
Some days be slow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just to slow and for $2.13 an hour it's kind of hard make a living
Server/Waiter/Cook (Former Employee) –  Bluffton, SCFebruary 16, 2019
If you really need a job then I hope will hire you, there all Chiefs and no Indian, would be fine I guess for part timr. I believe the managers need to be trained better not only on the customers but employees as well.
Pros
Money that day
Cons
Co-workers steal tables and if your a female server you get free food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management poor, layout of kitchen poor
Line Cook and Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Fleming Island, FLFebruary 16, 2019
menu not hard but vast, poor kitchen equipment layout. Not much organization in times of need, and other times can be left alone in the kitchen cooking for hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Server (Former Employee) –  Dearborn Heights, MIFebruary 16, 2019
Horrible experience. Why they can't keep employees. I believe that managers are put as managers because they are incapable of being actual leaders . I just believe this is why labor force in America is so unstable and stressful. Extremely dehumanizing.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer service/Hostess/waitress/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 16, 2019
Customers were great
Environment is fast paced
IHOP is on big family
Variety of positions are available
Work place is safe
Work environment is fun
There is a lot of opportunity for growth
Pros
Benefits are provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence Driven
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Lees Summit, MOFebruary 15, 2019
The owner of the property I worked was very adamant about the quality of the food and the service provided to all guest. And in general the staff shared that same mindset. I loved working in that environment
Pros
Free food. Benefirs
Cons
No bonus program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARFebruary 15, 2019
best job i had only because of my gm best gm ever loved working in the kitchen only one or to lazy people but it got fixed quickly only because of gm .
Pros
discount
Cons
have to work on all holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced work environment
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAFebruary 14, 2019
work in a fast paced working environment serving guests and responding to their needs promptly. Great, hard working management. Long hours and not too much flexibility because of limited staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressfull
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brockton, MAFebruary 14, 2019
There was a lot going on with the employees at the time that I was employed there, my manager was pregnant and her substitutes didn't live up to her work critera.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for waitressing
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Roseville, MIFebruary 14, 2019
IHOP was a exciting and challenging work place. Good compensation, friendly coworkers. It was a fast paced job so it kept you busy. As a waitress tips made up for it. Overall great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cook/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLFebruary 14, 2019
This is a good place a wonderful co workers but I need more of a challenge I started working for I hope I'm 1992 and been with the company every since
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was good it just wasn't for me and I had bills to pay
Waitress/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Tupelo, MSFebruary 13, 2019
The job was fast past u had to be able to work more than one table keep up with allot a good job at it you get tipped well. I just felt like tips don't always look good and the amount we got paid an hour couldn't help me even with the tips pay my bills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place and great management
Server (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 13, 2019
Management was very understanding and provided a great work place. It was fast paced but very enjoyable. I would come in and have to make sure that my tables were cleaned and ready to go if they were not already. I would then make sure I had enough change on me and would start taking tables.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at IHOP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 7,348 reviews
52.1K
42K
31.9K
2757
1634

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

1.9InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

1.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight