Indian River Transport Employee Reviews

Found 54 reviews matching the search See all 55 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Good place to work, Very interesting
Long Haul Driver (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJuly 10, 2018
I enjoyed working at Indian river and the people were good, picked u and delivered to some very interesting places. Ran all 48 states and Canada. Equipment was new.
Pros
Plenty of miles per week, new equipment
Cons
Short time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun to work there
Driver (Former Employee) –  FLMay 20, 2018
To sttessful work very hard at any job I did always give 100% and more didnt care. Just another peson that is disposable.
Mangement need classees on how to mange and treat people and work as team.
Pros
None
Cons
Expensise health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, excellent equipment, pay and amount of hours are great too!
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMay 15, 2018
One of the things that I appreciate most about Indian river transport is that they assign me my load and allow me the time I need to complete it without constantly checking on me. Once I complete my load, I let them know and they assign the next one. A typical day for me is waking when I am ready, driving about 600 miles, going to sleep and starting again the next day. I enjoy working for Indian River because the staff is friendly & easy to work with, the equipment is top notch and the pay is great too!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would run you as long as you wanted to run
Regional Tanker Driver (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMay 10, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed being a food grade tanker driver, best job I've ever experienced. Other than being passed up by several loads while sitting at a dairy due to dispatch favorites. It was an adventure as long as you " kept to yourself " and ran hard. Never had a problem getting home when I wanted to be.
Pros
Ran hard when dispatched properly, loved my job.
Cons
Resigning
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unknown
EXECUTIVE ROAD WINTERHAVEN, FL (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMay 5, 2018
What I have learned at Indian River is if you do not contribute enough to the Company they have no problem, replacing you.However some of the managers at the facility are good, and others not so well. I
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMarch 28, 2018
good company to work for, they have a lot of drop and hook work. some live loads, fair amount of unpaid time at tank washes good long hauls sometimes weather is an issue
Pros
good equ.always updateing
Cons
sitting time at tank washes and loading times
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lousy Place to work-stay away
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMarch 21, 2018
Stay away from this company. Lousy health insurance, Lousy benefits, terrible management. It has to be most unorganized place I've ever worked. I've never seen a company with such high turnover. People show up for the first day of work and don't come back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As transportation industry goes .
driver for OTR (Former Employee) –  Clovis, NMMarch 4, 2018
Typical transportation industry job. Few benefits , lack advancement opportunity. Equipment maintained as well your personal attention allowed. you survived as well as you where willing to do what ever was needed.
The more you where able to get done the better you survived.the better you where at working the system , the better you where at making money.
Pros
reasonable equipment, typical up keep.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLFebruary 7, 2018
Glad I'm gone. Very hostile environment. Management took good care of me in an attempt to "own" me. Very long hours of screaming and belittling. I prefer not to return.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company, Horrible Management
Dispatch (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLJanuary 29, 2018
12 hour days 6 days a week. Disrespectful and obnoxious management. Just read the horrible reviews about the culture in the dispatch office, they are all true. Rude, unprofessional, verbally abusive....terrible. Like one reviewer wroteI "I'd rather not have a job than work here" was my exact same feeling so I left one day and never went back. The absolute worst work environment, culture and management I have ever worked for.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress, long hours, high turnover of employees and managers
Office Employee (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLJanuary 27, 2018
The company has high turnover in employees and managers. Employees are constantly under the threat of losing their jobs. Nice equipment and offices, no health insurance. This is not a company that you will want to stay at very long.
Pros
Equipment, offices, good pay
Cons
Stressful, long hours, lack of job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Customer Service Representative, Dispatch Trainee (Former Employee) –  Winter HavenJanuary 23, 2018
It all starts at the top and I was furious at how they leave their drivers on hold, how management talked to their dispatchers and disrespected them. If you weren't among the creme de le creme you were just meat in the seat. It was very sad. Rather be unemployed than employed by IRT.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast passed and detailed orientated
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Clovis, NMJanuary 1, 2018
Typical work day for my position is 7 am to 5 or 6 pm.
That presenting a positive image of the company is very important and not to mislead applicants in my present job.
Management although is going through growing pains are still very much involved in the day to day operations of the company.
What I see people all seem to work together . Hardest part is the communications of the inner office from terminal to terminal.
Best part is working with the drivers.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of unpaid hours
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven FloridaDecember 31, 2017
Waiting for days at stops with no retention pay
Lots of accidents from unqualified drivers being hired
The poorest management team and dispatch I've ever seen in any Trucking firm ever
Pros
They do maintain their equipment
Cons
No money to be made here
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Driver (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLDecember 31, 2017
Face paced, lots of miles, few days off for home time, benefits are lack luster, Good friendly staff to work with, do not pay State taxes through payroll
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rotten management and dispatch doesnt know geography
company driver regional (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLDecember 4, 2017
One of the worst companies i have ever been associated with. was supposed to be a southeast regional driver but out of 4 weeks, 2 1/2 were spent in the north and northeast. day after orientation overheard management berating and degrading people in operations in front of others.
Pros
none
Cons
everything, including management that degrades and berates others publicly
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to wait long hours to load and unload with no pay
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FL 33884November 29, 2017
The equipment was well taken care of. they have a very good dispatch team. The customers at load or unloading points required a lot of waiting time that we were not reimbersed for.
Pros
The work was very easy to accomplish
Cons
waiting times and home time was a problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Staff
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLNovember 20, 2017
Everyone there was helpful. They made sure we had the miles that we needed on a weekly basis and when we needed to come home they made it possible without making excuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all cost
OTR Liquid Tank Driver (Current Employee) –  Clovis, NMOctober 19, 2017
You will be constantly lied to,given a load every two or three days if you are lucky and their favorite group of drivers is all that matters. Management and dispatch are all liers. I run out of the Clovis,NM and I'm quitting tomorrow.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything about this place is wrong
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great folks!
Driver (Former Employee) –  Clovis, NMSeptember 10, 2017
Nice relaxed place to work, really enjoyed working for Angel.

Always had new well appointed tractors and clean taken care of trailers.
Was a great place to work
Pros
Easy wrok
Cons
Long weeks on the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Indian River Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.8
Based on 55 reviews
513
411
33
28
120

Ratings by category

2.5Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.6Culture

Indian River Transport Reviews by Location